We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern, Upscale, Pricey Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Bostonian Boston
Ranked #24 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 31, 2013

This was the third hotel in a week long business trip to Boston.

Let me start by staying that is a very modern, upscale hotel located in the Faneuil Hall area just around the corner from Quincy Market. Located about 3 miles from Logan Airport, it's in the touristy area of the city and is similar in class to a Fairmont type hotel - not boutique but better than average, The rooms are spacious in nature and have:
- large comfortable king size bed
- a very good AC system
- plenty of pillows
- flat screen TV
- a small hallway leading to the bathroom and closet. there is also a separate vanity for sitting at

The bathrooms contain trough like sinks with rainfall shower heads, body wash hose attachment and spacious tubs. It also comes with above average bath products including mouth wash which you generally don't see any more.

However along those same lines, it's also:
- pricey. there were Fiji water bottles at $6+ dollars
- the internet is $10 plus if you use the computer in the lobby, you also have to pay usage charge as well. (You do get 15 free minutes to print out a plane ticket)
- parking runs around $45
- the bar fridge is wired in such a manner that if you move even one item, you are charged automatically for it
- there is no shuttle service but the hotel is always glad to call a cab

Front staff desk was not particularly friendly but not unfriendly either - just business like although it appears a few employees may have a bit of an "attitude". There is free coffee in the morning along with bowl full of fruit. There is also free lemonade in the evening. Access to Quincy Market is only a few minutes away. There are numerous restaurants but my suggestion is to head toward the North end where you will locate many fine Italian restaurants (similar to the Hill area in St. Louis). There is also a CVS there where you can find much cheaper water options than the Fiji bottles in the room. My biggest complaint is the TV which is rather small and the remote control which does not work particularly well.

So what's overall thought? This is a decent modern hotel which I would stay at again however you have to keep you expectations in line. It's not an Embassy suites or the Courtyard so if you understand this and accept the concept of everything is expensive in this location then you will have a great stay.

Room Tip: If you are sensitive to noise, then head toward the back
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ERRANTTRAVELERE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,765)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,059 - 1,065 of 1,765 reviews

Reviewed May 31, 2013

First time in this hotel and for sure i'll be back.
Great location, everything easy to reach. The hotel is truly confortable and very silent even if located in a busy area. Wonderful room, and a great comfortable bed. Very big bathroom, and a spot every woman will like...the make up corner, with a big mirror and a small one for particulars.
I've tried also room service, and may confirm the general opinion on the hotel.
Loved the experience, thanks a lot!

Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
1  Thank Orlando14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Clean, staff is attentive, restaurant and service good, - be careful of the in room service bar (you will be charged whether you took something or not), Access to Boston area attractions and the Government Center Plaza - RIDICULOUS! Family, single, and business friendly...

Room Tip: Fanuel Hall View
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRivers, General Manager at The Bostonian Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Recent Guest,

We at Millennium Bostonian appreciate your comments and sharing your stay with TripAdvisors online audience.

Our premier location, combined with a fresh product and willing staff, continues to receive praise, however our focus towards guest service is never left unattended.

Boston announced this week that the music fest held at City Hall Plaza this past week will again be offered in September. Thus, we hope to see you again in just 4 months.

Again, thank you,

Robert Rivers
General Manager
robert.rivers@mill-usa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This hotel is clean, pleasant, stylish, attractively furnished, and, above all, in a great location right across from Quincy Market and a short walk to the waterfront and the North End. It is also reasonably priced--by Boston standards. The only downside is loud music coming from the nearby clubs at certain times of the day. Bring earplugs and/or ask where the quietest room is. We had a great time visiting all of the above-mentioned places, and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RobertRivers, General Manager at The Bostonian Boston, responded to this reviewResponded May 30, 2013

Dear Senior Reviewer,

My team and I appreciate you taking time to share comments from your recent visit to Boston and Millennium Bostonian Hotel!

We recognize that this hotel's location, amongst Bostons most treasured landmarks, is a benefit for our guests and we stress equal importance on product and service. Our guests, like yourself, are seeking a balance of value, location and memorable experiences and we remain focused on meeting those expectations.

If your travels return you to Boston, feel free to send me a note so that I might assist wtih your reservation request .

Sincerely,

Robert Rivers
General Manager
robert.rivers@mill-usa.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

This is the second stay for us here. Can't beat the location. Very clean rooms, and friendly waitstaff. The only issue we had staying here is it is very noisy being right outside of Faneuil Hall. With all the Clubs and Bars around, it stays very noisy until the early hours. The location is perfect so that is an issue we can live with. Plus, we usually are out until midnight or so anyway.. Great place to stay...

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mfosh55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great things:
- amazing location (plenty of great restaurants in the area, Aquarium metro station nearby_
- courteous and professional staff
- complimentary fruit/morning coffee in the lobby
- big and fluffy pillows
- very clean room
- high-quality toiletries

Areas for improvement:
- air conditioner in the room keeps turning off - only the fan in the room was on. The air conditioner has to be turned on manually every morning.
- no dresser in the room - only a closet with few hangers in it
- no Wifi - the internet access costs $9.99/24 hours. However Wifi is available in the lobby of the hotel, free of charge
-the room service carries $3.00 delivery fee, plus 18% automatically added tip. When you sign the bill they ask if you would like to give additional tip.
-the only parking available is Valet parking, for $45/night

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sophia2551
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Just came back from Boston.
We have loved the location of this hotel, right in front of Faneuil Hall and close to a lot of good restaurants.
We had a very clean and large enough room with a front view of the Market and all.
The staff was very friendly and helpfull.
We took the old town trolley tour that took us everywhere in the city.
The Millennium certainly help us have a wonderfull time in this city for a first trip.
We will be back.
I surely recommand this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
Hilton Boston Downtown / Faneuil Hall
Downtown
The Langham, Boston
The Langham, Boston
#18 of 85 in Boston
2,429 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#49 of 85 in Boston
8,130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 85 in Boston
3,450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bostonian Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bostonian Boston

Address: 26 North Street, Faneuil Hall Marketplace, Boston, MA 02109-1503 (Formerly Millennium Bostonian Hotel)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Green Hotel in Boston
#17 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#24 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#32 Family Hotel in Boston
#38 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $179 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Bostonian Boston 4*
Number of rooms: 204
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bostonian's chief asset is its prime location adjacent to Faneuil Hall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bostonian Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Millennium Bostonian
Millennium Bostonian Boston
Boston Millennium Hotel
Millenium Bostonian

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing