We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful experience and personally upsetting”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Boston
Ranked #21 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Limerick, Ireland
Level Contributor
120 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“Dreadful experience and personally upsetting”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

My 1 night stay cost me 429dollars inclusive. I requested breakfast to be included at that price as it was a tues night and nov 13 th. A very haughty desk clerk absolutely refused my requuest. My room was for 2 people and as I was alone I thought a simple breakfast of any description would be granted but no. I was livid. I had 2 friends staying there who paid 700 dollars for 4 nights accommodation and felt my request was not unreasonable. I visited the concierges desk for directions to Macy's but he was immersed in the computer and did not lift his head so I started off and asked the first stranger. My experience of the Langham was a bitter one. I was denied an opportunity to meet the Manager ad the desk clerk said he was IT. I travel a lot and live outside my native country Ireland about 4 months a year. I have never experienced such negativity. I more than paid for a breakfast at 429 dollars

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gabriel31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear gabriel31,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay with us. As I believe I had the opportunity to previously communicate with you and to mention how sorry I was to read that your experience with our property was not a positive one. I certainly appreciate the fact that, nowadays, every traveler is looking for value and Langham Hotels do offer attractive value packages including breakfast and other amenities. However these have to be offered in a rational and consistent manner and could not simply be left to the discretion of our front office personnel. I sincerely regret that you did not have an opportunity to address your concern with me personally before your departure. I do hope we shall have the pleasure to welcoming you back in Boston in a not too distant future
Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,207 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,366
    593
    156
    54
    38
See reviews for
406
876
85
529
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
122 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
Reviewed November 22, 2012

My wife & I stayed here for 5 nights in October and were impressed from the moment we pulled up outside and were greeted by the doorman. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff and our room - a superior king - was a good size with all the usual amenities. We were on a B&B rate so had breafast in Cafe Fleuri - the first 3 days had a buffet option which was good, but on the other 2 it was a la carte only which was even better. The hotel's downtown location means it is close to most of the sights and it's only a 20 minute or so walk (or quick subway ride) to Back Bay.

We would certainly stay here next time we are in Boston.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alastair_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012

The staff are very welcoming. My baggage was lost and I needed to run and get some makeup, essentials, etc, to try to put myself together after a red-eye flight from LAX for a work meeting. They took care of bringing my things up, getting me what they could (toothbrush!), and helping me to find a CVS and clothing store that would be open on a Sunday morning before my work event so that I could make it work. The rooms are gorgeous and comfortable and I quite enjoyed the area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aja9p9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at the Langham for four days in November. The service was impeccable at every touch point and the staff went out of their way to make us feel welcome. The rooms were beautiful, although some are on the small side. The Bond lounge is a fantastic place for a drink. All in all I would highly recommend staying here. We've travelled extensively and the service here is among the best we've experienced.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Dear dtotravel,

Thank you for choosing The Langham during your most recent trip to Boston. I am delighted to read that our staff made you feel welcomed and also that you have enjoyed your time at Bond. We are constantly looking for ways to improve upon our guest’s experience and I am happy we were able to showcase this level of customer service during your stay. Thank you for your review and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Thank you,
Serge Denis
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, UK
Level Contributor
63 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed November 16, 2012

First of all, location. Its in the financial district, about 5 minutes walk from Quincy Market and the Government centre underground station. It is also easy to find from the main road running North to South next to the harbour.

Secondly, the staff. Helpful on checking in, and throughout the stay. They checked us onto our flights for us, and on checking out the following day not only stored our belongings until we needed them to go to the airport, but also offered us the use of the pool, leisure facilities and showers if we wanted to freshen up beforre our evening flight.

Thirdly, the room. I went for the basic room, which was anything but. It was in the central airwell, but this is so vast that it was still light and airy. There was a large and very comfortable bed, and tea and coffee making equipment. There was a very niceley designed bathroom.

We didn't eat at the hotel, but i did have a drink in the large bar, where they were preparing for a fashion show. I really enjoyed sitting down with a good drink watching the beautiful people, but I don't suppose that they put this show on every night!

I asked them to order a taxi to the airport, but for about $5 to $10 more, they got me a limmo, which was a really nice way to end the holiday.

Thanks to the excellent staff, and this will be my first choice in Boston in future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Elstonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
53 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I loved this hotel and very much appreciated the furniture and the beauty of it as well as a very set of attentive staff. In particular Yan Yan Chen the housekeeper was excellent and kept my room spotless every day.
The only thing that prevents me giving the highest rating to this hotel is the fact that the bathroom whilst super clean was quite small without a proper rainforest or walk in shower - I know many hotels in the US do not have that but I think an hotel charging over 250 bucks should have that to get an excellent rating. In addition i would expect room service to be 24 hours rather than till 11pm again for an excellent hotel, and I would also expect the internet to be better although the IT support were excellent.
Location is great, and there are always taxis outside. The tv is very good and i particularly appreciate the HBO plus additional HBO stations. room service was good, laundry was good, and the writing paper and pens etc were a delight as well as the books about the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CurlyHongKong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli, Libya
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The Hotel, is superb, very elegant, very well located, the services and the amenities are excellent. The staff very professional.
Due to its rank, the limousine courtesy services shall be taken into consideration and activated.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrancoTripoli_Libya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
XV Beacon
XV Beacon
#10 of 83 in Boston
1,097 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,850 reviews
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#26 of 83 in Boston
1,557 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Property: The Langham, Boston
Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#15 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,The Reserve, boasts a polished aesthetic that reflects the elegance for which The Langham, Boston is known. Sip, savor and socialize, in the refined lounge serving inspiring cocktails and Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood daily. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at The Langham, Boston enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing