We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boston Boutique Beauty!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarendon Square Inn
Ranked #5 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Miami Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Boston Boutique Beauty!”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

When you travel a lot you get tired of the same chain hotels - no matter how big and fancy they are. That is yet another reason why I try to stay at the Clarendon Square Inn whenever I am in Boston. The inn nestled on a beautiful quiet side street in Boston, has its own mix of contemporary and traditional design, lines, and feel. It is cozy yet elegant. The service is always top notch as is the breakfast. The views from the roof deck and the hot top are spectacular. My last stay was another great experience and I am looking forward to the next one!

Room Tip: Don't forget to check out the sunsets on the roof deck from the hot tub.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

509 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    448
    44
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
301
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 24, 2013

If like me you find travelling a bit lonely at times, then this is the perfect place to stay when in Boston. It is friendly, warm and romantic. The people (Tara and Kris) could not have been more helpful and lovely. The breakfast may be "continental" but it is delicious and plentiful - lots of tasty options. It is superbly located for discovering Boston, too.

Room Tip: There are stairs so if you're unfit or at less than full capacity you may want to ask for a room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelanieW44_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarendonsquare, Owner at Clarendon Square Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear Melanie, we are so pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay at Clarendon Square. Many of our business travelers, like yourself, miss home while they are away. Our work to provide luxury as well as comfort to all of our guests. We are also glad you enjoyed our signature breakfast – we find the small touches like Pan D’Avignon pastries, fresh seasonal fruit and special cheeses are a perfect way to begin the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knysna, Western Cape, South Africa
Level Contributor
88 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We chose the smallest interior room which still had the best bathroom in four weeks of travelling in New England. Tara and Kris could not have been more helpful and accommodating. We would have appreciated additional restaurant options including the NorthEnd as the local restaurants are expensive. The parking is tight but achievable with patience and we were warned that a compact car would be preferable. The interior is beautiful and the location is excellent - upmarket and relaxing. They certainly catered to our every whim. We would unreservedly recommend Clarendon Square Inn, but recommend that you choose your room carefully if stairs are a problem. Having said that, they will happily carry your luggage. Oh. And Winnie is a gem.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Truly enjoyed my stay. My room was very nice and the owners are very helpful. The outside space is terrific and very private. I was attending a trade show, and Hynes Convention Centre was an easy walk. Went to Fenway for a game, and that was an easy walk as well.

There are several great neighborhood bars and restaurants, and if you are traveling solo, I highly recommend Anchovies Restaurant around the corner - sit at the bar and have mussels!

Pack a hair dryer as the one provided is very low wattage and plan a shower in non-peek times as the water pressure can be bad. I was also stumped as to why there would be a great chaise in the room without a light and table next to it so you could read?

If you have trouble with stairs, make the is known when you book a reservation

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeanette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarendonsquare, General Manager at Clarendon Square Inn, responded to this review, December 17, 2013
Dear Jeanette,
Thank you for your helpful review. Many business travelers enjoy staying with us for a more intimate experience and as you mentioned, our location is close to conference venues. Part of that intimate experience is our providing individual recommendations for dining and shopping. We are very approachable and hope every guest will let us know in person of any ways to improve. Please, please, please... let your host know of any concerns "during" your stay - we want nothing more than for you to be comfortable.

Our modern plumbing is hotel grade, and our showers have adjustable water pressure. It is our pleasure to instruct on all luxuries that may be adjusted for comfort, whether hot/cold, pressure/ intensity - please allow us to do so during your stay. CS is known for tasteful furnishings and design, so our 1600 w hairdryers are the highest available while still fitting in that cute little bag in the closet. We don't like messy cords any more than you do, but if you prefer a hair dryer with a larger "fan" please just let us know, we have one - and a curling iron too! We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level Contributor
160 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night with my wife, during our mini-moon.

The location is tops. In this beautiful section of Boston with all these historic brownstones, and very close to restaurants and lounges. A cab's ride from historic Boston.

Overall, a great location with great accommodations.

Only thing was this: parking that they offer, is a little tight. I was driving a MB E350 (4-door) and I couldn't get into the spot they had reserved for me. However, I was quickly refunded the money for the spot and host even offered to drive my car to the garage which was 3 blocks away.

Very kind people running this operation. Well worth the stay.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LBCdovs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarendonsquare, Owner at Clarendon Square Inn, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Dear LBC, we were honored that you and your wife chose us for a night of your mini moon – congratulations on your marriage! Our parking, typical of the South End and city of Boston is very compact. Sadly, we cannot accommodate all makes and models but do our best to help you know this before you arrive. As you experienced, if that is not possible, we are happy to provide options or direct you to a nearby parking garage that is better suited for SUVS. Thank you for your glowing review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a lovely inn with very friendly staff. The price was good for the area. We had the interior room with no windows, which was small but still very nice. We would have liked to have more places to stow our stuff, such as shelves in the bathroom. There was a mini fridge accessible to all guests with wine and beer for purchase (honor system) and I assume small food items could have been stored there. There was a hot tub on the roof with a beautiful view, however it was just warm and while it gradually heated, after 45 min it had not broken 100 degrees F. There are a LOT of stairs here, so be sure to ask what floor your room would be on if that is a problem.

They were very willing to accommodate food intolerances, however when the breakfast staff changed between our first and second morning, the second person was not informed and had to be asked for items. There was no type of dairy free spread available for toast or boiled eggs...when I asked for mayo I was given a bottle that had expired months ago. I asked for cereal and was given some that was stale and did not pour out. Once the GF pastries were located, the remaining ones were sent on with me which I appreciated. Basically, they tried to accommodate my difficult dietary requirements, but the communication fell through on the 2nd day and some details were overlooked. Unless an inn or B&B has a commercial kitchen license, they cannot do more than warm food, so at all such establishments in the area you can expect a continental breakfast like pastries and oatmeal.

The location is very quiet and residential, however very near many fine restaurants and shops. You can take the subway from the airport then walk to the inn, however it is quite a hike with all of your luggage. Not terrible, but more than a block or two. We walked all over Boston proper from this location.

Overall it is a very nice place with helpful staff, but I can't quite give it a perfect score with a few little disappointments.

The proprietor did offer a special service of assisting friends who wanted to send us flowers by ordering them and designing them to go with our room. They would provide that kind of special touch that made you feel very at home there.

Room Tip: Make sure to find out what floor you are on and how many stairs are involved. Find out if you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CristyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Clarendon Square late September and could not have been better accommodated. We loved the property and the location, and Stephen, Bobbi and Tara were the most welcoming and helpful hosts. They were instrumental in making our Boston visit a highlight of our trip to North America. We loved the stylish décor, our very comfortable accommodation and the beautiful guest areas!

We hope to have the opportunity to return to Boston again in the future and would definitely stay at the Clarendon Square again. We recommend it to anyone looking for beautiful boutique accommodation..
Thank you Stephen, Bobbi and Tara.

Room Tip: Our lower floor room had a little outdoor courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,285 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
1,914 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 83 in Boston
3,170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,531 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarendon Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Square Inn

Property: Clarendon Square Inn
Address: 198 W Brookline St, Boston, MA 02118-1280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarendon Square Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarendon Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Square Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing