We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oasis of tranquility”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Boston
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Malahide, County Dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Oasis of tranquility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2008

We stayed for 3 nights from 10 - 13th January 2008. What a lovely hotel. We arrived late on Thursday night. Check-In was swift and efficient. We were on the 8th Floor in a Double Superior Room. After we settled into our lovely room we went to the cocktail bar for drinks and something to eat. It was lovely. We returned on 2 other occasions. We were served by Nancy - a lovely lady who has been working in this hotel for 20+ years. Her knowledge of the history of the hotel and interest in her job was outstanding and it is people like Nancy that make this hotel a very personal experience. We had breakfast in the restaurant on 2 mornings. It is in a quiet location but within walking distance of most attractions. If you are staying in the hotel on a Sunday make sure to book your table for the Sunday Jazz Brunch. It is amazing - Oh My God - what a selection of top class food. We will definitely return to this hotel in the future.

  • Liked — Cleanliness, beds
  • Stayed January 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Maureen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,328
    577
    152
    53
    36
See reviews for
397
859
84
505
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fair Haven, New Jersey
Level Contributor
75 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

I have stayed at this hotel several times for business. My office is a short walk away so the location is very convenient.

The rooms are very nice - a tad small but clean and well-appointed. Room service menu is very good, as are the restaurants and the bar.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Tom Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2008

We loved the Langham. We had corresponded with the Dan at the Concierge desk for several weeks before our stay and he was wonderful.
The staff was amazing, never missing an opportunity to make sure that we were perfectly satisfied with our stay.
The room was a little on the small side but no detail was missed. The turn down service was very nice.
Late night room service was not only quick but very good.

The best part of our stay was the ability to just block out everything for a restful nights sleep. The drapes blocked out all light and the walls must be made of lead because we never heard a peep from the hallway or the rooms next to us.

We loved the Langham and will return.

  • Liked — The room was very quiet
  • Disliked — the elevators are quite slow and very small
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tinkerbelldee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
132 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 22, 2007

Hubby and I stayed at this hotel for 1 night for my birthday. We paid for the next cheapest room, but got upgraded to a junior suite, when my husband told them it was my birthday. The suite was wonderful. The bed was so comfortable. There were free slippers and other feebies. The room was very clean and very nice. The staff was very nice. Breakfast was included with our package and that was yummy. I can't really say anything bad. It was a wonderful stay for us.

  • Liked — room
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pmmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2007

This lovely historic hotel was wonderful for our stay. It had a quiet elegance without ever trying "too hard". The staff was very friendly and extra helpful. The room was very spacious for the two of us. I can not stress to you the comfort level of the bed. It was literally the best sleep that I have had in a hotel. We did feel very private and the hotel was quiet and calm. It was so nice with the bustle of the downtown right outside the front door.

The location was great and was easily in walking distance to practically anything. The only negative was the parking situation, but that seems to be pretty typical for downtown Boston. The doormen were very helpful about it and told us the most economical way to go. We will be back to Boston and will also return to the Langham. It was a lovely hotel.

  • Liked — The historic feel of the building in the heart of downtown Boston
  • Disliked — the money paid to park a vehicle in the parking garage
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank frito15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
113 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2007

A family of 4 from the UK with children aged 12 and 13 staying for the weekend...

This was booked as a deal with Trailfinders in October using BA flights.

We arrived late on the Friday night and check in was very easy. We had requested interconnecting rooms when we booked and this was arranged for us with no problems.

The rooms on the 5th flloor were great - one double room and one room with 2 queen size beds. Spacious and well equipped with everything you could want.

At the weekend there is a buffet breakfast which we had. The staff were fantastic - very friendly and welcoming especially as our 13 year old was classed as a 12 year for the sake of the bill. Plenty of choice and never ending coffee (the tea is just average).

We booked in for the Jazz Brunch on the Sunday which was delicious. Huge amounts of food and so much choice, we didn't eat for the rest of the day.

The swimming pool is currently undergoing a refit so we couldn't take a swim but that didn't really matter to us.

The hotel is in a good location and we could walk everywhere. We did take a taxi from the airport and back again and that only took about 15 mins..

We found all the staff to be extremely pleasant and helpful and ready to stop for a chat.

The hotel seemed to be quite empty at the weekend but on the Monday it had soon filled up with business customers.

To conclude - a great hotel in an historic building, all the staff were welcoming and friendly, a good location and we would love to go back.

  • Liked — l
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UKJosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2007

I visited the Langham with my bf for one night on November 14-15, for a job offer trip. The location was perfect, right down the street from One Int'l Place, where he had his meetings. The room was on the second floor and was comfortable, though nothing over the top.

The bellhops were kind of hit-or-miss. They graciously helped me figure out which cabs accepted the vouchers I had, however, when we arrived one of them pulled a backpack out of the trunk of our cab and placed it on the (wet) sidewalk. I wasn't too happy about that. Similarly, the concierge staff were great when I checked in a bag, but took a long time for no apparent reason to retrieve it when I returned.

I'd probably stay here again if I needed to be in this area of Boston.

  • Liked — Great location, comfy room
  • Disliked — Uneven service
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank silverthief2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,826 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#43 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,056 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Property: The Langham, Boston
Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,The Reserve, boasts a polished aesthetic that reflects the elegance for which The Langham, Boston is known. Sip, savor and socialize, in the refined lounge serving inspiring cocktails and Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood daily. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at The Langham, Boston enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing