We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Service for Business and Family Vacation for 5”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Langham, Boston
Ranked #18 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Clemente, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great Service for Business and Family Vacation for 5”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2011

I had a business trip to Boston that I was able to bring my family along. We have three children, ages 5, 3 and 1. We stayed for 7 nights. We picked the hotel because of its location in the financial district while also being about less than a 1/2 mile to parks (one next door), transportation, Quincy Market, the wharf and attractions.

We had stayed at a Langham before with good service, but the Boston Langham brought it to another level for caring for my family. We came in on a red-eye flight and arrived very early with exhausted children. The staff accommodated us, letting us get into the room very early. They provided an upgraded suite with a beautiful view of Leventhal Park next door, which the kids really enjoyed. Their was a fresh fruit market and Starbucks nearby. They had good choices for breakfast for the whole family in the cafe.

From the concierges and front desk staff to the bell men and housekeeping staff along with the restaurant servers, they all went the extra mile in meeting our families needs and requests. They were very kind to our children and gave us excellent suggestions for transportation, getting around town and places to see and eat.

The lap pool while small in size, was perfect for my children and they had floating equipment for them as well. While we didn't make use of the spa services, the staff were helpful and the area was restful and inviting with a good exercise room.

For business or vacation, this is a great hotel for good service at a very reasonable value. We would definitely return on our next trip to Boston.

Room Tip: We found their best offer on the Langham.com website for an extended stay
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terabill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,327
    577
    152
    53
    36
See reviews for
397
859
84
504
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2011

First time in Boston and we loved it. Spent most of our time walking, always felt safe and the sites and history are incredible. This Hotel was in the perfect spot for walking to almost everything. Our room was great, not huge but very comfortable. The staff was top notch and will stay there again. One thing, when you book through most of these sites, we used booking.com, the final price is not the final price, make sure to add in 14.4% sales tax. Other than that stay there.!!!

Room Tip: Overall Great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaulD97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sharon, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
351 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2011

Spend a weekend here in the summer. Overall ambiance was very nice.
Rooms were fairly large for downtown Boston, clean, and well presented. Very old-world nice.
Room service costs were insane, even by the usual standards.
We've done the Chocolate Buffet before at Cafe Fleuri, which is simply fantastic and worth the cost every once in a blue moon.
Gym & pool/spa were very nice with modern equipment.
Location was easy walk to Fanuil Hall & North End (in Financial District)- excellent.
The bed was very comfortable & soft.
Bathrooms are clean & functional, but thats about it. Not quite up to the overall standard of the bedroom/hotel in general.
Service was excellent in general. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Maine
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2011

We booked this hotel using Hotwire.com and checked in to find out we had a room with a full size bed. Unacceptable at the high rate we paid (even for Hotwire). So we upgraded for $75/night to get a king size bed in what I thought was still a very small room. The hotel doesn't have many special or memorable things about it. Even down to the toiletries not being name brand. I expect more from hotels in the luxury category. Will say that the room service was quite good.

Room Tip: Don't book on Hotwire
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wagnerlk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
230 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2011

From the moment we arrived, the staff knew our names and were genuinely enthusiastic for us to enjoy our stay. I chose the Langham as I am an 1865 member & prepaid for the booking online. It was great. Mostly, I'd recommend the concierge staff who were incredibly knowledgeable - particularly Daniel - and who had wonderful suggestions for dinner and activities.Internet was free for me so that was good but I must mention the amazing bar/loung BOND - it was stunning! Now I look forward to the Langham in Hong Kong!

Room Tip: Prepay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KiraBeauty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2011

The staff were all very friendly and helpful and really went the extra mile to make our stay special. The room was very well presented and clean and they include some nice touches in the turn down service. The hotel bar/restaurant is also really nice. Definitely worth a visit especially on a Wednesday night when they have a live jazz evening.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kat008186356
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
59 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2011

I stayed at the Langham three days in May while attending a business conference at a large convention hotel down the street. I hate the impersonality of big convention hotels, and since the big hotel was booked solid, I was looking forward to the more intimate comfortable surroundings of a smaller place. The Langham did not disappoint.

The lobby was beautiful and set a terrific tone. In checking in, however, the rates listed on my registration documents were $20 to $30 higher than specified in my email confirmation sent several weeks earlier. I had to produce that document before they would reduce the rate to what had been agreed. That was distressing.

It was also disappointing that at an average nightly rate of nearly $300, the hotel still wanted to charge $15 a night for internet access. Fortunately, I didn't need it. I just used my smartphone instead.

Having said all of that, the room was beautiful, though the upper hallways seemed dated. The bed was comfortable, and the bathroom had a lot of luxury details, including an air tub and booties set out every evening next to the bed.

The location was excellent, just a five-minute walk from Quincy Market. The hotel also had an excellent restaurant on the premises, though the prices were way up there.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pfbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,825 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
Omni Parker House
Omni Parker House
#44 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 7,050 reviews
Downtown
Kimpton Nine Zero Hotel
Downtown
The Godfrey Hotel Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Langham, Boston? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Langham, Boston

Property: The Langham, Boston
Address: 250 Franklin St, Boston, MA 02110-2807
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Downtown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Boston
#10 Family Hotel in Boston
#12 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#14 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#16 Business Hotel in Boston
#27 Green Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Langham, Boston 4.5*
Number of rooms: 317
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a famous architectural landmark, The Langham, Boston offers a unique blend of history, charm and urban sophistication. The hotel is in Boston's financial district and within a 5 min walk to Faneuil Hall Marketplace. It is also steps away from the Boston Harbor, the North End, Boston's finest shopping district, major colleges and universities, theaters, and the Freedom Trail to name a few. The Langham, Boston is ideally located for both business and pleasure and offers three delectable dining options,The Reserve, boasts a polished aesthetic that reflects the elegance for which The Langham, Boston is known. Sip, savor and socialize, in the refined lounge serving inspiring cocktails and Afternoon Tea with Wedgwood daily. Bond is a premiere destination for cosmopolitan dining, cocktails and entertainment. Cafe Fleuri offers contemporary New England cuisine for full breakfast and Lunch (mon-fri)and our decadent Saturday Chocolate Bar and renowned Sunday Brunch. All guests at The Langham, Boston enjoy our signature Langham Turn Down service, plush robes and slippers, and full complimentary use of the fitness center and indoor heated pool and jacuzzi in our charming and intimate pool pavilion. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Priceline, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Langham, Boston reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Langham, Boston Hotel Boston
Langham Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing