We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Clarendon Square Inn
Ranked #4 of 38 Boston B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A perfect inn”
Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have spent four nights at the inn, and have enjoyed our stay enormously. The room was beautiful and comfortable, the breakfasts delicious and our host, Roberto, extremely attentive and helpful. The location of the inn in the historic and beautiful South End neighborhood is great, lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance, and also easy access to other interesting areas and good shopping streets. We could walk to Back Bay, to the Museum or Beacon Hill. We really recommend the place with enthusiasm.

Room Tip: This is a five or six-story house, so if you have knee problems, request room number 5 on the ground...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 836Danielle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    45
    7
    7
    3
See reviews for
29
306
32
62
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

We planned on staying in Boston for three nights and ended up staying another two days. This B&B, from the staff who were nothing but helpful, warm, and welcoming, to our gorgeous room, to the great location in South End, made it a fantastic stay. Communal breakfast each morning was a great way to start the day. So many lovely touches from the holiday decorations to hot apple cider or tea and biscuits left out each night made this place a wonderful winter getaway. Our room was large and the bathroom was well appointed and it was a nice quiet room and location. We can't wait to return to Boston next time we're in the States and will definitely make sure we stay at Clarendon.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MaggieMac2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2012

I stayed at the Clarendon square for 5 nights in November. Everything about the Inn was great. I arrived late, but was sent very clear instructions about finding the Inn and getting in, and found my room open and waiting with a nice note welcoming me and lots of great information about local restaurants and services. The location is excellent, with an easy walk to the T and many of Boston's sights and activities. Bobby and Roberto gave me excellent advice about things to see and do, how to get there and where to eat. My room was charming and comfortable, with high quality linens and towels and a warm and cozy robe. Breakfast was delicious, with a diverse selection of baked goods, cold cuts and cheeses, fruit, yogurt and hard boiled eggs. And the tea and cookies every afternoon were just the thing to tide me over for dinner when I returned for a break after walking miles through this fascinating and historic city. I recommend this Inn wholeheartedly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed at The Clarendon Square Inn for 5 nights in October with some friends. We couldn't have been happier with our rooms and the lovely brownstone. Our hosts, Stephen and Bobby, were so helpful in helping us navigate around the city. Bobby met us the afternoon we arrived, gave us glasses of wine, while we studied maps and made dinner reservations for our upcoming days. Every morning, it was so enjoyable to relax over a lovely breakfast, with Bobby making us all cappuccinos. We would fill them in our our previous days adventures and plan out the day. The location is great with Tremont street just a block away and many great restaurants. Our favorite was B& G Oysters which we could walk to our first night. It was an easy walk to the subway, which we used a couple of times. We also enjoyed the lovely rooftop in the afternoon and spent time watching the sun set from up there. We would definitely go back and stay sometime. We all had a great time.

Room Tip: There is no elevator, so if that is a problem, ask for the lower floor. We loved our room on the fro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NanaSandy1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homestead, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My husband and I were celebrating our anniversary and couldn't have been happier choosing the Clarendon Square Inn. The rooms were wonderfully appointed and cozy. Breakfast was a treat and it was a ball speaking with the other guests. Roberto & Misty were outstanding hosts and full of information about the city. They recommended several restaurants close by that were amazing. Location was great, everything in walking distance.

Our first time in a B & B and oh we have been spoiled! Will recommend to everyone headed to Boston! Actually can't wait to return

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City Beach, Florida, United States
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

My wife and I flew into Boston for a weekend getaway. Found this B&B on Trip Advisor and was very pleased! Location was perfect. Quiet residential street but close to plenty of restaurants and the subway. Accommodations were perfect. Room was large. Bed was very comfortable. Pillows, sheets, towels, all high quality. Double head shower with plenty of hot water. Staff was very helpful. Breakfast was very fancy with meats, cheeses, fresh fruit, scones, etc. We did not use it but there was a nice hot tub on the roof with a great view. We would return!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We spent four most enjoyable days in Boston - wished it was a few days longer. This guest house is as it appears on the website. Lovely rooms, gorgeous property. Breakfast was included and great. It is about 15 min walk to Back Bay Subway. In an upmarket residential area. We had room on top floor which was quiet but any floor is probably quiet as this is not a busy street. On lift so stairs may be a problem for some. The only negative is that there is no staff there after 5pm so if you are needing assistance, suggestions for dinner etc you need to call them or refer to guide in the room. In all a most enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: Top floor if you don't mind the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chlotoro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 83 in Boston
3,300 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 83 in Boston
3,204 reviews
Downtown
Boston Park Plaza
Boston Park Plaza
#56 of 83 in Boston
1,990 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#64 of 83 in Boston
3,594 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarendon Square Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarendon Square Inn

Property: Clarendon Square Inn
Address: 198 W Brookline St, Boston, MA 02118-1280
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > South End
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Clarendon Square Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Clarendon Square Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Clarendon Square Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing