We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Superb”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 20, 2013

For someone who has never been to Boston this is the perfect choice. The location right in the heart of Copley Square with its many restaurants and shopping venues is ideal. We spent 3 nights here and had a room on the top floor facing downtown and the John Hancock building. The room was spacious and very well appointed. The hotel staff could not have been any friendlier or more attentive. Any questions or problems we had were dealt with promptly and efficiently. The bed and bath linens were extremely comfortable and changed every day. This is an old property so the bathroom is on the small side. There was complimentary coffee and tea in the lobby from 6:30 to 11:00 every morning as well as complimentary bottled water in the room refrigerator 24/7.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjrabbit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,387)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,425 - 1,431 of 3,387 reviews

Reviewed August 19, 2013

I stayed here twice previous and I have just booked today a new trip for Christmas Holidays. I love this hotel staff are so nice and helpful, rooms are great and the location is superb central to everything can not wait to get back at Christmas. People say I should try a different hotel but just know what I am going to get with the Lenox

Room Tip: personally I rather a high room with a city view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank laulie2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice property. So nice we came back after staying here the last time we were in Boston. What happened? Have they done away with service elevators? Forgotten how to make coffee? The differences were so many they can't be noted in this small space. We booked a smaller room this time not just to save money but because this was a business trip, but only one bed stand? In lieu of saying x # sq FT, the comparison should have said you don't have a bath tub, only a shower in smaller room.To add to the disappointment was a sign on the building proudly proclaiming this to be one of the top 500 hotels in the world. I've stayed at some of those hotels. This is not in their league.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LuckySpivey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Had 2 rooms booked through booking.com. Excellent value and both rooms were superb. All 4 children slept in a superior room which was lovely. All of the staff we came into contact with were more than helpful. The whole place had a great ambience and justifiably deserves the label of the first boutique hotel. The location on Bolyston just off Copley Square was great. Easy to walk into Downtown through the parks but in the evening both Bolyston and Newbury are perfect streets for ambling and dining out. Great city and great hotel. Will definitely return!

Room Tip: The basic rooms are hardly basic! Compared to the superior room which we also had for the family it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2013

Was in Boston for 2 days and stayed at this hotel - front desk staff were great though restaurant staff probably not the most attentive for this type of hotel.
Rooms reasonable size and very clean.
Great neighbourhood and lots to do and eat in the area, staff were very helpful on where to shop and how to get about which was great,

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SarahA786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The hotel is near Copley Square and the Boston Public Library. The staff are very friendly and the service is very good. The hotel restaurant--City Table--has a nice breakfast at a reasonable price. Parking is $45 and is like most big cities. There are many restaurants nearby and the neighborhood is nice and includes the Prudential mall with many shops and restaurants.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tigrecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The Lenox is an old classic hotel in the middle of downtown Boston. It is in an excellent location. We were there for a wedding and stayed in a classic room, which was small but nicely appointed with updated fixtures, an updated bathroom and very nice amenities throughout. It is quiet, the beds and linens are very clean and comfortable, good free Wi-Fi, etc., everything you would expect from a classy, classic hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. There are a number of reasons I couldn't give it 5 stars: 1) a number of items which have not been sufficiently "updated," ie: the elevators are intolerably slow and to put an exclamation mark on that, the wedding started a half hour late when a number of the groomsman got stuck in the elevator and the fire department had to come and use the jaws of life to get them out, 2) I thought the "extras" were somewhat overpriced, ie: $45 for valet parking, and although the breakfasts were exceptional, they were very expensive, and 3) although the hotel claims to be "pet friendly," there is a $150 pet cleaning charge, regardless of whether the pet creates any extra cleaning (as compared with the Colonnade, for instance, around the corner, where we've stayed twice, which although a little more expensive, does not charge a pet cleaning fee). I didn't think a $150 cleaning fee is very "friendly." All in all, however, we found it very easy and comfortable.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank merlin321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,492 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 84 in Boston
3,351 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $182 - $678 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing