We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First Class Property”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I stayed at the Lenox with a friend for the night and it was perfect. The service was excellent and the location is walking distance from great shops and restaurants. The room was not big but beautifully appointed. We had room service for breakfast which was delivered on time and very good. I would definitely stay at The Lenox Hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ACJ611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,351)
There are newer reviews for Lenox Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,456 - 1,462 of 3,351 reviews

Reviewed July 1, 2013

It was our first trip to Boston and I had booked The Lenox based on reviews on TA. We were not disappointed as the location is perfect and the room was really comfortable and well equipped. The staff were so helpful and having coffee available from 6.30 each morning was great too.

We didn't use the restaurant or bar in the hotel but did have a few beers and some food in the Irish pub which is also part of the hotel. The beer was fine, the food acceptable but the service level was poor in comparison the rest of the hotel. There were plenty of staff but little enthusiasm to make you feel welcome or serve you. We used the entrance straight from the hotel and sat at an empty table. We were ignored until I got up to speak to a server. I was told we should have really come in from the street if we wanted to be served. The pub is part of the hotel but the attitude of staff really doesn't reflect how good the hotel is. If it wasn't for the poor service there, this review would certainly have been a 5.

Room Tip: If you have allergies, get a room on the 11th floor as it the rooms have air purifiers.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rooney-Swindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I stayed at The Lenox for 4 nights in January 2013 and had an amazing time. The location of this hotel is prime, especially if you're only visiting Boston for a few days. It's right next door to a great department store and has plenty of restaurants, shops and malls on it's doorstep. The rooms are of a good size and the lobby is lovely. It's easy to get a taxi from right outside, and there is a lovely Irish pub/restaurant called Solas right underneath the hotel. The staff are also super helpful and coffee/tea is served every morning in the lobby free of charge for hotel guests.
I would highly recommend staying at The Lenox if you plan on going to Boston!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WifeUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

My self husband and 3 friends stayed in the Lenox hotel in Nov 2012 as we had stayed previously in the Lenox we had no hesitation in staying again. The staff are so friendly from the door guys to the bellboys and the reception staff they all do a fab job and make you feel so welcome. The turn down service each evening is a delightful idea and they leave you some sweets on your pillow.There is a bar called the Solas and I feel this is the only negitave issue we had. The bar staff was so rude and if you were not eating there you could not sit at a table as they told us it was for people that were eating, So we finished our drinks and left. Do try the Lenox if you are thinking of going to Boston it is really super you will not be dissapointed.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mollie593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Lenox was absolutely wonderful. Every staff member was friendly and helpful, without exception. The service was impeccable. The bellman made helpful suggestions when he brought up our luggage. The doormen were always friendly and ready to talk sports, efficiently handle our bags, hail a taxi or give walking directions. The front desk staff never failed to greet us with a cheery "welcome back!" after a day of sightseeing. The concierge was very helpful with dining suggestions, driving directions, and anything else we needed. When we called the front desk asking for small items, they were delivered within minutes. The housekeeping staff was discreet (we almost never saw them), but our room was perfectly cleaned twice a day including evening turn down with delicious chocolates on the pillow.

The room was lovely. It was spotlessly clean and quite spacious. We had a walk-in closet with mirror which also worked well as a changing room since we had a family of four sharing one bathroom. The umbrella in the closet was a welcome perk on a rainy day.The beds were comfortable. Bed and bath linens were of high quality. The only quibble I can possibly think of is that the water pressure in the shower was weak, but this was a minor issue. Our room included a comfortable chair with ottoman, a desk with chair, a refrigerator, and plenty of storage space in the dresser and closet.

Public areas were also just perfect. There was a fire going in the lobby one rainly evening (even though it was June!), and on another evening we enjoyed delicious fresh lemonade and iced tea after returning from sightseeing in the afternoon. The exercise room was very nice, with a cooler full of complimentary water (also a mini frig in the room with the same complimentary water), even the lobby bathroom was nicely appointed and perfectly spotless.

You simply cannot go wrong with this hotel. The rooms are nice. It's in a great location. The staff and the attention to detail make it a star.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luckybeckyblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

I booked the Lenox for a one night stay with no great expectations but when my friends and I got there we were all pleasantly surprised. I would like to say that a group of young adults coming in for a 21st birthday would normally not be top priority of service at most four star hotels but the staff at The Lenox TRULY exceeded all expectations. Even offering a complimentary round of drinks at check in! The Junior suit we booked was HUGE for an city hotel room, and well worth the few extra bucks. We brought champagne with us and figure the hotel wouldn't be too thrilled when we asked for glasses but to the contrary they had them up in less than 5 minutes and a well wished happy birthday for my friend. I have been blessed to have the oportunity to travel a great deal and stay at some truly amazing/famous hotels thus far in life and without a doubt the Lenox has left the most lasting impression on me. Quick and to the point, I will never stay at another hotel in Boston unless the Lenox has no rooms which wouldn't surprise me with its impressive staff. Thanks for a great visit.

Room Tip: Spring for the Junior Suite, well worth the extra $
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bently231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013 via mobile

A charming historic hotel, nicely updated and close by great shopping, restaurants and parks. Our corner, 2 queen bed room had a sitting area, fireplace and since big tv. The Eco emphasis was great, for example, with free refills of filtered water. Nice, inviting bar & pub on site - great for when it's really cold. I will definitely try to stay here on our next trip. The staff were very friendly and, for a fee, I was able to bring my dog.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcallisterjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,318 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 84 in Boston
3,300 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $185 - $666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing