We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Ranked #36 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Impressive service”
Reviewed May 25, 2012

I was very pleasantly priced to find this treasure by the harbour! I've stayed in other places in Boston/Cambridge, but this is definitely my favourite. Service is attentive, the room was especially nice with an incredible view of the harbour. It was also in a great location--a short walking distance to the Aquarium and Old North Church (both not to be missed. Particularly memorable about this place was the great restaurant (highly recommended) and attentive doormen. I am very pleased that Fairmont seems to maintain its excellent service at very reasonable prices (join the free President's Club for internet and other perks).

Room Tip: Definitely ask for a room with the view of the harbour
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,460 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    886
    347
    140
    50
    37
See reviews for
329
644
77
251
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (332)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 23, 2012

Nice rooms, clean and updated. Courteous service, and great location. BUT, $15 for internet and $50 for parking at a $500 a night hotel? Plus they charge you to use the business center computer to print out your boarding pass? I get more for my money at a Holiday Inn! It just adds insult to injury, and you certainly don't get these extra charges at a Kimpton...

Room Tip: Find a hotel in the area that's not going to charge you for just breathing. There are plenty.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Infmedic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2012

I Live in Massachusetts and am embarrassed to admit I never had the opportunity to stay at a hotel in Boston- mostly because I lived so close and the expense of it all. Well, my boyfriend and I were invited to a night wedding last week and decided to stay in the city that night. WOW- a friend of his recommended this hotel and I have to say I have NEVER stayed in a hotel so nice- anywhere- Most people have hit the nail on the head in their reviews already, but I loved it so much I wanted to share-
Upon arrival we were greeted by valets who were extremely pleasant, helpful and informative. We got to the room and my gosh- they told me we didn't have a view BUT we were right on the wharf! I don't think there IS a bad view there- we looked right out onto the water....
Amenities included beautiful decor- modern and classy- expresso machine that really worked and produced expresso for real :-) Lovely leather lounger, gorgeous linens and extremely comfortable king size leather bed with huge silk headboard- stunning color coordination- 46" flat screen- huge for a hotel! Tasteful woods and lighting. The hall closet opened up from the bathroom- I LOVED this- so convenient- the bathroom had a large walk in shower with overhead rain shower , large sink area with modern fixtures-
I had a wardrobe malfunction and called the front desk- in 5 minutes a nice woman arrived at the door and proceeded to help me "fix" the situation- sweet-
I could go on and on- if you just want a treat / sneak peek just go in and look at the main lobby ladies room - (ladies! :-) )
Walked to tiny place for a quick breakfast- they held our baggage for us without a problem and suggested where to go even when they had breakfast there- high quality service-
We didn't want to leave.. we just loved it there- seriously - Didn't get to see the building that housed the spa and fitness center- it was huge- in retrospect we should have at least checked it out-
ENJOY this place is you are lucky enough to go there- I could not find a single thing wrong with it- it cannot disappoint! :-)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelluvr1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Concord, New Hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2012

A very modern, clean and nice hotel, right on the waterfront. Its is convenient for the North end, but not so much downtown. Parking rates were crazy as usual, but we found a space on the road nearby and walked 5 mins.

Our impression of the hotel was heightened by the fact we got an upgrade to a deluxe room. The room was very fancy, immaculate, spacious and comfortable. Got the hotel on a special, but otherwise is expensive, but then again Boston is crazy pricey for nice hotels.

Great stay, that ticked all the boxes.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank DanHobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We chose this venue because it is right on the waterfront, right behind the North End and small enough to feel like a home away from home and big enough to accommodate our wedding of 130 ppl. This venue is unique and very classy without being overstated or too fancy. Our contact was Ashley Lamy, who was incredible. She walked us through the whole process and made us feel that we didn't need to worry about anything--and we didn't. She tried to accommodate all of our requests and even threw in some extra perks which were a great surprise. On the day of the event, everything we asked about was there and the event was flawless. We had our ceremony and cocktail reception outside with part of the reception in the Maritime museum onsite. We then moved inside for dinner. We had a buffet and the food was so good. Everyone commented on the food and how friendly the staff was. People were really impressed at the high level of service. Everyone has been telling us that this was one of the best weddings that they have ever been to and a lot of that credit goes to Ashley, the chef, the service staff, the A/V department and the bartenders (who everyone knew by name). Thank you, thank you for making this event so easy, memorable and fun!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank breen21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012 via mobile

In a word, disappointing - I would have told the staff had anyone asked. I was with a group of 12 from various cities yet my room wasn't held. They offered an upgrade for a fee, and after I objected, they located me into the Gold concierge building. The room was small, smaller than my fellow associates in other buildings, but I got the lounge service which was very nice - good food! Maid service never happened, and I got a 5:00AM wake up call that I didn't request and was two hours earlier than I needed to get up (that's 2:00AM my time). The desk staff also misplaced a package needed for a meeting. It was eventually found and delivered after a few hours. Others in my group liked the hotel. The star service provider was Nancy, our server in the restaurant. Although I reported the problems mentioned above and heard "I'm sorry" more than I should have, there was never an attempt to make things better: sloppy and unimpressive service but a nice building.

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank vljmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jana_Baseel, Fairmont Battery Wharf, Marketing Coordinator Jana Baseel at Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
We are concerned to read your posted comments about your recent visit with us at Fairmont Battery Wharf and appreciate that you provided this feedback. Please be assured that we have shared your comments with our Operations team and will be addressing the issues you noted. It is however a delight to hear that our server, Nancy, made a nice impression on your stay. She is certainly a star employee and we will be pleased to pass on your compliments. If you would like to contact us directly to provide more information (batterywharf@fairmont.com), we would welcome the opportunity to resolve any miscommunications that might have occurred while you were here. It is a shared priority of the staff to provide thoughtful service to all of our guests, and we regret that your visit did not meet your expectations. Thank you for providing your comments in this forum.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2012

i've stayed at the fairmont before,and each time i have been delighted.I asked for hypoallergenic pillows and got them right away.The rooms are equipped with nespresso coffee makers,so you get a perfect cup of coffee each time.nice large rooms,and super comfy beds.so much so we order room service! (fyi,room service food is delicious and plentiful .) I wanna go back!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pmgjoni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#31 of 83 in Boston
1,411 reviews
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 83 in Boston
2,275 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,598 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
1,045 reviews
Downtown
Boston Marriott Long Wharf
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront

Property: Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Address: 3 Battery Wharf, Boston, MA 02109-1098 (Formerly Fairmont Battery Wharf)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > North End
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Spa Hotel in Boston
#12 Business Hotel in Boston
#20 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#26 Family Hotel in Boston
#27 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#30 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront 4.5*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The centerpiece of Boston's Battery Wharf renaissance, The Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront merges the North End's trademark charm with a contemporary appreciation for history and sense of place. Featuring 150 stylishly designed guest rooms and suites with extraordinary waterfront views, this luxurious boutique hotel on the pedestrian-friendly HarborWalk boasts two bars and restaurants, 6,000 square feet of meeting space, an award-winning Spa and Fitness Center and easy access to Boston's bustling Financial District, Freedom Trail, Faneuil Hall Marketplace and TD Garden, New England's premier sports and entertainment arena. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Battery Wharf Hotel Boston
Fairmont Hotel Battery Wharf
Fairmont Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing