We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Charming but uncomfortable” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn At St Botolph

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Inn At St Botolph
Ranked #48 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Fairfax Station, VA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Charming but uncomfortable”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Charming brownstone inn, great location as we were visiting Northeastern University, loved the modern, edgy decor! Comfy bed, nice clean bathroom but living room furniture was awfully uncomfortable .

Suite 201 had a worn, mushy, Ikea-style "loveseat" which was so small it could only seat one. The only other place to sit was a formal chair which may be great in a formal living room but you could never curl up in it to watch TV or read a book. Very disappointing as there were great basketball games on TV and we would have really enjoyed watching from our room but opted to go out to a local sports bar instead.

Other minor issues were no toilet paper in bathroom (not a biggie as we used some Kleenex) and no regular coffee by the coffeemaker (only decaf!). This forced me to traipse down to the basement to the office/breakfast area in my jammies in search of my requisite caffeine. Still half asleep and just looking for my morning cup of Jo, I was befuddled that the coffee station was a gourmet machine which required selecting an individual foil-wrapped disc (many varieties with exotic names -- had to ask the office staff which one was just plain regular coffee), which produced only a thimble-size cup. This was just way too much thinking for early morning -- why can't they just have self-serve pots that say "Coffee" "Decaf" and "Hot Water!" Overall, not a huge deal but I enjoy my morning coffee and when you are paying $250+ a night, is that too much to ask?

Continental breakfast was adequate for normal diets (oatmeal packets, fresh bagels, and I think muffins but, since I can't eat gluten, I had to pass).

Would I stay again? Yes, but I would not stay in 201 unless they replace the living room seating (think comfort people!). Eclectic and modern decor is very cool and doesn't have to be uncomfortable!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank medprogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

548 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    380
    127
    27
    12
    2
See reviews for
106
237
58
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Inn for an anniversary trip recently, and Hallie and Thomas went out of their way to make our stay a great one. I can't say enough great things about it, the location was fantastic, the accommodations were very nice, and it had a great boutique hotel feeling. Highly recommended and we'll definitely be back next time we're in Boston!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Brunswick, New Jersey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013

I stayed in the Inn at St Botolph for two nights with a friend. The Inn was like a second home with excellent facilities:
Large rooms, a kitchenette, lounge area, bathroom with full amenities and shower
Wifi and the continental breakfast are complimentary
The Inn uses a cardless system, you receive your codes for entry beforehand. This worked very well and allowed flexibility to arrive at our own leisure.
The Inn is conveniently located close to the Prudential Center, which include a subway station. Newbury street is also a close walk away.
I highly recommend this Inn and will stay here in future.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SATraveller25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Virginia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 25, 2013

I am old school - so keyless entry - no reception .... I am skeptical. I like everything about this place, ok except for the parking fees at nearby Prudential Center when we checked out! But all in - just love this place! Clean and nice (shiny shower head in the bathroom!), easy walk to the mall, lots of places to eat. Daily continental breakfast - no hassle - coffee/tea all day - convenience at the highest level. Staff members were helpful. Had a great dinner at the recommended Mooo Restaurant... good food - as expected - pricey! Have a great year everyone!

Room Tip: The walls may be pretty thin - if you are a light-sleeper - do remember to bring your ear-plugs. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Choi121712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Amherst, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I have stayed at the Inn several times now, the first being because of it's proximity to our daughter's apt, but now because it just feels like our home away from home! It is clean, cozy, close to everything. They are accomodating to the nth degree. The small but well equipped kitchen has provided us the abilty to whip up a fast yet homestyle meal when a restaurant was not an option at the moment. I can't say enough about the "feel" of the impeccably decorated room! It doesn't feel like any other hotel I have ever stayed in.....because it most def. is NOT! LOVE it there! Have another reservation coming up and looking forward to it immensly! Wouldn't stay anywhere else in Boston!

Room Tip: We always have requested the corner suite and it's just lovely! They also hook you up with disco...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

This was our first time to visit Boston. We were visiting to celebrate our 13th wedding anniversary. At first we were apprehensive about booking a hotel without a front desk...but the hotel was charming enough in pictures and the location was great, so we booked our room. We were very pleased with the location of the hotel...it has a neighborhood feel, but is a great location for getting around the city. The room was really well decorated and had a nice comfortable feel. The kitchen was small, but it had all of the neccessary items we needed. Even though they do not have a "front desk", they do have staff to help you with anything you need. They were all very courteous and helpful with anything we asked them for. We took advantage of the shopping service, and they had all of our items we ordered there for us upon our arrival..a very nice touch. We also liked having the keyless entry at the front door. You are also given a code to get into your room. The fireplace was also a nice touch...you felt more at home and not llike you were staying in a hotel. We will defininitely stay here any time we are back in Boston!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank debbie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
310 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

This is a great location from which to explore Boston.

While there are some hotel and shopping centre restaurants in the immediate vicinity, it is not right in the tendy shopping and eating area of Back Bay, but it is right near an entrance to the Prudential Centre and you can walk staight through the centre and you come out in the heart of Boylston Street. Where you will find great places to eat, drink and shop.

It is close to the T on two lines, 10 minutes easy walk to Copley Square and 20 minutes easy walk to the info kiosk in Boston Common.

It is in a quiet lovely street, which ended up snow covered on our last night, which was really nice

Others have complained about noise. We experienced no noise, although our two bedroom apartment was on the top floor. The room was clean and well appointed. Not really to our taste, but that didn't detract.

Our only suggestion on the room is that there is space for a washer drier in the two bedroom apartment and there should be one. Many apartment style hotels of this type would have one. We knew when we booked that it had a shared laundry, so we are not complaining, just suggesting!

It has a small but functional excercise room. the Breakfast room didn't look inviting, but there is a well stocked 7/11 across the street, so we bought breakfast supplies and took advantage of the kitchenette and full refrigerator.

This is a low service hotel for independent travellers, but our contact with the staff to book taxi's and store our luggage as we were a bit early, was all good. Acess by code etc all worked well.

Our only complaint and it is a small one, was that the "public" areas of hallways and lifts floors were not as clean as they might have been. I would take half a point out of five off for this, if I could, but not worth a full point as the room itself was clean.

We would go back!

Room Tip: Not everyone can be on the top floor, but it certainly avoided the noise from above that others have...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KK_M_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#19 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,052 reviews
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#69 of 83 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#33 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 613 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#26 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,617 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#5 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At St Botolph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At St Botolph

Property: The Inn At St Botolph
Address: 99 Saint Botolph Street, Boston, MA 02116
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#18 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn At St Botolph 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn @ St. Botolph, a luxury boutique hotel located in the shadow of the Prudential Center. With a keen nod to its namesake, the patron saint of travelers, The Inn @ St. Botolph in Boston's historic Back Bay wraps a wealth of luxuries in a tidy and affordable package for discerning travelers. Like its sister hotel, the internationally acclaimed XV Beacon, The Inn @ St. Botolph offers understated contemporary interiors graced with traditional styling and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, TravelClick, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn At St Botolph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At St Botolph Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing