We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back Bay Beauty”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed February 25, 2014

The Lenox has all the amenities of its larger neighbors but offers the ambience of a lovely country inn. Staff is exceptional and response was quick with any problem. Did I mention location? Walking distance from good restaurants (including hotel's own) as well as theater and shopping.

Room Tip: Higher floors are quieter. Stay away from elevator if possible.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank msnanalou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,353)
There are newer reviews for Lenox Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 3,353 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2014

we got upgraded to a Junior suite, when we booked. Have to say it was very nice, however the air con in the room kept tripping out which when freezing in December was not ideal and took a while of going back and forth to fix it which was a pain. Staff were excellent very friendly and helpful, even helping get tickets for the Nutcracker, stayed in the Colonnade the year before i think this just edges it for me

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We arrived in Boston on Feb 20th for the weekend to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We were recommended to The Lenox by a friend that always stays here and raves about how good this hotel is, and let me say we weren't disappointed at all. We checked in and found our way to the junior suite I had booked us into, the room was plenty big enough for the two of us and was super clean and tidy...I couldn't fault the room one bit. We stayed in room 1114 and was on the 11th and too floor of the hotel and the views were excellent.
In the haste of booking the trip and trying to make sure grandparents were ok looking after our two little ones whilst we went off and enjoyed ourselves I'd forgotten to even book a restaurant for our actual anniversary on the 21st. Not panicking (much) I made my way to concierge and was greeted by Nate, I explained to him what I wanted in the restaurant and he did the rest, the most helpful and friendly concierge that I've ever met. He ended up booking us Grill 23 and oh my, it was an awesome restaurant with steak and fish to die for. The Saturday night we went to Kings Lanes, which is a bowling alley come restaurant with an awesome atmosphere serving some of the best all American food in Boston. I just wanted to thank all the staff and Nate at The Lenox for making our first and definitely not last visit to Boston a memorable one, next time we come back we will be sure to stay there again and again and again. And just one more thing before I go, if you love shopping and more importantly love trainers then try Boston's best kept secret Bodega, it's at 6 Clearway Boston just off Massachusetts Ave, all I can say is just stand in front of the snapple machine and you'll soon be in trainer heaven. Enjoy.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MattR007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

On a quick trip through Boston and stayed here on the recommendation of a friend. Nice hotel. Very quiet. Room was a bit small but we were able to get everywhere real easily. I would stay here again. The room was tidy and the bathroom was VERY clean. My wife always checks this out!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RhettRussell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014 via mobile

I can't say enough about everything - room, staff, service. If there was a problem it was the staff being way to helpful. The Lenox will match any internet price. We were up-graded because they weren't full, a nice touch.

We will be back. I'm not loyal to hotels, I just go for price but this has changed with The Lenox.

Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank William C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

This hotel is AMAZING! The staff go above and beyond for each guest. I recently had to spend the night in the Back Bay due to a severe snow storm and could not have been more pleased with my experience at the Lenox. Everyone at the hotel made my over night experience feel more like a getaway rather than being stuck in a snowstorm. I also got to enjoy staying in one of the recently updated rooms and was very pleased with how great it looked!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AshleyM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2014

I researched hotels in Boston on Tripadvisor, and I am pleased to say that my fellow reviewers didn't let me down - this is a lovely hotel.

Check-In was efficient and polite, and within 5 minutes we were on our way to our room.

We had a lovely room on a fairly high floor, (it may even have been the top floor).
The room was a good size, and had everything we needed.
At check-in we were told that the rooms didn't have kettles and tea / coffee making facilities. This was not a problem for us, and in any case they had free tea & coffee in the lobby.

The bed was comfortable, and the room was pretty quiet.
The WiFi was free and pretty decent too.

We had a drink in the bar, but we didn't eat in the hotel's restaurant - City Table. Not because we didn't fancy it, more because we were only there together for 3 nights and had other plans.

My partner went back to London on an evening flight, and I stayed one more night as I was heading off to Austin the next morning. On that night I ate in the Solas Irish pub that is joined on to the hotel.
The service and atmosphere was great, and the food was lovely too.

There's lots to do in the surrounding area, and there are loads of restaurants and plenty of shopping options too.

For breakfast I recommend you stretch your legs and head down Newbury St, towards Massachusetts Av. Opposite a big old parking garage you will find Trident Books.
It's a great book store, but it also has a two great cafes - one on the 1st floor and one one the 2nd floor, (for us Brits that's one on the Ground floor and one on the 1st floor).

For a longer walk in the other direction search out the Union Oyster House, (it's on the Freedom trail). Hang around for a seat at the old horseshoe shaped bar, and have a dozen oysters and a beer. It's a fabulous place.

I love Boston, and I will definitely go again. I would be very happy to stay in the Lenox again when I do.....

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Travelling_Scot_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,322 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 84 in Boston
3,309 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $185 - $667 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing