We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting....”
Review of Alibi Lounge

Alibi Lounge
Reserve with OpenTable
Alibi Lounge is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #532 of 3,205 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Transit: The Charles MGH stop on the Red line
Illinois
Level Contributor
141 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Interesting....”
Reviewed January 9, 2012

Visited Alibi Lounge recently. We couldn't decide which bar in the Liberty Hotel to stop in to, and finally settled on Alibi since it seemed casual.

The spot has interesting decor (former jail - cool idea)...but the staff was a bit condescending and I thought that it was pricey for what it was.

Worth it for a drink in the hotel if you want to check it out.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank ChicagoK2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    39
    10
    5
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Nice, trendy bar”
Reviewed November 28, 2011

Alibi is a nice evening establishment located within the Liberty Hotel. As part of its decor it still retains some of the original jail cell bars. The bar can get rather cramped in the evening because of the layout, but then again what bar doesn't.

Visited December 2010
Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ynez, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great, unique place to meet friends in Boston”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Alibi is a Bar and Lounge in the Liberty Hotel. It is convenient to reach by the Red line. A wonderful old building that use to be a jail. It has a warm loungy feeling with great cluster of tables and various chairs to sit in. The Celebrity Mug shots are lots of fun We had the white pizza for a snack and it was fantastic. The drinks were tastey and the staff was attentive. It is great for a late night snack. What more could you want?????

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Christa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
185 reviews
136 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Great before dinner meet-up spot.”
Reviewed May 5, 2011

Love the dark atmosphere and prison decor that compliments the Liberty Hotel's storied past. The celebrity mug shots throughout are interesting. I love the fact that they have couches available especially if you are meeting with a group. They make some great signature cocktails like "The Rehab" which is addictive according to my wife. I'm a big fan of their truffled polenta fries. The prices are typical for an upscale bar/club in the Boston area. I would recommend calling ahead if you are meeting people and want a couch/table as the lines can be pretty deep.

  • Visited September 2010
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank musiclover1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
“Great ambiance and surprisingly good food and bar list”
Reviewed September 14, 2009

I'm normally a pub kind of guy, but I stopped by here on a Sunday night and was pleasantly surprised. The staff were generally quite friendly, the ambiance was *very* nice, and the bar and food prices were reasonable. We got a few different items off the food menu, and also tried several different cocktails. I thought my cocktail was good for $11, and the beers seemed reasonable at $5. The food was tasty and nicely presented.

Overall, we had a really fun time, although if you're going on a Friday or Saturday night, get there early if you want to avoid lining up.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TimC-TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Alibi Lounge also viewed

 

Been to Alibi Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing