We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Back Bay Location”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 3, 2010

This is a beautiful older hotel with extremely high quality public spaces and good quality rooms. We got the room at a steeply discounted rate through Travelzoo, so for the $159 price, it was a seriously good bargain and a nice weekend getaway.

Pros: Copley Square area; within 2 blocks of a T stop; Newbury Street; safe area; short 10 minute walk to Boston Garden or Fenway with lots in between; helpful staff; clean rooms; quiet at night; great Irish pub at street level.

Cons: Very few. Beds were comfortable, but I've had better in cheaper hotels; room was clean, but not new; rooms are small, but normal for an inner city hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,676 - 2,682 of 3,412 reviews

Reviewed July 2, 2010

I took a lot of time to research hotels to stay at for our trip to Boston. I kept coming back to the Lennox as our hotel of choice. I am so glad that I did! Great service from the moment we walked into the lobby. Everyone was incredibly friendly and helpful. The room was beautiful and comfortable. I loved the historic atmosphere at the Lennox. I felt that I took a part of history with me in staying there. Also, we were so close to many shops and great restaurants. The location couldn't have been better! We will definitely stay at the Lennox again.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank Sabrina90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2010

An amazing hotel with great staff. We stayed 2 nights in a Jnr suite on the 11th floor (top) which had a very big room, king bed, sofa, working fireplace, luxury bathroom as well as the usual tv, wireless etc. We were made welcome from the outset and nothing was too much for them to make our stay perfect, including organising a great table at Top of the Hub restaurant at very short notice for our anniversary.

I will stay here every time I'm in Boston from now on.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pi314
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Boston was almost the end of our eight week, independent tour. We are Australians and travel a lot, and try to stay in four star hotels if they fall within our budget. The Lenox was a little more than our budget, but the reviews on Trip Adviser were fantastic. We decided to book. We had a fantastic time in a gorgeous hotel.

We arrived from New York on Amtrak and it is an easy walk to the Lenox. If you travel Amtrak and depart from a large station, the Red Caps provide an excellent service escorting you to the train and helping with luggage. (This is a tip worth remembering!)

The Lenox hotel has stairs at both enterances but staff are always there to assist. We booked a standard room and it was delightful and very comfortable for two adults. Extras, like free wifi, turn down service with Lindt chocolates, warm cookies in the lobby at about 5 o'clock, and the always-friendly staff, made our seven night stay a delight. The bathroom had a night light so there was no tripping-over in the dark! Many 'small details' turn a great hotel into an outstanding hotel.

If you stay multiple days buy a pass on the subway, the oldest in the USA, and get on and off at will. We recommend a visit to REI, an outdoor shop accessible by subway. The REI store is actually in the Harvard Medical School building.

Anyone interested in architecture only needs to step out of The Lenox and walk. Many beautiful old buildings have been turned into apartments.Check out the public library next door. There is a lovely new building but the beautiful old section, with its murals painted on walls and ceilings, is outstanging. Step out the front door of the Library and you can visit the magnificent church on the square.The stained glass windows are outstanding. Most have been restored and are stunning (unlike old windows in old churches around the world).

Shops, supermarket, cafes, everything is close. Our stay at The Lenox was a delight. Its location is wonderful but the caring, thoughtful staff make you feel like you are coming home every time you walk in.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OZCCMelbourneAu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We had a great experience at the Lenox Hotel. The room seemed VERY clean and the bed was VERY comfortable. Excellent location with many restaurants and shops and great people-watching. We ate lunch at the nearby Atlantic Fish Co. which was very reasonably prices and had wonderful food. One BIG tip--I googled "printable coupon" for the Prudential Center Garage and found one valid until 7/15 for $14 off my parking--brought it from $39 to $25--YEAH!

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrs0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2010

We stayed for an all too brief 2 nights recently and were very impressed with the whole package. Every one of the staff are polite and accomodating (especially Vincent who took our luggage and made a special effort to greet and help us every time we saw him). The hotel was quiet and very comfortable which given its excellent location in the heart of the action is quite an achievement. I would thoroughly recommend the Lenox to anybody visiting Boston.

Stayed: June 2010, traveled with friends
1  Thank MSLEastSussex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2010

This is a great place to stay to see a great city, very friendly and helpful staff and a fantastic location.

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank concerted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
1,354 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,962 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,520 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,865 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $184 - $689 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing