We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Who could ask for anything more”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 2, 2009

Stayed at the Lenox for four nights mid-October, couldn't have been more pleased with the stay. The hotel has the right combination of that old world charm (because of it's historic status) and modernization to the common areas and rooms themselves. The staff, everyone that we dealt with were first class and made us feel like we were VIPs. Being that this was our first trip to Boston the information, directions, recommendations were perfect for our needs. I can't say enough about how nice a property the Lenox is- great central location, great service, great "people" staff, The next time we visit Boston, the Lenox will be at the top of the list.

Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank EmptyNesterHawaii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,348)
There are newer reviews for Lenox Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,781 - 2,787 of 3,349 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2009

My daughter and I stayed one evening at The Lenox so she could attend an interview at Tufts University. I can't say enough about the friendly and helpful staff at this hotel. When we realized that an important item had not been packed, the concierge actually ran to the store for us in the pouring rain. To me that is exceptional service. Our room was quiet, clean and comfortable. If we need to travel to Boston in the future I would not hesitate to stay at the Lenox again. My only complaint is that we could only stay one night!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MollyMacLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2009

Stayed for 4 nights in Oct. Generally hotel is excellent.

Specifically,
Good: Room size, furnishings, bed size and comfort, en-suite. The window opens, so source of fresh air. In-room fridge. Staff very attentive (look out for 80-year old Aussie Jimmie in reception). Solas Irish pub; good Sam Adams and snacks. Quiet; very thick walls, carpeted corridors. Free WiFi. Free internet access in business centre. General old-fashioned ambience. Modern wide-screen TV.

Poor: No tea or coffee-making in the room; when it's 4am and you're wide awake because you're still on UK time, a cup of tea is sorely missed. Once the water wasn't hot, despite running the tap for 5 mins. Breakfast was pricy and not brilliant; go to Charley's on Newbury and Gloucester St instead.

But the positives far outweigh the negatives; this is a lovely old-fashioned hotel, and I'd recommend it to anyone unless you have mobility problems; both entrances require you to get up stairs.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alMossah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

There are a lot of postive things to say about our recent stay at the Lenox: very spacious room, very comfortable beds and very friendly staff. It was my son's 10th Birthday and they really made the return to the hotel that night rather special with a surprise in the room. He was amazed. Only negatives: a great lack of clothes storage for 4 people and for bathroom items and the bathroom is very small (you can't open the door if someone is standing at the sink.) The breakfasts are currently being served in the Irish Pub part of the hotel and this seemed very downmarket, considering the cost of breakfast in the hotel. I think this is due to some restaurant renovation at present though. We have left Boston and our current hotel is not a patch on The Lenox. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LilacT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

Went here as a group of 4 for father-in-laws birthday, fabulous location near to great shopping areas. The staff were always brilliant with any thing and at any time of the day or night, and they sent up a present of wine for the birthday boy!
The restaurant and bar were fabulous, and the irish bar had charm-we tried them all!
Free coffee and tea in the mornings too which was great!
Definitely recommend this hotel!
p.s. for a true-feel breakfast head to Trident books on Newbury Street!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pinkylala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2009

We chose this hotel on the basis of reviews and were not disappointed! Although booked into one of the smallest rooms, it was cosy and sufficient, and the hotel is close to all attractions and events.
The staff were all pleasant and in particular Tom the concierge and all the girls in the bar were friendly and helpful.
A highly enjoyable stay!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andisea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2009

the hotel and its staff are absolutely the best. The gardenia fragrance in the lobby is very pleasant. The rooms are spacious and very comfortable. The beds are plush and linens crisps. The location is very central within walking distance of exclusive shops and restaurants, Beacon hill and the Commons. The staff is super nice and helpful. Great hotel and a great value. We have recommended this hotel many times and everyone has had a wonderful experience

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank agoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,461 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,317 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 84 in Boston
3,297 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $185 - $666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing