We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Remarkable experience led by wonderful staff”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Stratford, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Remarkable experience led by wonderful staff”
Reviewed April 21, 2014

We spent two nights at the Lenox in February and are looking forward to a return visit. The location is central and accessible, the hotel is comfortable, and the staff make the difference. We were storm delayed in arriving, but from the moment we arrived, we knew we were in good hands. From an unrequested but much appreciated upgrade at check in, to courteous and helpful suggestions throughout our stay, to a very kind gift bag for our travel to New York, the people who work at The Lenox truly made our trip a great experience. Highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CanadaColls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,285 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,425
    654
    132
    52
    22
See reviews for
883
1,221
168
484
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights and only whished it could have been more, What a wonderful hotel. in a fantastic location.
exceptional service, extremely attentive staff nothing was too much trouble. from a bottle of champagne in our room to paying for our entrees and drinks at our anniversary meal at the atlantic fish co. they made us feel a million dollars.
luxury is the only word i can say about this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue-Mark6404
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fourmies, France
Level Contributor
55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014 via mobile

Very comfortable room, great location, great toiletries in bathroom, helpful staff. But, hardly any shelf/drawer space, and no tea/coffee making facilities in room. Location is in the middle of lots of shops and restaurants and walking distance from old historical Boston and the waterfront.

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Pogleswood6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London UK
Level Contributor
26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We only stayed a night and I wish it was longer...Firstly the location is excellent, you are next door to some of the best shopping, sights and tour bus stops and from the moment we walked in the door we felt the warm welcome. Everyone was really polite and helpful.The rooms aren't the most modern, but they are a good size and have character. There are a couple of bars downstairs which were lively and fun.
The hotel has a great feeling about it and if we visit Boston again (fantastic city by the way) then we will return to the Lenox. Recommended!

Room Tip: One with a street view....
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Turkeymil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2014 via mobile

When I travel on business I want practical functional hotel. When I'm paying I want quirky, boutique with functional too! Lenox looked ideal on website.

We stayed for 7 days in the run up to the first anniversary of the Boston marathon bombing. The hotel were clearly a big part of that day and they showed their colours on that day with polite organisation for the various security forces, yet still finding time to get us a free tea and coffee in the lobby and put our bags in storage.

It all started really well with a upgrade to a junior suite which was greatly appreciated when we arrived at 10pm at night with a 4yr old. Room was very good, bathroom as many say is a little compact but you'll get used to it. Everything just works and it's old fashioned with a 50in TV. No tea and coffee in the room meant a trip to reception in bath robes supplied - jury out on whether that's good idea.

Emily on reception was great at sorting anything out and advising on excursions. In fact all the staff in the hotel and restaurants were typically American helpful but not over sincere or looking for your dollars.

We ate in several times and always found a good choice of quality food. Even when we turned up with our own Cheerios for breakie.

Ideally placed for posh shops in Newbury street and Copley Mall. At the same time we walked all the way to the harbour several times to work off those breakfasts.

Would highly recommend if you want a quirky boutique with great service rather than the sterile chains nearby!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Maccadonut_68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2014

We stayed in the Lenox a couple of days ago - and it is definitely one of the best hotels I've stayed at in Boston. The location is excellent - with the Copley and Prudential Stations a couple of minutes walk away as well as the vast array of great restaurants in the immediate vicinity. However what sets this hotel apart is the amazing staff - from the swift check in, to the helpful and courteous doormen - and the lovely housekeeping staff who provided an excellent turndown service in the evening. Our room was spacious and was equipped with luxurious bathrobes, Kiehls products in the bathroom and wifi was also included in the rate. It was my first time here, and as a regular visitor to Boston I will be staying here from now on

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trekkerDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2014

Spent three nights at the Lenox Hotel in Boston travelling as a family of five. The hotel is a beautiful period building with larger than average rooms, which are well appointed. All staff were attentive, helpful and knowledgeable about the hotel and Boston in general. Our three boys shared a large corner room and had plenty of space. Only regret was not having more time to spend in the Lenox and Boston. Bar has plenty of atmosphere and a good selection.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and some have open fires.
See more room tips
Green Features: The Bar is a highlight especially after a hard days sight seeing.
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MarkFD2387HV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,362 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4,637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,262 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelPower, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing