We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boston's Charm at it's Best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Boston
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Leominster, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
58 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Boston's Charm at it's Best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel is modern and classicat the same time. The staff are skilled and truly pleasant. We live in massachusetts but decided to stay in the city. The history of the building is very cool, the rooms are large, clean and updated with everything you need for technology. The b athrooms were spacious also. We used the gymn inthe morning, great cardio, weightlifting and pool.

The only area of improvement would be the valet service. It was really quite poor, it was a rainy weekend and we waited at least 20 minutes each time, regardless of time of day or calling ahead.

Room Tip: Go through hotwire, we paid a third of the price.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Cynthia M,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Langham during your visit to Boston. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found the accommodations spacious and clean. Thank you for complementing our colleagues on their skilled and pleasant service. Regarding your comment about the Valet Service, I have spoken with the head of the Service to ensure that issues like this do not reoccur. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston in the near future.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,328
    577
    152
    53
    36
See reviews for
397
859
84
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

I was in Boston visiting last Christmas. My hostess kicked me out and dumped me on the ferry to prepare for her family. I was told to not come back until dinner. Great move !
So, I had a couple of BM's on the ferry and walked historic Beacon Hill, etc. with no predetermined route. Am I ever happy I found this place. The lobby is amazing. I walked off the street and was transformed. Needing a pint I asked where the bar was. After finding it I was guided by a beautiful young lady up two sets of stairs, landing in between.
Look folks, I love dives and I love elegance provided there is atmosphere. The Langham is in its own way the nicest bar I've ever been in, period ! The space is enormous. i was very casual yet no eyebrows. I could smell money and the pea soup the gentlemen next to me were dining on. Kind of cool. Big money player's. I'm in the business like them and just observed. Bartender was great. I felt like a midget among giants which is not a bad thing since I'm 6' tall. Miss it and it's your problem.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear John G,

Thank you for your review of your visit to The Langham, Boston in December. I am delighted to read that you found our lobby amazing and enjoyed your time in our Bar and Lounge BOND. Thank you as well for mentioning that you feel it to be one of the “nicest bars” that you have been to. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham on your next visit to Boston

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
157 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2013

Stayed for 2 nights at this classic hotel.

Has the high end feel of a 4 Seasons or Ritz Carlton.

You feel welcome. Rooms are nicely decorated. Solid furniture.

Bell service was a bit of a mess, not very attentive.

Very friendly staff.

A very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelCQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear TravelCQ,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Boston. I am pleased that you found our accommodations and services enjoyable, and our colleagues friendly. I am disappointed to hear about the Bell Service and have spoken with our Head Concierge to ensure that all Bell staff follow The Langham Service standards. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oegstgeest, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
109 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Excellent place, nice rooms, great service, beautiful pool and gym. Very central location in the financial district. Highly recommended for a business trip. Not sure or I would choose it if traveling with my family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theo1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Dear Theo1965,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Langham, Boston. I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our central location in downtown Boston ideal. We would love the opportunity to welcome you back to The Langham with your family on your next visit to Boston.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

We spent two days celebrating our first anniversary and honeymoon at The Langham, and I'm so glad we did. The room was tastefully decorated and the king bed was incredibly comfortable. We were in Room 509 and had a beautiful view overlooking the park.

The service was impeccable. Shortly after checking in, we received complimentary lemonade and a chocolate tray. Later that night, we returned to roses and chocolate truffles on our bed. I really appreciated the turn down service, so that each night we returned to the room tidied, curtains closed, slippers waiting by the bed, and truffles and a weather report on the pillows. (Btw, the slippers and robes were so soft and comfortable.)

The location of the hotel was perfect. Being in the financial district allowed the block to be quiet at night, but within short walking distance to anything you want to do in Boston. I will definitely be returning.

Room Tip: Room 509 had a beautiful view overlooking the park and was incredibly quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Danielle W,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Langham, Boston to celebrate your honeymoon and first anniversary. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay with us that exceeded your expectations. I am pleased that you found the service provided by our colleagues to be impeccable, and that the little anniversary touches during Turn Down helped to make your stay with us that much more memorable. We look forward to welcoming you and your husband back to The Langham on your next visit to Boston.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wolcott, Connecticut
Level Contributor
155 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

We thought we would treat ourselves with a stay at the Langham. The hotel was beautiful and well kept. We did a last minute booking which worked out really well for us. The valet was very kind and helpful. The room itself was nothing special. A basic room isn't even a king sized bed. It's a full. And although the bathroom is spacious and the room is clean I would have loved a lare comfortable bed to curl up in. It was not impressed by what was there instead. The pool however is clean and if you used it during the middle of the week it might be empty like it was for us. Overall, I have to say that this is not one of my favorite Boston hotels and I probably won't be rushing back.

Room Tip: If you want more than a basic room probably don't use a site like hotwire or priceline.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JackAttack3209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear boofy1018,

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am pleased to read that you found our hotel beautiful and our accommodation spacious. I am disappointed however to read that the room category that you received was insufficient for your stay. The room category with the Queen Bed, however was what had been reserved via the third party website. Thank you again for taking the time to provide feedback of your stay.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
116 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013 via mobile

This hotel, housed in a historic building in the heart of the Financial District, is conveniently located for both tourist and business travel. It has a small but pleasant gym that features a pool, rare in Boston, and a spa. The recently-redone lobby is very stark and contemporary, very much at odds with the gracious old-school decor of the lodgings themselves. We found the bed comfortable and the room well-appointed. Unfortunately, and surprising for an older building, the walls are quite thin. At times I felt like I was in a college dorm, with music blaring from rooms and the next-door TV and conversations audible. That, unfortunately, will keep us from coming back. I spoke with the front desk on more than one occasion and was assured we'd been assigned one of the quietest rooms, so if you are sensitive to noise or seek peace and quiet, you may want to look elsewhere. Finally, we had one odd experience that contrasted badly with the generally high-level of service practiced by the hotel. We needed to change 2 dollar bills for 8 quarters to feed the meter (hint: we really regretted not having valet parked - the self park is easy so we did it, but the garage (not operated by the hotel), will fleece you. The front desk gentleman gave us 4 quarters and sent us off on an ultimately unsuccessful wild goose chase across the hotel for the other 4. Because it was 6 PM on a Saturday, we couldn't even go to a nearby business. It was very odd that the hotel could not and did not try to find a way to change a second dollar bill. I acknowledge that the need for change is diminishing generally, but I didn't consider it an outlandish request. But that was just a hiccup, if a notable one. But for the relatively thin walls, we would return (and we would valet park!).

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, June 4, 2013
Dear Heather086,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at The Langham, Boston. I am delighted to read that you found our accommodations comfortable and our location in the Financial District ideally suited for both leisure and business needs. I am saddened to read that your stay did not meet your expectations due to the noise disturbances from the neighboring rooms, which I apologize for. Your comment regarding the difficulty to receive change from the Front Desk Agent is not a common occurrence at The Langham and I can only offer my sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused to you. I have followed up with our Front Of House Manager to ensure that this does not occur further. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back to The Langham, Boston.

Sincerely,

Richard Bussiere
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,057 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Property: The Langham, Boston
Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,The Reserve, boasts a polished aesthetic that reflects the elegance for which The Langham, Boston is known. Sip, savor and socialize, in the refined lounge serving inspiring cocktails and Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood daily. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at The Langham, Boston enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing