We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“Great location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Inn At St Botolph

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Inn At St Botolph
Ranked #40 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed here for a long weekend and really enjoyed the proximity of the Inn to shopping and good eats. Like other reviewers have said, you can hear walking and muffled sounds from other rooms, but we weren't in our room long enough for it to bother us.

I also like the automatic check-in and check-out - no need to go to the front desk so we could come and go as we pleased.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pytiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    376
    125
    26
    12
    2
See reviews for
104
235
57
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (85)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2012

This hotel is in a great spot - close to transport and also within easy walking distance of many attractions and shops. It is also a very picturesque spot. The neighbourhood is quiet and residential.

We stayed in a one bedroom suite. We liked the decor and found the bed comfortable. The living area and the bedroom were a good size but the bathroom and kitchenette were a bit small and our room had a strange layout with the bathroom and kitchen on either side of a narrow entrance. I would have preferred the bathroom to be ensuite but this is a minor thing.

The bathrooom cleanliness needed a little attention to detail. I dropped my toothbrush and found that the floor under the vanity was a little dusty and there was an old bandaid and an old hair elastic under the vanity. It is for this reason that I haven't given the hotel five stars.

It was great to have access to a Nespresso machine and the breakfast was fine, especially as it was included in the price.

I liked the fact that the reception was downstairs and that you could make use of it, if you wanted. I really enjoyed the private feel of the apartment but some people might prefer having a more traditional hotel set-up.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CornishCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the inn at st botolph for northeastern's parents weekend. It is right across from the prudential center and a short walk to the school. We arrived early in the morning and they held onto our bags for us. We had a nice cup of espresso while we waited for our daughter then we walked to south end creamery (amazing brunch and cocktails!)

The inn was a wonderful home base for us with a gorgeous tiled glass enclosed shower and comfy bed with fine linens. We enjoyed the free wifi. The room had a kitchenette and desk area - very roomy. For that particular fall weekend the rates were considerably less than hotels in the area - so we not only loved it and preferred it to a hotel, we also got a great deal!

This is an inn and not a bed and breakfast. It has a self service espresso machine and a fridge full of juices and yogurts, plus cereals, etc. The cupboard has an extensive choice of loose teas that we enjoyed one evening after a walk in the cold.

We liked the freedom and convenience of the coded entry.

The staff was friendly and accommodating. We can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank apankosky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2012

Spent a week on holiday at this hotel which has some terrific features but also some that need improving.
The positives
- great location, lovely part of Boston, 2 min walk to Prudential Centre, T line, shops and lovely streets to explore
- space of suites is a nice change from tiny hotel rooms, kitchen is well equipped, nice shower
- friendly and helpful staff
- windows that can be opened, even if it means more street noise

The negatives
- serious problem of lack of soundproofing between rooms. We could hear people in the adjacent suite - talking (not shouting), television, coughing, snoring, as well as thudding footsteps from the floor above. Can't image how you would survive with a crying baby or amorous activities next door.
-decor and furnishings which may seem stylish, were uncomfortable. Two-seater couch and hard armchair in lounge area were excruciatingly uncomfortable, and with the large screen TV mounted high on the wall, we had cricked sore necks in no time. Four poster bed in the small bedroom was ridiculous and a hazard - we had to be very vigilant to avoid colliding with the posts when negotiating around such a small room.
- heating/cooling fan was one speed only, and very noisy and breezy when on. We hardly used it as the weather was mild, but it would have been very unpleasant and impossible to escape the gale if we had needed to use it.

On balance, the positives probably outweigh the negatives, but be aware that you are at the mercy of noise from next door and above. Bring earplugs - they may help.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

I have just come back from a long weekend in Boston and cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. The location is truly perfect - close to the subway, easy walking distance to shops, restaurants, Prudential Tower, (& a great diner, Thorntons, just around the corner) - and in the most beautiful, charming street. The room was spacious, clean and beautifully presented and the staff are really helpful. Truly would come back to this hotel again, and would recommend it to anyone wanting something smaller, quieter and individual without losing any of the comfort or luxury of a large hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacko5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Harmony, Indiana
Level Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

After calling several Boston hotels that were either booked up or too pricey, we found this one thanks to Trip Advisor. Our studio suite was $329 per night. While this is not economy/budget pricing, the accommodations, amenities, and the prime location, make this is a lovely place to stay. The inn has a total of 16 suites, some are studio and others are one bedroom and two-bedroom executive suites. This is a unique inn located in a wonderful, upscale, residential neighborhood lined with brownstones. We easily walked to Faneuil Hall and Durgin Park restaurant in 30 - 40 min. Several coffee shops are within an easy walk.

Our studio suite was tastefully decorated and included a queen size 4 poster bed. Also a kitchenette which included a refrigerator, small cooktop, microwave, & the appropriate glassware and dishes, etc. A 42 inch flatscreen TV and access to Internet service was also at our disposal. There was also a small loveseat and comfortable chair and a small kitchen table with 2 chairs. The bathroom included a shower only, but was clean with plenty of towels. This is a keyless entry inn which requires an entry code for not only the front door but to your room. Daily continental breakfast is available in the lounge. A small fitness center and a business center are also at your disposal. The staff in the office was exceptionally helpful. There is no parking at the inn, but public parking is nearby in the Prudential parking garage. Discount coupons for parking can be found online. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors may be quieter than street level. Although, compared to Newbury Street, it was not...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TheVault
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Califon, New Jersey
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 17, 2012

Delightful small hotel with a Back Bay neighborhood feel just around the corner from the Prudential Center/Copley Square and a walk away from everything Boston. Friendly staff, impeccable yet unobtrusive service. Parking is not adjacent, but that's what roller luggage is for.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#21 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,935 reviews
Back Bay
Copley Square Hotel
Copley Square Hotel
#27 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,547 reviews
Back Bay
Newbury Guest House
Newbury Guest House
#31 of 82 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Back Bay
Copley House
Copley House
#65 of 82 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 629 reviews
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#67 of 82 in Boston
3.5 of 5 bubbles 3,061 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn At St Botolph? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn At St Botolph

Property: The Inn At St Botolph
Address: 99 Saint Botolph St, Boston, MA 02116-6404
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#18 Family Hotel in Boston
#21 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Inn At St Botolph 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to The Inn @ St. Botolph, a luxury boutique hotel located in the shadow of the Prudential Center. With a keen nod to its namesake, the patron saint of travelers, The Inn @ St. Botolph in Boston's historic Back Bay wraps a wealth of luxuries in a tidy and affordable package for discerning travelers. Like its sister hotel, the internationally acclaimed XV Beacon, The Inn @ St. Botolph offers understated contemporary interiors graced with traditional styling and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TravelClick, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your The Inn At St Botolph reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At St Botolph Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing