We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Had better service @ Holiday Inn Express”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Boston
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Meriden, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Had better service @ Holiday Inn Express”
Reviewed October 11, 2006

We booked 2 nights mainly based on reviews on TripAdvisor. Check in was quick, hotel seemed well run and taken care of. The problem was that the temperature in the room was quite warm and for some reason was not able to be adjusted. I called down to the front desk three times and was told three different stories: 1. They still had the heat on in the hotel because it was early spring and the ac couldn't be turned on, 2. They would call engineering and have them lower the temperature for our room, and finally, 3. There was nothing they could do & brought up a small desk fan. I've stayed in hotels all over the country and have never encountered this issue. The fact that it was never resolved made me swear off Langham hotels forever. I wrote to the management when we got home and never received a reply.

  • Liked — Location - can walk to most of Boston attractions.
  • Disliked — Very poor service.
  • Tips/Secrets — Check out the Marriott, Jury's, Four Seasons, etc. instead.
  • Stayed March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank scribbybean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,366
    593
    156
    54
    38
See reviews for
406
876
85
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
chester, UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2006

excellent choice of accommodation. would find it very difficult to criticise. The hotel has all that you could need, friendly staff, an excellent concierge service, pool and gym facilities. The room we stayed in was excellent with extremely comfortable beds and a great view of downtown boston. would strongly recommend. 1st class!!

  • Liked — quality of room, friendlyness of staff
  • Tips/Secrets — hotel has overnight parking at a very reasonable charge
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank maccahallam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 1, 2006

We stayed here over the weekend while attending a performance of Cirque de Soleil at Suffolk Downs. Hotel is in close proximity of Quincy Market and Fanieul Hall. Arrived at the hotel after a long day and we were greeted with turned-down beds, chocolates and the weather report for the next day....!!!! The pillows are simply the best (where do they find them?) and the bed linens were by far the most luxurious....truly unbelievable. This is a very classy hotel and we would highly recommend it for any traveler, be it for business or pleasure. Can't wait to return.

  • Liked — The pillows and Sheets
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank chad351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2006

Rooms are unique, with differing floor plans, many with a few stairs. Very clean, nice size bathrooms. Nice touch with chocolates on the pillow at turn-down service. Concierges Dan and Sean very helpful; daytime guy not as friendly, knowledgeable, or helpful. Work out room is complete with Concept II ergometer, pool, and enough machines for a good workout. Only downside is location is 15-20 min walk to Boston Commons, Copley area. Highly recommend.

  • Liked — Cool rooms
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alfredo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
toronto, canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2006

Really Nice Hotel!!! 4****

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Labour Day Long weekend. We had a great time except for the not so great weather. Be sure to check the forecast. The hotel is situated in the financial district of Downtown Boston. I found the streets were pretty dead around the hotel both during the day and at night. I dont know if this was because it was a long weekend and being in the financial district, everything was closed... However, everything is pretty close by approx. 5-10 min walk.
We checked in late, and were suprised to hear that they automatically upgraded our room to a suite. It was a large room with a well equipped bathroom and closet. Very clean and pleasant!
We also had the pleasure of dining at the Cafe Fleuri for Breakfast, which was GREAT!. We had the buffet breakfast, which is a little expensive at $22USD a person but is well worth it if you enjoy and great selection.
If you like higher end shopping, be sure to check out Newbury St. about 10-15 min walk.
If you want to try some authentic Boston cusine and some BOSTON CHOWDA, try Faneuil Hall Market Place which is close by to little Italy where you can get a cappucino at the oldest coffee shop Cafe Vittoria. 5-7 min from Faneuil Hall
Everything was great, very good week-end, not so good weather, but great hotel! Overall Great Trip!

  • Liked — Very Clean and professional
  • Disliked — Not busy around hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2006

Stayed at the Langham from 9/1 to 9/4. We arrived early in the morning and planned on checking our bags until later in the day. To our delight we were allowed to check in! We had booked a "moderate Queen room" and were given a lovely room on the 6th floor overlooking Post Office Park.

The room was immaculate as was the very large gleaming bathroom. Furnishings were lovely and new. The hotel furnishes plush bathrobes and slippers and our nightly turndown service, complete with chocolates on the pillows, made us feel like we were on a cruise ship! The radio was left turned on to a soft music channel - a nice touch.

The staff was friendly and accommodating, from Stacey at the front desk, who checked us in and out, to Juan, one of the very nicest bell men ever. The housekeeping staff was right on the mark and we could never pass one of them without receiving a smile and a greeting. The Concierge supplied us with umbrellas for our one rainy day, which were greatly appreciated, since we prefer to walk until our feet fall off (!) when in Boston.

The lobby and other public rooms are gorgeous. Sadly, we did not enjoy any meals at the Langham - that will have to wait until our next visit.


The only "annoyance" was having to go to two floors once and three floors once to find ice! Not a showstopper by any means - just took a little longer to chill our wine!

Having stayed previously at Jury's and the Wyndham (now Hilton) many times - we think we have found our "new favorite" hotel to be the Langham and look forward to our next visit.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and decor
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Check the website for promotions
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mollyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA Woods
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2006

We paid $144 via Hotwire. Parking, by valet only, was reasonably priced for Boston at $25/night. Our room was beautiful, the bed comfortable and the temperature controls worked. Room service food was good, but don't make the mistake of ordering a children's meal - it was terrible. Our room was very noisy. We could hear doors banging all day and night. We were so distraught as to call Security regarding this issue. The pool was nice but it didn't have enough seating.

The Sunday "Jazz Brunch" had no jazz; only a Billy Joel piano man. Also, the raw bar at the brunch had only over-cooked food. There is no way that I ate $50 worth of food. Oh well, live and learn.

All told, this is a nice hotel.

  • Liked — location, location, location...
  • Disliked — Lack of a high end restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't getthe Sunday buffet!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brokenankle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#10 of 83 in Boston
1,097 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Property: The Langham, Boston
Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,The Reserve, boasts a polished aesthetic that reflects the elegance for which The Langham, Boston is known. Sip, savor and socialize, in the refined lounge serving inspiring cocktails and Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood daily. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at The Langham, Boston enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing