We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Classic luxury in the perfect location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Langham, Boston

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Langham, Boston
Ranked #16 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
107 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Classic luxury in the perfect location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at The Langham Boston for 2 nights and were very pleased. The location downtown in the financial district simply can't be beat. Boston is a wonderful walking town. We had great weather and the location of the hotel allowed for us to literally walk everywhere. And it is a short 10 minute cab ride from the airport as well. The hotel was spotless. The service was luxurious and ample yet not too stuffy or in your face. The room was decorated in classic style and average size. But the high ceilings in the room made it feel large. My only regret is that I didn't ask for a view as there is a pretty park across the street. We look forward to returning ASAP!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildmanjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,301
    573
    152
    53
    35
See reviews for
386
854
81
497
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (344)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
101 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a night on a business trip to boston. It is a nice hotel in a different way. They have a lot of pink things, so the first impression is like being on a cheesy place. The lobby is nice and different from all the other places in the hotel. This is, the lobby has a modern architecture while the rest of the hotel as well as the rooms have more like a classical decoration (at some places, a bit saturated to my taste).
The rooms were spacious, clean and comfortable. They have a lo of toiletries, bathrobe, slippers and so on. You can tell that they care about details. Although the furniture looks kind of old, I would say is well maintained. You get HD TV with HBO so that is nice too.
The only thing I do not understand is why they keep the dirty carpet in the curve in front of the hotel. I guess they pretended to give the impression of you arriving to one of this grand hotels or to the academy awards, but what they got instead is more like entering an old IHOP in the highway.
Other than that, I guess it is well located. At least it was for us, all the offices I visited were 3 blocks away from the Langham.
I had the breakfast buffet and it was quite alright and the staff was friendly in general.
I could stay at this hotel another time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sheldon_region4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
62 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Spent 2 nights in Boston, attending a wedding. The Langham was terrible expensive, so we decided only one night here & one night away from Boston proper.

The Langham was beautiful. Our room was beautiful. The complimentary toiletries & slippers were wonderful. Great location to tourist sites in Boston. It was an enjoyble experience.

I'm glad we stayed the one night but two nights of such luxury wasn't necessary. I can now say, "I've been there... no big deal."

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 3Peggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here for three days as part of our trip and were delighted with this hotel. Firstly they upgraded us because we has booked with Trailfinders, so that was lovely. We were very central for all the attractions and eateries. The room was beautiful with very comfy beds and I wanted to bring the pillows home they were sooooo soft. Everything in the room was good. The only downside was you had to pay for wifi in the rooms. Having said that everything else was great. The reception people were lovely and friendly and very informative. I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Boston now. We will be back to the lovely Langham Hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

My daughter and I recently stayed for 3 nights in a double, double room. When we arrived we were given a warm welcome and shown to our room. It was better than expected,a large room with comfortable with cosy beds, crisp cotton sheets and almost everything we needed. We were provided with tea but only a filter machine so on asking for a kettle it was immediately sent up.
The hotel was undergoing a revamp at the entrance but this did not detract from the presentation.
We used the amazing bar on a couple of occasions and also ate here. A lovely hotel which I would go to again.

Room Tip: We were on the 7th floor and didn't have much of a view but we wanted quiet and we got that.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joolsps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darien, Connecticut
Level Contributor
354 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 274 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2012

A client placed me here on a recent business trip. Now I know why. This is a delightful property with a cordial staff and very nice rooms.

I was upgraded to a corner room with a large seating area, desk and chair. The wi-fi comes in two flavors, basic and fast... costly and expensive... but was somehow included in my room rate. The in-room amenities were extensive, including slippers and robe.

Hotel rates in Boston are obscene: $350 per night on average. But this hotel gives value for money.

I didn't try the restaurants, preferring to stroll over to Faneuil Hall / Quincy Market. See separate review of Durgin Park restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing Post Office Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cameron06820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

Very poor customer service. I will never go back there again and will not recommend it to anyone.

The front desk, reservation, and the hotel dining each acted as if they were an independent party. When there was a discrepancy in the pricing between the front desk and the hotel dinning, I was told I had to talk to the in-house dining manager because the front desk did not know how to handle it. When I was told a manager would call me back, no one ever did! When I called back the 3rd time to finally get hold of the reservation person I spoke to early, she kept me waiting for 21 minutes then told me she could not do anything because all the managers were in a meeting. Hello, from a customer point of view, you represent the hotel. It is ridiculous that I have to speak to multiple people on your end to report an issue. I finally gave up what I tried to argue with the hotel. I can't afford to waste time with them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
langhamboston, General Manager at The Langham, Boston, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear LM,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Langham Boston on your recent visit to Boston. I am sorry to read that you were dissatisfied with our customer service and would really be interested to learn what happened. I invite you to contact my office at your earliest convenience and hopefully I will be in a position to resolve the pricing issue with our restaurant. I am sorry that we were unable to resolve it to your satisfaction before you left our hotel and I do hope to hear back from you soon.

Your sincerely,
Serge Denis
Managing Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,811 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,443 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 6,949 reviews
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Property: The Langham, Boston
Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#11 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
#26 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,the Reserve, a refined champagne lounge which serves a continental breakfast selection and offers dining from dawn until dusk with a menu featuring soups, salads and light entrees, along with beer, wine, champagne and The Langham Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at The Langham, Boston enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing