We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for family reunion”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Langham, Boston
Ranked #20 of 83 Hotels in Boston
GreenLeadersBronze level
Toronto
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good hotel for family reunion”
Reviewed August 31, 2011

Family from across the US came to Boston and stayed over a long weekend at the Langham hotel. The service, amenities, and cleanliness were what one expects at this price, but the staff - all of the staff - provided that extra something that makes any hotel stay special. The close proximity to major Boston attractions, the North End, and the Inner Harbour made the Langham an ideal location for our family's gathering. The hotel's lobbies and bar were excellent places to meet and converse. My only complaint is the lack of clear explanation of what would and would not be included in our rate upon check in. There is no excuse in this day and age for a hotel to charge for WiFi. In a superior hotel like the Langham Boston, this just appears mean.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robidoux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,388
    596
    160
    54
    38
See reviews for
413
885
86
536
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

Deluxe room is very large with writing desk and two chairs at a table. Great LG HD TV with many cable stations. We loved that our linens were changed each day without the usual "save the environment" reminder. "SIX" pillows!! Robe and slippers. Staff service was sincere and friendly. And best of all, each morning, we had a sit-down made-to-order breakfast with linen napkins and friendly smiles. While waiting for Hurricane Irene to arrive, my United flight back home for Sunday was canceled. James, the night manager, gets huge kudos for getting me out of Boston early. Booked me a flight Saturday morning for departure that same afternoon. Thanks, James. I was a happy camper to be home before the storm hit Boston. Otherwise, I would have been stuck in Boston probably until Wednesday.

Room Tip: Go directly to Langham website and check out their deals. We stayed 4 nights, proximately 20% off...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mchu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2011

My wife and have just enjoyed three lovely nights at the langham Boston the hotel is clean and very comfortable bed only week point was the concierge Who did not know much about the city

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guygsimpson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Very nice hotel and the pool and health suite were first class but I suppose they should be it is quite expensive to stay here.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wiced
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

Like all good hotels in Boston the Langham is expensive. This hotel is excellent but it's daily rate is, in my view, overpriced. We were able to get 150 dollars a night off by booking early through the usual suspects and this made the value much more competitive. They had a charge of $12 per day or wifi, which is unnecessary these days in any hotel let alone such a pricey one. The room are small but comfortable and well furnished. The bed is awesome. The room had everything and while only seven or eight stories high the view the street allowed slot of natural light. The room where quiet and the hotel well placed. The concierge was excellent in all regards. The gym was excellent and the pool looked good. Simply an excellent all-round experience.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amber L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matawan, New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

While the lobby looks a bit dated, the room is beautiful. Very traditional but nice touches like slippers bedside, nice toiletries and lighting. I may be in a suite so that may affect that quality of the linens but very impressed.

Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank jenntish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Va
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

I stayed at the Langham for 12 nights. The hotel and staff were terrific. The hotel staff could not have been more courteous or helpful. The rooms were nice and the bed/sheets were all very comfortable. On my day of departure, I had a 6PM flight. I asked if I could have a late checkout....as in 3PM. Since they were full that night that was not possible. Instead, they did offer me the use of their gym so I could shower before my flight. In reality, thats all thats all that I needed. I did leave my luggage with the concierge. The only possible con is that the doors have a tendancy to shut loudly. So when the maids turn down your bed, deliver you water and chocolates, you do hear the doors closing - as well as the late night revelers..... I would defintely stay in this hotel again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbbyva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
1,862 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
7,401 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Property: The Langham, Boston
Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#13 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,The Reserve, boasts a polished aesthetic that reflects the elegance for which The Langham, Boston is known. Sip, savor and socialize, in the refined lounge serving inspiring cocktails and Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood daily. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at The Langham, Boston enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing