We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Old Style Elegance” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Lenox Hotel to your Saves list
Lenox Hotel
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699 (Back Bay)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #8 of 82 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Aginbyte
Level Contributor
48 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Old Style Elegance”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Have been coming to this hotel for many years - even got married here! From the well-furnished and maintained rooms to the great Jimmy Fisher, the senior (and I mean senior) bellman who has worked for the hotel since the days before the current owners, the Saunders, bought it in 1960. Jimmy never forgets a face and even remembers what rooms we like.

Green Features: The Lenox was one of the first hotels that I saw that made attempts to be environmentally friendly. This was many years ago.
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,029 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,221
    614
    123
    50
    21
See reviews for
792
1,138
153
447
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (548)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lenox for four days and found it to be the ideal location for exploring Boston. We walked everywhere we wanted to go. The staff are warm and welcoming and helpful to a degree not experienced at other hotels. Our room was comfortable and the bed excellent. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 3 nights for business. Stepping in the lobby feels like you're transported back to an age of grand luxury, but without the pompous feel. You feel welcomed by the friendly and attentive front desk staff, quick to point out the many features of the hotel like free wi-fi, business center, and gym. The rooms are very large and were quite plush. I've stayed in similar luxury hotels, but the Lenox wins them all with their thoughtful unassuming service and beautiful, but comfortable accommodations. You are within walking distance to Boston Common and Boylston street shopping is right outside your door. The T stop is also one block from the hotel. I will be returning to the Lenox the next time I'm in Boston.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank liaspe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormond Beach, Florida
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

Whenever i stay in Boston i stay at the Lenox ,the location is perfect.
Once inside the hotel the the ambiance and friendly staff with al their smiles and greetings
make me feel at home.
Then that call you by name whenever they see you wow.
The rooms are super clean beds are perfect and all the toiletries are KIEHLS
If you forget anything at home such as shaving cream etc they will send it up no charge
I could go on and on "IT JUST DOESNT GET ANY BETTER
MR. GRILLO

Green Features: Great they are Green Leaders They recycle and have lower wattage lights but they are ample etc.
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kentucky
Level Contributor
67 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Wedding central nov 8-12. have never seen a hotel so devoted to service. all personnel go above and beyond. special kudos to kristie at concierge desk. arrived late afternoon tired and hungry. called and got a local favorite restaurant to seat us. Then actually TOOK us to restaurant to insure seated quickly. outstanding in every way. the only place to stay in back bay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank manup47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

If you go to Boston, please stay at the Lenox. The Hotel is gorgeous and the staff is very friendly. One of the best parts about this hotel is the location. You are literally steps away from good food and great shopping. Everyone from the bellhops to the desk clerks to the housekeeping staff, they can't get any nicer. You can tell they really like working there. When we come back to Boston, we will definitely stay at the Lenox.

Room Tip: We requested a room with a few of the Boston Marathon finish line.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

As other reviews have said, the staff at this hotel are extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them and they always greet you with a smile upon entering or leaving the hotel. The hotel itself is a solid 4 star in a great location, with plenty of bars, restaurants, shops etc within easy walking distance. Half hour walk down to the harbour area and Quincy Market. Beds are extremely comfy, plenty of toiletries in the bathrooms, which are replenished daily. We only ate breakfast in the hotel, but this was more than adequate and filled us up for a day of shopping in the Prudential Mall next door and the outlet village at Wrentham. All in all a great hotel and one I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: High corner rooms are the biggest with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buzbyago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#5 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,801 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#1 of 82 in Boston
4.5 of 5 stars 3,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Back Bay
Mandarin Oriental, Boston
Downtown
Nine Zero Hotel - a Kimpton Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-2699
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Copley Square - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Sabre Hospitality Solutions, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Odigeo, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing