We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our recent stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Boston
Ranked #18 of 86 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed December 12, 2013

The hotel was perfect. On arrival we were made to feel very welcome by all the staff we meet from the doorman to the receptionist who was most helpful with all the questions we asked. Our room was more than expected - so spacious, bright and cosy. Very clean and fresh. The food in the restaurants (3) was superb. The Belvere in reception did an excellent take out service of croissants and coffee and wonderful afternoon teas ( didn't have chance to sample on this occasion). If we were to return to Boston for another short break we would definitely book into The Langham even when one of our party took a tumble while out and about, especially David the concierge who enquired after them every day till we left. Many thanks to everyone who made our stay so memorable

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sandi3495
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Sandi3495,
Thank you for your review of your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us and found our accommodations clean and spacious, and the service from our colleagues welcoming. We are pleased that you enjoyed the food offering in our three restaurants, and especially enjoyed our To Go Breakfast in The Reserve. Thank you as well for mentioning our colleague David for his exceptional and caring service during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston soon.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,451)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,371 - 1,377 of 2,451 reviews

Reviewed December 11, 2013

The Langham is located just off the beaten path in downtown Boston, but still within walking distance of all the sites. (NOTE: off the beaten path referring to site-seeing. It is located in the heart of the business/financial/office area, so if you are visiting for work, this could be the perfect location). Boston Common is about 10min, North End is about 15-20 min, Quincy Market or the harbor only about 5-8 min. The concierge told us Fenway would be about a 30min walk, although we didn't try it and caught a train instead (nearest train stop is about 8-10min away). The Langham is not located directly next to any bustling nightlife or restaurants, so if that is your main reason for staying in Boston, there is likely a better option for you. If you're looking for unexpected quirks and a little luxury and a place to unwind, this might be your place. We loved the nightly turn-down service with chocolate, a handwritten copy of the next day's weather report, and rug and slippers laid out.

As far as the rooms go, amenities are all up-to-date (flat-screen tv/coffee pot/granite countertops/etc) while the decor is rather opulent and transports you to another time filled with elegance and glamour. While we didn't use the gym area, the pool and workout areas were very nice, clean, and up-to-date. We were able to get a discounted rate thru Priceline (about $190, so not much of a discount), but because of that had a room next to the service closet, and furthest from the elevators. Didn't bother us too much as we weren't there to spend a lot of time in the room, but if you're planning to search for a discounted rate, know that you may end up in a room lacking a view or great location within the hotel. All in all, we enjoyed our stay, and would consider staying at the Langham again next time we visit Boston.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a street view if you wish to catch a glimpse of Boston. Many of the rooms face t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OutsideTheBoxTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear OutsideTheBoxTravel,
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Langham, Boston. We are delighted that you found our accommodations comfortable and especially loved our nightly Turn Down Service. Furthermore, we are pleased to learn that you found our location within Downtown Boston to be convenient for walking and seeing the sights. We do have with 3 train stops nearby the hotel, with the closest being only a 5 minute walk away. Our Concierge are always more than happy to provide directions. Rooms booked through Priceline are for run of the house rooms, and we welcome you to book directly through our website for future stays. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to Boston.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2013

We've been staying here off and on for years, and will certainly return again. I actually booked four rooms for one night and a fifth for two. Everyone there was exceedingly patient, helpful, friendly, and professional. All four 'superior King' rooms we're very well received and if you can, book that 'Contempory Suite', a corner King bed and full living room suite, on the ninth floor for something very, very nice. Room Service was prompt and the Hotel's champagne is very good, well priced! Their rates are certainly competitive and of course you can walk anywhere in Boston. Try them.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tleff2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear tleff2007,
Thank you for your review of your stay with us at The Langham, Boston for your Anniversary. We were delighted to welcome you and your family back for such a special occasion. Thank you as well for complimenting our colleagues for their friendly and helpful service. Please know your comments have been shared with them. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston on your next visit to the city.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

From helping get our luggage, opening the lobby door on a regular basis, giving a directions with a map, suggesting the best way to get somewhere, and serving with a smile, The Langham was 1st class in service!! The room was beautiful and the mattress was very comfy. It was a short walk from the hotel to the "T" and then onto the Museum of Fine Arts. Being in the financial district meant peace and quiet! We enjoyed their complimentary room coffee and their bathrobes. All in all it was a wonderful stay and I would stay their again! We were lucky as to the price of the hotel because it was a business trip for my husband! He didn't get to enjoy as many of Boston's sites!

Room Tip: The higher rooms offer a nicer view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tlcaz1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear tlcaz1,
Thank you for your review of your stay at The Langham, Boston. We are delighted to learn that you and your husband had a memorable stay with us and found the service from our colleagues exceptional. Furthermore, we are pleased to read that you found our accommodations comfortable and our in room amenities enjoyable. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Really good hotel, great location, local to main tourist areas, all within walking distance, immediate area can be a little quiet midweek but there are good bars etc in the area. staff friendly and helpful. Would be happy to stay again, keep an eye out for specials on room rates.

Room Tip: Ask for park view and king upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colmodub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear Colmodub,
Thank you for your feedback of your stay at The Langham, Boston. We are delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our location within walking distance to local attractions ideally situated. Thank you as well for complimenting our colleagues for their friendly and helpful service. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston on your next visit to the city.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2013

This chain aims to be a high end luxury property. But the towels are too large, the decor too pink, and the turn down with (disposable) slippers by the bed too pretentious. That said, the rooms are comfortable, the Boston financial district location ideal, and the service generally good (tho the guy servicing the bag storage room didn't know how to direct me to the nearest subway stop to the airport - they must mainly attract a car-service crowd). Rooms also need electrical outlets accessible to the beds. So, quite nice with a few caveats.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UCLASteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2014

Dear UCLASteve,

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Langham, Boston. We are pleased to learn that you found our accommodations comfortable and our location in Downtown Boston ideal for your stay. Our Concierge has reviewed the T Stop locations with all of our Porters, and we greatly appreciate your feedback allowing us the opportunity to improve.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here while I was in Boston for the night and I have to say I was impressed with the Langham. The rooms were beautiful, and the service I received was excellent. I had a billing concern that was addressed almost instantly by reception with no hassle.

Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
Thank Patrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2013

Dear Patrick C,

Thank you for your review of your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am delighted that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our accommodations beautiful and the service you received excellent. I am pleased to hear that despite having a billing concern, our Front Desk colleagues handled this quickly and efficiently. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 86 in Boston
1,994 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
5,008 reviews
Back Bay
Lenox Hotel
Lenox Hotel
#6 of 86 in Boston
3,470 reviews
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#49 of 86 in Boston
8,247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
#26 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $209 - $610 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,The Reserve, boasts a polished aesthetic that reflects the elegance for which The Langham, Boston is known. Sip, savor and socialize, in the refined lounge serving inspiring cocktails and Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood daily. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at The Langham, Boston enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing