We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very beautiful, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarendon Square Inn
Ranked #5 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Texas
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very beautiful, great location”
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This was a lovely inn with very friendly staff. The price was good for the area. We had the interior room with no windows, which was small but still very nice. We would have liked to have more places to stow our stuff, such as shelves in the bathroom. There was a mini fridge accessible to all guests with wine and beer for purchase (honor system) and I assume small food items could have been stored there. There was a hot tub on the roof with a beautiful view, however it was just warm and while it gradually heated, after 45 min it had not broken 100 degrees F. There are a LOT of stairs here, so be sure to ask what floor your room would be on if that is a problem.

They were very willing to accommodate food intolerances, however when the breakfast staff changed between our first and second morning, the second person was not informed and had to be asked for items. There was no type of dairy free spread available for toast or boiled eggs...when I asked for mayo I was given a bottle that had expired months ago. I asked for cereal and was given some that was stale and did not pour out. Once the GF pastries were located, the remaining ones were sent on with me which I appreciated. Basically, they tried to accommodate my difficult dietary requirements, but the communication fell through on the 2nd day and some details were overlooked. Unless an inn or B&B has a commercial kitchen license, they cannot do more than warm food, so at all such establishments in the area you can expect a continental breakfast like pastries and oatmeal.

The location is very quiet and residential, however very near many fine restaurants and shops. You can take the subway from the airport then walk to the inn, however it is quite a hike with all of your luggage. Not terrible, but more than a block or two. We walked all over Boston proper from this location.

Overall it is a very nice place with helpful staff, but I can't quite give it a perfect score with a few little disappointments.

The proprietor did offer a special service of assisting friends who wanted to send us flowers by ordering them and designing them to go with our room. They would provide that kind of special touch that made you feel very at home there.

Room Tip: Make sure to find out what floor you are on and how many stairs are involved. Find out if you will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CristyW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

508 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    447
    44
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
28
300
32
61
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2013

We spent 4 nights at Clarendon Square late September and could not have been better accommodated. We loved the property and the location, and Stephen, Bobbi and Tara were the most welcoming and helpful hosts. They were instrumental in making our Boston visit a highlight of our trip to North America. We loved the stylish décor, our very comfortable accommodation and the beautiful guest areas!

We hope to have the opportunity to return to Boston again in the future and would definitely stay at the Clarendon Square again. We recommend it to anyone looking for beautiful boutique accommodation..
Thank you Stephen, Bobbi and Tara.

Room Tip: Our lower floor room had a little outdoor courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jane r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights in this great B and B. The staff were very informative and helpful, especially Tara and Bobby. Our room was beautifully furnished and clean. The hot tub on the roof was a favourite. The breakfast was lovely and we enjoyed speaking to all the other guests. Recommended and will hopefully stay again.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Julie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales
Level Contributor
85 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2013

Clarendon Sq is in a great location for restaurants and access to the main city attractions. Good breakfast served. Steven and his team were very professional during our stay and helped us out with ideas/taxis/etc. The whole house is lovely especially the second floor. We had room 4 which is at the top of the house, and the one issue we had was with the noise from the air con. This was addressed on the second night but seemed to kick again on the last. Also the hot tub, which is great to use, was above our room, and it did disturb us when it was used (by other guests) at 12:30 at night. All in all a good stay, but I'd recommend going for one of the lower level rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a lower level room to avoid air con & hot tub noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SirromTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PLEASANTVILLE, NY
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I really loved the hotel. It is unique, attractive, tasteful, comfortable, and very good value, plus, is South End location is near plenty of boutiques, bars, eateries, galleries and nightlife. There is a rooftop deck with great views of the city and a hot tub. Little extras like iced tea and cookies offered at check-in, chocolates in the room, fine linens, Aveda products in the bathroom, and GREAT showers were enjoyable. The beautiful spread Misty prepared for breakfast--a combination of cereals, continental breakfast, fresh organic fruits, and treats like brie and sopresatta--was truly the icing on the cake. Onsite parking is available, which is key in this neighborhood.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FLD07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights at the end of July 2013 with my wife. We couldn't have been happier with the accommodation and welcome that were provided by the folks at Clarendon Square. Our room was very nicely furnished and appointed and provided everything that was needed. The breakfast provided in the morning was excellent - step out the back door and enjoy the tranquility of eating it on the deck.

We were superbly looked after and all of our questions were answered quickly and graciously by the staff. There are many excellent locations for eating surrounding Clarendon Square and the staff are always willing to recommend a particular restaurant that might suit your tastes or requirements.

I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone planning a visit to Boston.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank texanscot99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2013

My husband told me at the end of our vacation, “you always find the best places for us to stay”…this flatters me as much as it does the Clarendon Square Inn.

We couldn't have been happier with our 4 night stay. Location was great...walking distance to many sights, nearby subway stops, The South End is a great source of restaurants and entertainment (catch some jazz at The Beehive!), AND this inn must be located on the quietest street in Boston. It was so peaceful coming home to it at night after dinner.

Our room was lovely and in good taste, had everything you might need and enough space for two, and we couldn’t get over how wonderful the sheets felt.

Our full continental breakfast was just that, filling. Boston has a safety law that B & Bs cannot cook food on premises (makes sense), but Clarendon really goes above and beyond to provide whatever they can in addition to breads and cereals and fruits…hard-boiled eggs, oatmeal, deli meats and cheeses, etc. It was all delish and quite satisfying.

The hot tub…oh, the hot tub. You may think this is just an unnecessary luxury, but let me tell you, when you’re doing as much walking through the city as we did, spending some time in there each evening (even if it’s just 15 min) makes a WORLD of difference in regards to body fatigue, sore feet, etc. With all the walking we did, we never once felt sore. In fact, between the hot tub and the fantastic sheets, we awoke each morning feeling like a million bucks. Plus, it was that something special…watching the sun set and the light reflected off downtown buildings, or seeing the skyline all lit up at night…it was a great way to reflect upon all the wonderful things we did and saw that day.

Finally, the entire place was very clean and the staff was super friendly and eager to assist us in any sightseeing plans. You will have zero regrets staying here. My only regret is that I didn’t write this review sooner. We hope to visit again someday!

Room Tip: If you have trouble with a lot of stairs, request a room closer to the ground floor. We don't m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HaleyBatx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,285 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#55 of 83 in Boston
1,911 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 83 in Boston
3,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#63 of 83 in Boston
3,531 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarendon Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Square Inn

Property: Clarendon Square Inn
Address: 198 W Brookline St, Boston, MA 02118-1280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarendon Square Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Clarendon Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Square Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing