We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, great room, great staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Bostonian Boston
Ranked #23 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Just stayed here for 3 nights July 12-14 with my family. Second time to Boston and wanted to be close to Quincy Market/Faneuil Hall. This hotel is also mid way in the Freedom trail and a block walk from Hanover Street/North End. This is a great boutique hotel with great views of Quincy Market. The rooms are exceptional and what you would expect for a finer boutique hotel in a major city.
Upon check in there was a minor issue with the room which was quickly resolved by Glenny M. (Ops Mgr). Glenny's professionalism and swift attention to the issue is the true indicator of a manager, and an organization who understand what great customer service truly is. Because of Glenny, the MB Hotel is our ONLY choice now for future trips to Boston.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank JSJ93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRivers, General Manager at The Bostonian Boston, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Recent Guest,

Thank you for taking time to repeat your comments on TripAdvisor and sharing your experience with our hotel, and more importantly one of our team.

Glenny, recently promoted to Front Office Manager, is dedicated to the overall guest experience and this was a key contributor to this announcement. All of our team has been trained to understand that hotels can make mistakes and that recovery is what determines the caliber of a property. Certainly in your case this is a proven theory, and for whatever our error, my apologies.

We hope to have you as a returning guest in the near future,

Robert Rivers
General Manager
robert.rivers@mill-usa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,784)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

874 - 880 of 1,784 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2014

We recently visited Boston for an extended weekend of sight seeing. Knowing that Boston is notorious for being a difficult city to drive in we wanted a hotel that would be within walking distance to most of the places we wanted to visit and be close to public transportation for things that were a bit further out. This hotel fit the bill.

Located right across from Faneuil Hall this hotel is within walking distance to Qunicy Market, Boston Harbor, the New England Aquarium, the Freedom Trail, a large variety of tourist activities as well as a large number of good restaurants. Also within easy walking distance are water taxis and two T stations.

We had a standard king size room. The room was clean and functional, Our view was not impressive, looking out the back of the hotel onto the weekend farmers market. But we did not choose this hotel for a view. The other side of the hotel would look over Faneuil Hall. The room is equipped with a mini bar and snacks. Don't plan on using the minibar fridge for your own items however. It is electronically monitored and you will be charged for any items that you move. The bed was reasonably comfortable and the TV had basic cable, but no on-demand rental. Wifi is available for a fee, but we did not activate it and can not tell you the connection quality or speed. There is also an in room safe for valuables. The air conditioning is quiet and very effective at keeping the room comfortable in the summer heat.

The staff were friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. The concierge was managing a very busy load when we went to ask about dinner recommendations but managed to balance everyone without creating tremendous delay.

There is a valet service for parking and be aware that it is not cheap. It is noted on their website that the parking is not free but I had missed that note. So I was surprised when I learned there was a fee. To be clear, this was my error, not theirs. The fee is clearly stated on their website.

It is possible to hear music from Faneuil Hall but in general it was not obtrusive and was done by 11:00. It might be more noticeable on the other side of the hotel.

We had breakfast in the room and the food was of good quality and delivered on time. They managed to slightly miss my order on both days we stayed. The first day I got wheat toast instead of white and on the second day I got home fries instead of the potato pancakes. They got my wife's order correct on both days.

We had drinks at North 26, the on site restaurant. The service was good, the outside patio was nice. We did not have food there so we can not comment on that.

Overall the hotel is good and the location is nearly impossible to beat, especially considering the price. We'd stay again.

Room Tip: To avoid noise associated with night time activities at Faneuil Hall consider asking for a room that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ross S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRivers, General Manager at The Bostonian Boston, responded to this reviewResponded July 29, 2014

Dear Senior Reviewer,

Thank you so much for your time and in-depth review of Millennium Bostonian Hotel and highlighting our services and product.

First, my apologies on the breakfast order errors as this is not common for our team of servers, especially two days in a row with the same guest. We understand the importance of that first meal of the day and will strive to improve our accuracy.

Location, service and product is what creates value and there must be an equal balance to impress our discerning level of clientele and I am always very proud when a review, such as yours', appears on TripAdvisor. I will be sure to share with our entire team at our morning meeting.

Truly, thank you for your comments,

Robert Rivers
General Manager
Robert.rivers@mill-usa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

What a treat to stay here a few weeks back! The suites are very expansive and it's right in the thick of things. Close by any type of food you could ask for and it's right near the Greenway and the Aquarium, both of which are remarkable places that visitors should check out.

The restaurant off the lobby is excellent and they have outside seating in the summer months, which is great for people watching and just having an appetizer or two.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank thesecondcity
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014

The room was spacious for 4 people however the beds are too soft. Woke up with backache. So I recommend this hotel for 1 night only until they remodel. The location was great. We were able to walk around without needing a car.

Room Tip: Ask for the most remodeled room with beds with hard mattresses
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Ednmimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

First of all the hotel is in a great location. Near the train station and Faneuil Hall is across the street.
The room was not huge, but big enough to enjoy the stay. It was clean and there was not much street noise. Only downside was that when the people in the room besides us came home it sounded like they were coming through our door.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PatriciaSchwab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2014

Right across the street from Fanuel hall and in the middle of everything you could want to do in Boston. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Depending on what room you get, your view could be great or just a view of the alley to next building(we had rooms 514 and 537). If you can catch this property for $250 a night or under it is a good value. On friday's and saturday's the produce market sets up right beside the hotel so it can kinda get loud early with all the trucks getting unloading and kinda smelly with the dumpsters if you open your balcony doors. There is a fridge in the room but you are not allowed to put anything in it as it is for preset items that you have to pay for. The Godfather

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRivers, General Manager at The Bostonian Boston, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Contributor,

Thank you for your comments and all guest feedback is reviewed and options discussed so as to insure impact from recommendations such as yours'.

In review of the weekend market, Millennium Bostonian along with the city of Boston, have insured that dumpsters for the market cannot be located adjacent to the hotel and I am confident that this is consistent. However, I will again make note for the upcoming weekend and my management team will report on location.

Again, thank you for your comments and alerting us to a potential issue for all future guests.

Sincerely,

Robert Rivers
General Manager
robert.rivers@mill-usa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Just stayed at the Millenium Bostonian Hotel for a business trip. The hotel was clean, in a nice neighborhood and very friendly. I did not find the bed to be overly comfortable, the sheets were over-starched.

I ordered room service for breakfast that did not show up at the ordered time, but they did quickly bring me a meal when I called to follow up. However when the $12 list price showed up on the bill, I was surprised to find it was $18 because of a $3 service charge and 18% gratuity, not noted clearly on any menu. This is particularly annoying because when signing for the food there's a space for additional gratuity. Wifi is $10/day and bottled water available for $5.50. I really hate to feel nickel and dimed in a nice hotel, so these silly costs are the main reason for my less than perfect review.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank angie1135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRivers, General Manager at The Bostonian Boston, responded to this reviewResponded July 20, 2014

Dear Contributor,

Thank you for your recent stay and comments related to our services, and we understand your concerns related to charges.

Our room service operation is typically very consistent and we are equally disappointed that our delivery was not to your request. Although our service card denotes a time variance of 15 minutes we attempt to forego this option and will continue to strive at meeting guest requests. In reference to gratuity and delivery fees, I will personally review our materials as this is a recognized charge and industry consistent.

We hope to have you again visit during a future visit and would be happy to personally deliver your breakfast, early!

Again, thank you,

Robert Rivers
General Manager
robert.rivers@mill-usa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 86 in Boston
2,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#50 of 86 in Boston
8,239 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,467 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bostonian Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bostonian Boston

Address: 26 North Street, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, Boston, MA 02109-1503 (Formerly Millennium Bostonian Hotel)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Boston
#17 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#38 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $199 - $518 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bostonian Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bostonian's chief asset is its prime location adjacent to Faneuil Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Bostonian Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Millennium Bostonian
Millennium Bostonian Boston
Boston Millennium Hotel
Millenium Bostonian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing