We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Boston
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Melbourne
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights while on a coach tour, in a twin share bedroom. The room was quite large, and extremely well appointed. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the room was nice and quiet. The location is quite central, being near to all the tourist attractions. The staff went that extra bit further to make the stay comfortable; turn down service ( with chocolates!), slippers and mat laid out at the side of the bed, etc. the towels were full size, and fresh and fluffy. The buffet breakfast was plentiful, with a good range of selections.
A minor complaint only is the lack of free wifi in the hotel rooms; it's only available in the lobby area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melbourneman1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Melbourneman1949,

Thank you for your feedback of your recent stay at The Langham, during your visit to Boston. I am pleased to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you found our accommodations quiet and comfortable. Thank you as well for mentioning that you enjoyed the small extra touches for Turn down Service, and how our location is ideal for sightseeing. Thank you again for taking your time to review your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham, Boston in the near future.

Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,210 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,369
    593
    156
    54
    38
See reviews for
407
876
85
531
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Yorba Linda, California, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We flew in from California to attend our son's college graduation and stayed at The Langham. From the moment we got out of our taxi, the service was impeccable! From the doorman to the concierge, the housekeepers, the reservations personnel, and everyone in between, we were treated extremely well. We ordered room service one night and our dinner arrived in a timely manner and was delicious! Every evening, they provide a turndown service and give you a card with the next day's weather forecast and chocolates on your pillow; what a nice treat! The location is ideal, with a park just across the street and shops and food just a short walking distance away. We had a great time in the beautiful city of Boston, and I know that a big part of it was our very comfortable stay at this wonderful hotel. I strongly recommend it!

Room Tip: We had three rooms and two of them had Keurig coffee makers, while one had a regular drip coffee mak...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melinda G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Melinda G,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham during your visit to Boston for your son’s Graduation. I am delighted that your stay with us exceeded your expectations, and that you found our location and services enjoyable. Thank you as well for complimenting our colleagues for their exceptional service during your stay. Thank you again for your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you and your family to The Langham on your next visit to Boston.

Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
72 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013

I was in this hotel for a conference and really enjoyed the overall experience. Although set in the former Fed Reserve building, the hotel boasts just the right amount of contemporary chic with the grandiose structure. The front and back lobbies are airy and classy in a very chic way, with tufted lounge chairs and just the right amount of décor. Room is small, thankfully there is high ceiling as a relief. Linens and sheets are preciously soft and the hotel is generous with amenities and evening chocolate bits.
The best is the breakfast. It is one of the most sumptuous buffets I have had in my memory, with the freshest of everything, incredible variety and reasonable price. Too bad they have to wrap up around 10am, evening on a Saturday!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmw245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear jmw245,

Thank you for your kind review of your recent stay with us at The Langham during your visit to Boston. I am delighted that you found our hotel to be classy and chic and our in room amenities generous. Thank you as well for mentioning our breakfast buffet, and I am pleased to read that you think it is “the best”. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham on your next visit to Boson.

Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
56 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I am born and raised in Boston but stay at local hotels several times a year. I like to treat my city like tourist. I knew the Langham had a great location from my life-long years in the City but I was beyond impressed with the location at night. So close to all the great tourist attractions. If I were traveling here from out of town, I would definitely be happy with my selection. The hotel lobby was impressive and I literally gasped out loud upon entering. Our room was spacious and on a high floor (just as requested). Comfy beds and linens. Turn-down service was a special treat. I would absolutely be back as a mini-staycation and recommend to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iamamsterdam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear iamamsterdam,

Thank you for your feedback on your stay with us at The Langham. I am delighted to hear that you had an enjoyable stay with us and found our accommodations comfortable and our location ideal for sightseeing. I am happy to hear that you found our newly renovated lobby to be impressive. Thank you again for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham on your next mini-staycation in Boston.

Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

From the time we walked in, until the minute we were leaving, we were never wanting for anything at this hotel. The staff takes great care of you here. The lobby was immaculate, and they even had a welcome drink set up for guests. The room was nice and quiet, and with the curtains closed it was like a cave! Perfect for sleeping! My only complaint would be that the bed was a little hard, which didn't lead to the best nights sleep, but nothing worth changing rooms over. The pool & hot tub were nice amenities which we took advantage of and are easy to access as guests. There was also an expansive fitness center in the pool area.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doug O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Doug O,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay at The Langham, Boston. I am pleased to read that your stay exceeded your expectations and that our services along with our Pool and Spa were enjoyable. Thank as well for complimenting our hotel staff. We are constantly striving for service perfection so it is nice to see that in your case we achieved our goal. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham on your next visit to Boston.

Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I love this hotel!! The rooms are really comfortable from the room size to the fluffy towels to the posh bed to the temperature. Most hotels have "dead" air pumped into the rooms but my room at the Langham was the perfect temperature always, cooling down at night which made it feel fresh and very restful. The staff are very helpful and the food is excellent -- fabulous small plates in the bar and the best Greek yogurt with berries, homemade granola, honey and slivered mint for breakfast! Yum! The concierge recommended an excellent restaurant for dinner our first night a couple blocks away that we enjoyed so much we returned two nights in a row. Whenever I need to travel to Boston, I will return to the lovely Langham.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank epicureangal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear epicureangel,

Thank you for your flattering review! I am delighted to read that your stay exceeded your expectations and that our accommodations comfortable and our colleagues helpful. I am happy that you found the food excellent, and that you will be returning to The Langham on your next visit to Boston. Thank you for your feedback and we look forward tow welcoming you back soon.

Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
156 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

I just stayed at the Langham this week after being unable to get a reservation at the Ritz or the Four Seasons, two franchises that keep my hotel standards very high.

After reading the positive reviews, I booked two nights at the Langham for business. Here are the positives and negatives:

Positives:
* Quick and efficient checkout, courteous and very helpful staff
* Beautiful lobby and bars and restaurants
* Superb location in downtown Boston, very safe and close to great attractions
* Convenient to the financial district
* Comfortable beds

Negatives:
* The room I stayed in on the 8th floor was very disappointing
* The room had substantial wear and tear including loose fixtures and creaky furniture
* Top of the hotel is a glass pyramid, which brings a lot of light into the room. Drapery is awkward given 45 degree slanted windows in the room.
* Business center fees are a little ridiculous given cost of staying at the hotel (computers use credit card swipes only)

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Urbane_Biz_Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, May 31, 2013
Dear Hot_Squanto,

Thank you for your feedback of your stay at The Langham, Boston. I am pleased to read that you found our colleagues to be courteous and helpful and our lobby and restaurants beautiful. I am saddened however that you were disappointed by our business center fees. I will bring this to the attention of my operations team. Thank you for your review and I look forward to welcoming you back to The Langham on your next visit to Boston.

Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,851 reviews
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#11 of 83 in Boston
1,097 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Property: The Langham, Boston
Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#14 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,The Reserve, boasts a polished aesthetic that reflects the elegance for which The Langham, Boston is known. Sip, savor and socialize, in the refined lounge serving inspiring cocktails and Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood daily. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at The Langham, Boston enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing