We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff, Great Location”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 85 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 12, 2013

As other reviews have said, the staff at this hotel are extremely courteous, friendly and helpful. Nothing seems to be too much trouble for them and they always greet you with a smile upon entering or leaving the hotel. The hotel itself is a solid 4 star in a great location, with plenty of bars, restaurants, shops etc within easy walking distance. Half hour walk down to the harbour area and Quincy Market. Beds are extremely comfy, plenty of toiletries in the bathrooms, which are replenished daily. We only ate breakfast in the hotel, but this was more than adequate and filled us up for a day of shopping in the Prudential Mall next door and the outlet village at Wrentham. All in all a great hotel and one I wouldn't hesitate to recommend.

Room Tip: High corner rooms are the biggest with the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buzbyago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,450)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,372 - 1,378 of 3,450 reviews

Reviewed November 10, 2013

Second stay here at start of two week trip to USA. What can I say? Love it love it love it!!!
Fab location , near great shops and restaurants on fab Newbury street. Walking distance to Boston common and other attractions.
Had a junior suite this time with fireplace . Room spacious and very clean. Beds super comfy.
Service was great. Made to feel welcome by all staff . My six year old was given a lobster on arrival ( to add to his collection)
Ate breakfast in the restaurant . No complaints at all. Will always stay here when visiting Boston. Great hotel in a great city !

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank newyorkgal72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Loved this hotel. We were slightly taken aback when we arrived as the door staff were wearing casual clothes but realized quickly they were wearing Red Sox shirts during the World Series. In fact, all staff were similarly attired and we loved this. All staff were so helpful but especially the concierge who directed us to restaurants which fit our sometimes tough criteria. One evening, we happened to mention there was a birthday to celebrate and a lovely box of chocolates was waiting in our room when we returned later that evening. Our room was large and very nicely appointed. We were travelling with another couple and our rooms were across from each other and this worked wonderfully. Location in Boston was great. Don't know what else to say. We had a great time here and would certainly come back again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joyce B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

My second visit in just over a year and I was delighted to find exactly the level of service I remembered from my last visit. The warmth and helpfulness of the staff make staying at The Lenox such a pleasure. Unbelievably I was allocated the same room as on my last visit so I certainly felt "at home". Yes perhaps a refurbishment would be timely but everything was looking spotlessly clean.

The staff in City Table, at Reception and Concierge were so friendly I cannot praise them enough but a special mention for the bellhops who were fantastic in taking care of my not inconsiderable luggage and getting it loaded into my car when it came time to leave- one in particular (Chris?) was so helpful when a fault developed with my GPS and actually came in the car with me to direct me to the rental car company in the Prudential Centre where it was replaced and thus a disaster getting lost on an extensive trip around New England was avoided.

Thank you to everyone in The Lenox. Bravo!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank counterpoint
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed 4 nights here and felt at home. Like the other reviews I agree the hotel is a bit tired especially bathroom although the public Rest Rooms downstairs in the lobby are brilliant. Our sink was cracked and the bathroom needed a refurbishment. However the bedroom was fine, really big with 2 double beds. The lobby downstairs is lovely and we always had a huge welcome when returning after a day out in this lovely city. There is a lovely atmosphere in this hotel. The concierge and front desk staff are really helpful and friendly.
One little problem I had was that I ordered a cocktail which included a Grand mariner but because they had ran out of this they replaced it with Cointreau WITHOUT telling me!! No point, as I knew immediately there was something wrong with my drink. When I asked for a Grand Mariner on the rocks they admitted what they had done. I didn't want to spoil the evening by making a real fuss, but I should have been informed about the replacement and given a choice. By the way I would have chosen another cocktail not a cointreau based cocktail. The waitress left us alone after that because she was really guilty. Sorry no tip.
I would recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank suitcase0810
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Just stayed 2 nights at The Lenox...Nov 5 & 6. Everything was great. All the reviews were very accurate. This hotel is all about customer service and would surely recommend this hotel to anyone who is looking for a class act. The location is second to none. Had drinks at Solace and was very happy...had the best waitress at City table, her name was Genna. My wife and I will definately return.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nick124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

This is the second time I've stayed at this hotel and I would be happy to stay there again. Stayed for 4 nights in a Queen (corner) suite with my Mother at the end of June.

I chose this hotel as I was travelling with my mother (74) and it is very well placed to take a gentle stroll to most parts of Boston.

The staff and service could not be faulted for friendliness and professionalism but the rooms feel a little jaded. Room was comfortable and reasonably spacious but there was only one bedside table to share between both beds, no coffee making facilities, the bathroom felt dingy / old fashioned and the furniture was showing signs of wear n tear (and I don't mean in the antique sense).

At close to $500 a night I don't expect those issues, especially as there is no pool/spa etc.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AWanderingRonin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#11 of 85 in Boston
1,378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#10 of 85 in Boston
4,565 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#36 of 85 in Boston
2,889 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 85 in Boston
3,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $185 - $531 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing