We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolutely luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarendon Square Inn
Ranked #4 of 39 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
easthampton, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“absolutely luxurious”
Reviewed February 5, 2006

my husband and I stayed this weekend and couldn't have asked for more!. The accomodations are lovely. I felt as though no luxury was overlooked, from the pillows, linens, and unintrusiveness of our hosts.
Steven has paid great attention to all details. The hot tub on the roof was especially nice with a great view of the Boston skyline.
I would recommend this Inn with great enthusiasm.
IF your looking for relaxing luxury, close to the hub of Boston, this is your pick.
The staff is more than helpfull in finding a nice quiet place for dinner or anything else you might need.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donald B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    44
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
300
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2006

The Clarendon is lovely, low key, spottlessly clean and in a great location. As a woman who travels to Boston a lot on business I have always stayed in hotels - good ones - before. This was so much better. The room was beautifully lit, the bed terrific - cant say enough! They give you a really handy list of places to eat in the area, which are totally cool.

  • Stayed December 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aldehyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2006

Really...I simply cannot think of anything other than "WOW!" I'm generally a very articulate person, but words simply cannot express how beautiful, sophisticated and elegant this place is. And, to top it off, the service is superb!

My husband and I want to return to Boston...but refuse to do so if we can't stay at the Clarendon Square Inn!

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C.A.P.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2005

The hospitality and service was excellent. The Steve and Jimmy were great. The location was close to all, and very near to some great resturant's and wine shoppe's. We loved staying in the city of Boston, and at the Clarendon Square!

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeAG59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed November 8, 2005

Sophisticated, Professional and Brilliant


Imagine sleek pan-European design and architecture, a classic, quite Boston brownstone and add Swiss cleanliness. Now you can begin to visualize why everyone loves this place so much.

It is rare, in my mind, to find a place that really surprises. That occupies the memory, and makes you want to return.

The brownstone is one of many elegant homes on a quite South Boston street (West Brookline), the entry has a cool geometrical Koi pond in the tiny front “garden” and in you go through a small door and up into the main halls and rooms of the property.

This is really someone’s home, with guest rooms. But instead of feeling obtrusive, you are made to feel welcome and “part” of the place.

The fast free wireless access is great; the efficient, clean European style breakfast does the trick, the common rooms are remarkable as is the artwork displayed.

The location is fantastic since all the cool newish South Boston spots are a few minutes walk (as is…dare I say, Starbucks).

These guys took the concept all the way and do a thoroughly professional job of providing the best of a Band B and the reliability of a business or traditional first class hotel.

Given ones options in Boston, this is a really simple decision: Stay here.

Another important point: As a father of several small children (who did not join me for this trip) I feel I should warn you that you probably would not want to bring small children to this wonderful property. The many steps, the intimate spaces and the expensive artwork at eye/hand/touch/break level would probably make you a wreck. Just a thought…

  • Stayed November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,282 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
1,896 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#62 of 83 in Boston
3,522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 83 in Boston
3,166 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarendon Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Square Inn

Property: Clarendon Square Inn
Address: 198 W Brookline St, Boston, MA 02118-1280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarendon Square Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Clarendon Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Square Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing