We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Another Home Run!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nico

Nico
Reserve with OpenTable
Nico is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #23 of 3,098 Restaurants in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $20 - $25
Cuisines: Italian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Dining
Neighborhood: North End
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
212 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Another Home Run!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

We always look forward to eating at Nico's. Hakim Jabrani, one of the best waiters we've ever met, is warm and inviting. The food is very fresh and the tastes are amazing. Try the mozarella stuffed with Ricotta, the chicken parmigiana, or the risotto. The wine list is superb. Get a table upstairs rather than in the basement -- these are tight quarters, one of the few drawbacks. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bostonian80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    436
    217
    56
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newport, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
156 reviews
133 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great place and friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

Great food had wine. Staff is truly engaging. All your favorites prepared with care. Fried calamari was great and more than enough for 2.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank nycnyc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopedale, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Everyone Gets Sick”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

Eat at North End Restaurant every year for my birthday. Went to NIco. Restaurant was freezing food tasted funny. We were the only ones in restuarant. During dinner, waiters and bartender wore coats. Found out there was a gas leak. Were rushed through dinner and out the door. Waiter and brtenders followed saying they needed to go work at the owner's other restaurant because of a serious gas leak. All 5 people in party were sick all night. Never told of leak during meal. My family was in danger and they never told us. Suspect food was from the other restaurant and got cold coming over.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
5 Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“3sis+pat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Had a great experience here at Nico's. There were four or us, each had a different meal and each was fabulous! The atmosphere was great. Angelo our waiter was INCREDIBLE couldn't have been any better. Thank you Angelo for such a great experience. Can't wait to go back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Maureen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kennebunk, Maine
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The only thing better than the food was the service!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Just came back from an amazing dinner at Nico. We started with a salad special that included melt-in-your mouth delicious grilled artichokes and creamy, fresh burrata (mozzarella stuffed w/ ricotta, yum). Hubby had homemade spaghetti with a giant, tender, moist meatball; I had homemade rigatoni with fresh-from-the-harbor shrimp, scallops and black truffle oil. My only regret is that I didn't have enough room to finish it all! Our waiter, Hakim, elevated the whole experience because of his commitment to making sure we had a wonderful experience at Nico--which we certainly did! No question about it, we will definitely return to Nico next time we plan a night out in Boston.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KGfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico also viewed

 

Been to Nico? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing