We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Decent for what you pay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greater Boston YMCA

Greater Boston YMCA
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Boston
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Greater Boston YMCA
Save
You added Greater Boston YMCA to your Saves list
Ranked #15 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Boston
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Decent for what you pay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012

When we first arrived it reminds you like a school/college - there's wooden floor boards everywhere, a tiny jail like elevator and the decor is very bland. The room we got given was a great room, very spacious with separated rooms inside for four people. However, our friends were also in a room for four people, and theirs was a box - so it's luck of the draw! For what we paid, it was decent accomodation and did the job. The people on the front desk were very helpful and always cheery. Would stay here again.
Pros: safe area, nice room, friendly staff
Cons: no breakfast, location (it's slightly out the way - but the subway makes it very easy to get to)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fblock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    0
    3
    11
    4
    10
See reviews for
Families
0
4
6
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
South Island
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

No air con but you rent a fan for a deposit. The bed had a plastic covering, not very comfortable either. Quite noisy and a bit far out. But there is a train station near by. Personally I would pay more and stay elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L0ve2Travel11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

The room is tiny, and the only window we had was scary to use.
the bathroom are awful and crowded.
the atmosphere is nagitive. It isnt so close to anywhere in the city.

We left a day ahead of plan. just dont go there.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank em198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

This is very much a hostel, not a cheap hotel by any means. BUT, if a hostel with private rooms is what you're after - great! It's very clean, staff are friendly and it's well located. We booked a twin room and it was basically a single room with bunk beds. It is a little bit dated and the rooms are quite hot, but again, you're not paying hotel rates, you're paying hostel rates. Bathrooms are clean and functional, albeit communal. Always had hot water available for showers on the floor we were staying.

Generally it makes a great base for seeing Boston - 5 minutes walk has you in the prudential centre, 1 minute has you at the nearest T (northeastern university).

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deenie88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

I stayed at the YMCA for 3 nights and I have to say that it is not as bad as lot of people write and say.

My friend and I shared a room with a bunk bed. There was no Air Conditioner in the room wich was quite awful because it was very hot and stuffy. But we got a fan at the reception and after that it got better.
You share a bathroom with the other people living on your floor but the facilities are very clean (and yes the have warm water!).
The location is just prefect! The Northeastern T-Station is just a few steps away from the Hostel and you get a 10% off at the Dunkin Donuts on the opposite site of the street.
You have a free internet accsses in the Lobby and can use the Health&Welness center.
No it is not the Hilton but for a short trip it is very suitable: Close to the Center, not expensive, Clean, Friendly.
We would both recommend it but think of the fan in the summer!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ElizaDarcy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2012

The building is quite old (I am not sure but it might have been the first YMCA in the US). Therefore you can't expect too much. Our room was small and very basic, but clean. However, it reminds more to a prison cell than to a hostel. If this doesn't matter because you do not plan to spend much time in the room it is OK.
The staff is very friendly and the location central enough to walk everywhere. Also you can take the subway.
You need to have a LAN-cable to access the internet. If you do not have it you can get it in a market across the street (8 $). With the cable the internet access is fast.
Important to know: No parking provided and parking in Boston is expensive!

Stayed May 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Anja M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2012

The location is great. But you might not want to stay here, it's $50 a night and only cold showers on the floor where you actually sleep. You can use the gym to have a hot shower, but that's where the roaches come up through the drains. There are other places to stay on Huntington Ave.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank N_Panov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
The Midtown Hotel
The Midtown Hotel
#65 of 82 in Boston
3.5 of 5 stars 2,881 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Residence Inn Boston Back Bay/Fenway
Fenway / Kenmore
The Verb Hotel
The Verb Hotel
#17 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#12 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#6 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,919 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#22 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 2,856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Greater Boston YMCA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greater Boston YMCA

Property: Greater Boston YMCA
Address: 316 Huntington Ave, Boston, MA 02115-5019
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 180
Also Known As:
Greater Boston Ymca Hotel Boston
Ymca Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing