We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Buyer Beware”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarendon Square Inn
Ranked #2 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 13, 2013

We made reservations for a 3 day stay to visit our son in Boston. Unfortunately, this was the weekend of winter storm Nemo that caused record-level snowfall on the Eastern seaboard, and the disruption in travel prevented us from making it to Boston as scheduled. When we called Clarendon Square to discuss our options once the weather situation became clear, we were told that their 10:00 am 48-hour cancellation policy is strictly enforced (despite the fact that we called approximately 2-3 hours after this deadline had passed, but still >48 hours from our scheduled arrival time). We corresponded with Stephen Gross, one of the owners, who told us that he was sorry but that we should have purchased travel insurance (which they offer and you must decline). We offered to forego our deposit or perhaps a night's lodging, but subsequent emails to discuss this were not answered. Our credit card was then charged for $631.68 - the entire amount for our scheduled stay that never occurred despite the fact that travel to Boston was impossible.

In our opinion, the insensitivity and inflexibility demonstrated by Clarendon Square violates the Bed & Breakfast 'spirit' that makes them special because of their informality and focus on the personal circumstances of the guests. Enforcing strict and unreasonable (under the circumstances) contractual requirements reflects behavior that might be expected at a hotel or motel, but certainly not at a botique inn.

This interaction with Clarendon Square was both disappointing and disheartening, and we are therefore unable to recommend Clarendon Square to anyone, and suggest that the buyer beware if you are considering staying there.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Service
10  Thank Philip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarendonsquare, Owner at Clarendon Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Thank you for sharing your concerns with our cancellation policies and how they are applied.
As small business owners we put so much effort into making sure everything is just right for you at Clarendon Square including a fair and equitable cancellation policy. We believe we operate within the B&B spirit of hospitality, but the guest as well as the business, must be bound by the booking agreement. In this particular situation we were very flexible with our policies and were sensitive to all of our guests needs, specifically offering to accommodate a day earlier or day later arrival to each. All who made the effort arrived either arrived before the storm or one day later with ease. Snow is common in New England and our service crews are quick to clear the roads and airport. As is typical, the first storm of the year gets huge media hype which can cause angst. Nevertheless, our guests had a relaxing and picturesque weekend with fresh snow outside and hot chocolate in the dining room. We agree it is upsetting that your travel plans were interrupted. Your review does not mention that because of the severity of the storm, we broke our standard policies and offered to waive the costs associated with the day of road closures. With 15 years in business, we have a enviable track record of guest satisfaction. Yes, it may seem impossible to make everybody happy but we still make every attempt to do so. We apologize that your concerns could not be addressed before the severity of the storm was known. But we honestly hope that you will contact our staff, keep the lines of communication open and allow us to resolve this for you. If you will give us another chance, we think you will join the others who have enjoyed a marvelous time at Clarendon Square.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (538)
There are newer reviews for Clarendon Square Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

175 - 181 of 538 reviews

Reviewed January 28, 2013

My husband and I had a weekend getaway in Boston. A city we visit relatively often both for business and pleasure.

Let me start with the positive aspects of the property.

We were booked in the Luxury Suite which is just as it appears on their website. The room was large with a queen size bed, sitting area and three windows that face the front of the inn and the lovely street below. The closet was huge. We had ample room to store our luggage and winter gear.
The room had a mini frig that was kept very cold. (great for soda and water) They also had an additional wine refrigerator.
The bathroom was large with double sinks, a bathtub that fit two comfortably, a large shower with two shower heads and a water closet. They provide robes but not slippers.

As other reviewers have said the rooftop hot tub was a real bonus. The temperature of the tub was perfect and the view was great.

The continental breakfast was good and presented well. Mia, our host for much of our weekend, was a delight.

A few of the issues we had with the Inn

If you want coffee before 8:00 am, you're out of luck. My husband was told by Stephen, one of the owners, that he would have to walk to Starbucks if he wanted coffee before 8. Granted it was only a 4 minute walk, but when the temperature is in the single digits, it sucks!! Navigating slippery sidewalks and opening doors with two coffees in tow was challenging..... A Keurig set up in the dining room would have been a thoughtful addition.

Not wanting to wake me, my early riser husband went to the common areas in the house to read.
Unfortunately the rooms were so cold, he had to wear his down coat.

The morning we were leaving my husband was warming car, the owner walked out with me to see if we could navigate the tight parking area...... I was carrying a good size piece of luggage and was not offered assistance..... I would have welcomed the help.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 59Wandering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
clarendonsquare, General Manager at Clarendon Square Inn, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Wandering.
Thank you for your valuable feedback. We are thrilled that you enjoyed many aspects of the property including the luxury suite, our manager Maia, breakfast and the hot tub. We are happy that they met your expectations. I understand clearly from your message that warm hospitality is paramount, and we agree. Please let me apologize that one of our owners did not offer to carry your bag. This is not like him and I can only imagine there was something distracting him at the time. We often dash outside, even in chilling weather, to assist a guest departing from our parking area. This is no excuse, but I can only imagine getting to your husband quickly was a distraction. Regarding other aspects of your stay, we welcome new ideas and suggestions for improvement. Based on your comments, we have changed our thermostat set-back time to accommodate those who might wake before 6 am. We have offered pre-breakfast coffee in the past, but we had to discontinue this service from early risers disturbing other guests while in the dining room and kitchen. Once again putting ideas to work, we adapted our procedures to meet the needs of our TripAdvisor commentators. Thank you again for your suggestions, we do hope you will come and stay with us again soon. And please, just leave that bag on the floor, we will be more than happy to get it for you, and if you want coffee at anytime, find a way to have it delivered to you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We spent 2 nights in this little slice of heaven. We stayed in the luxury suite and can't recommend it highly enough. The decor sets the atmosphere with stylish, charming and warm design throughout. The giant bath tub in our room was such a bonus and was only exceed by the roof top hot tub!!

Each morning a delicious breakfast is served downstairs where you can catch-up with your fellow guests while eating fresh fruit, muffins, cheese and more.

The location is perfect as it is walking distance from any bars or restaurants you want to visit. Even a cab to the Museum of Fine Arts is only $7.

If you are coming to Boston for a weekend, I'd recommend staying here over a hotel. Much more intimate, much more friendly and above all, much more friendly!

To summarize: Perfect Location. Perfect Atmosphere. Perfect Hosts. Oh yeah - and a ROOF TOP HOT TUB :)!

Room Tip: Try mixing up your plans. For example, if you are going to go to the MFA, leave your afternoon or ev...
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelMan99ottawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We stayed in mid-December and the Clarendon Square Inn was warm, cozy, and decorated beautifully for the holidays.
We had a two- night stay and wish it could have been longer. The rooms were inviting, service impeccable, food was top- notch.
We took walks through the city, and everything was nearby and accessible.
After a long day, the rooftop hot tub provided an amazing view and was the highlight, despite the cold weather.
I will always stay here. Go see for yourself and you will be as happy as we were. Every detail was perfect.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Purplecelticsgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have spent four nights at the inn, and have enjoyed our stay enormously. The room was beautiful and comfortable, the breakfasts delicious and our host, Roberto, extremely attentive and helpful. The location of the inn in the historic and beautiful South End neighborhood is great, lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance, and also easy access to other interesting areas and good shopping streets. We could walk to Back Bay, to the Museum or Beacon Hill. We really recommend the place with enthusiasm.

Room Tip: This is a five or six-story house, so if you have knee problems, request room number 5 on the ground...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 836Danielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We planned on staying in Boston for three nights and ended up staying another two days. This B&B, from the staff who were nothing but helpful, warm, and welcoming, to our gorgeous room, to the great location in South End, made it a fantastic stay. Communal breakfast each morning was a great way to start the day. So many lovely touches from the holiday decorations to hot apple cider or tea and biscuits left out each night made this place a wonderful winter getaway. Our room was large and the bathroom was well appointed and it was a nice quiet room and location. We can't wait to return to Boston next time we're in the States and will definitely make sure we stay at Clarendon.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MaggieMac2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at the Clarendon square for 5 nights in November. Everything about the Inn was great. I arrived late, but was sent very clear instructions about finding the Inn and getting in, and found my room open and waiting with a nice note welcoming me and lots of great information about local restaurants and services. The location is excellent, with an easy walk to the T and many of Boston's sights and activities. Bobby and Roberto gave me excellent advice about things to see and do, how to get there and where to eat. My room was charming and comfortable, with high quality linens and towels and a warm and cozy robe. Breakfast was delicious, with a diverse selection of baked goods, cold cuts and cheeses, fruit, yogurt and hard boiled eggs. And the tea and cookies every afternoon were just the thing to tide me over for dinner when I returned for a break after walking miles through this fascinating and historic city. I recommend this Inn wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 84 in Boston
3,353 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 84 in Boston
3,309 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Loews Boston Hotel
Loews Boston Hotel
#16 of 84 in Boston
1,663 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarendon Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Square Inn

Address: 198 W Brookline St, Boston, MA 02118-1280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range: $214 - $527 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarendon Square Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Clarendon Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Square Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing