We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Grand style, great service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Langham, Boston
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Grand style, great service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2006

Rooms are unique, with differing floor plans, many with a few stairs. Very clean, nice size bathrooms. Nice touch with chocolates on the pillow at turn-down service. Concierges Dan and Sean very helpful; daytime guy not as friendly, knowledgeable, or helpful. Work out room is complete with Concept II ergometer, pool, and enough machines for a good workout. Only downside is location is 15-20 min walk to Boston Commons, Copley area. Highly recommend.

  • Liked — Cool rooms
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alfredo101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    573
    152
    53
    35
See reviews for
386
854
81
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
toronto, canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2006

Really Nice Hotel!!! 4****

My boyfriend and I stayed here for Labour Day Long weekend. We had a great time except for the not so great weather. Be sure to check the forecast. The hotel is situated in the financial district of Downtown Boston. I found the streets were pretty dead around the hotel both during the day and at night. I dont know if this was because it was a long weekend and being in the financial district, everything was closed... However, everything is pretty close by approx. 5-10 min walk.
We checked in late, and were suprised to hear that they automatically upgraded our room to a suite. It was a large room with a well equipped bathroom and closet. Very clean and pleasant!
We also had the pleasure of dining at the Cafe Fleuri for Breakfast, which was GREAT!. We had the buffet breakfast, which is a little expensive at $22USD a person but is well worth it if you enjoy and great selection.
If you like higher end shopping, be sure to check out Newbury St. about 10-15 min walk.
If you want to try some authentic Boston cusine and some BOSTON CHOWDA, try Faneuil Hall Market Place which is close by to little Italy where you can get a cappucino at the oldest coffee shop Cafe Vittoria. 5-7 min from Faneuil Hall
Everything was great, very good week-end, not so good weather, but great hotel! Overall Great Trip!

  • Liked — Very Clean and professional
  • Disliked — Not busy around hotel
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Lilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2006

Stayed at the Langham from 9/1 to 9/4. We arrived early in the morning and planned on checking our bags until later in the day. To our delight we were allowed to check in! We had booked a "moderate Queen room" and were given a lovely room on the 6th floor overlooking Post Office Park.

The room was immaculate as was the very large gleaming bathroom. Furnishings were lovely and new. The hotel furnishes plush bathrobes and slippers and our nightly turndown service, complete with chocolates on the pillows, made us feel like we were on a cruise ship! The radio was left turned on to a soft music channel - a nice touch.

The staff was friendly and accommodating, from Stacey at the front desk, who checked us in and out, to Juan, one of the very nicest bell men ever. The housekeeping staff was right on the mark and we could never pass one of them without receiving a smile and a greeting. The Concierge supplied us with umbrellas for our one rainy day, which were greatly appreciated, since we prefer to walk until our feet fall off (!) when in Boston.

The lobby and other public rooms are gorgeous. Sadly, we did not enjoy any meals at the Langham - that will have to wait until our next visit.


The only "annoyance" was having to go to two floors once and three floors once to find ice! Not a showstopper by any means - just took a little longer to chill our wine!

Having stayed previously at Jury's and the Wyndham (now Hilton) many times - we think we have found our "new favorite" hotel to be the Langham and look forward to our next visit.

  • Liked — Cleanliness and decor
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Check the website for promotions
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mollyanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MA Woods
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2006

We paid $144 via Hotwire. Parking, by valet only, was reasonably priced for Boston at $25/night. Our room was beautiful, the bed comfortable and the temperature controls worked. Room service food was good, but don't make the mistake of ordering a children's meal - it was terrible. Our room was very noisy. We could hear doors banging all day and night. We were so distraught as to call Security regarding this issue. The pool was nice but it didn't have enough seating.

The Sunday "Jazz Brunch" had no jazz; only a Billy Joel piano man. Also, the raw bar at the brunch had only over-cooked food. There is no way that I ate $50 worth of food. Oh well, live and learn.

All told, this is a nice hotel.

  • Liked — location, location, location...
  • Disliked — Lack of a high end restaurant
  • Tips/Secrets — Don't getthe Sunday buffet!
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brokenankle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2006

I stayed here with husband on Aug 18-20 booking directly with the hotel for a good 3 nights-for-two-nights price.
This is in the downtown section and very convenient to Quincy Market and Boston Aquarium, and an easy walk to Downtown Crossing shops and Freedom Trail sites.

Checkin was easy and pleasant, and we got our requested room with a view overlooking Post Office Square. The room was a standard king, witha desk, dresser, TV cabinet. It was a little cramped. The bathroom was nice-sized and marble outfitted. A coffeemaker was a pleasant surprise since we didn't expect to find one in a 4* hotel. The bed was on the firm side...which was also unexpected given the emphasis these days on "heavenly" etc. comfy hotel beds. Room service and turndown service both were fine. We got used to the evening chocolates very quickly.

The public rooms on the second floor are very grand (this building used to be the federal reserve bank) and should not be missed. Saturday night we had cocktails and dinner in the bar. We felt like lords. The piano music added an additional touch of class. We did not check out the pool or gym.

The main reception area is understated. We used the concierge twice for basic directions and he was accommodating.

The area immediately around the hotel is very quiet on the weekends. Local cafes and eateries tend to be closed. We were told that the Elephant & Castle pub/restaurant on Arch Street (3 blocks away) offers a nice $15 brunch buffet on Sats and Suns, which is a definite bargain compared to the Langham's $50 pp Sunday brunch. We had a good lunch here, but did not check out the brunch.

A word about parking: We parked our car in the adjacent parking garage (entrance on Oliver Street) , with an "ouch" factor of $78 total. On weekdays, including Friday checkin and Monday checkout, rates hit full-day $32 after approx. 90 minutes. Saturday and Sunday were $7 each. Pass on the hotel valet parking option if you don't want to pay more still.

Summary: understated, and good value at promotion rates. Some might find it staid. We enjoyed the "old banker " grandeur.

  • Stayed August 2006
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank WorldlyGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2006

Loved this beautiful & immaculately kept hotel for its decor, staff & location.

Our room was not hugh but by no means small (and it was a welcome change to have only one double bed and not two regularly found in European hotels, which somehow take from the ambiance of the room). The room was so comfortable, it was definitely a room you would look forward to coming back to after a busy day sightseeing - which is a great bonus! The little touches were welcome (although only one robe & one pair of slippers for two occupants was a little puzzling!) Turndown with chocalates was lovely touch.

The staff are amazing, everyone we saw from porters, front desk & concierge were extremely helpful (it was very helpful to find concierge could provide us with a European - US adaptor, another guest got a phone charger from a hugh box of chargers available! Great idea!)

The leisure centre was nice, swimming pool smallish but perfectly adequate.

Unfortunately we did not get the opportunity to eat or even have a drink at this lovely hotel although I have heard favourable reports though it can apparently be a tad expensive. In relation to the rate for the hotel, we got a very good rate from hotels.com so it was most definitely worth what we paid.

Lastly the location was also great, easy walking distance to all attractions & Boston certainly is a great place to walk around and admire.

To sum up I would definitely recommend this hotel - we really enjoyed our beautiful room & I hope all the hotel staff get the recognition that they deserve for a fantastic job!!!

  • Liked — Hotel decor, style & comfort. Helpful & pleasant, friendly staff
  • Disliked — Might be expensive depending on rate obtained at time of booking
  • Tips/Secrets — hotels.com - reasonable rates!
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 000385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2006

I don't know what people see in this hotel. It is very expensive (but then again, Boston is quite expensive). The rooms very bland, small bathroom. The service was slow and not accomodating, the staff not very friendly. Definitely not worth the price and I would not go back.

  • Stayed March 2006, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank franglais38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,949 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Property: The Langham, Boston
Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
#26 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,the Reserve, a refined champagne lounge which serves a continental breakfast selection and offers dining from dawn until dusk with a menu featuring soups, salads and light entrees, along with beer, wine, champagne and The Langham Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at The Langham, Boston enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing