We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Classic Hotel in Back Bay”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Bucks County, PA
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Great Classic Hotel in Back Bay”
Reviewed May 5, 2013

My wife and I had a great time in Boston, centered at the Lenox in the heart of the Back Bay area where there's a lot going on. Terrific, friendly service. Nice tavern. The room décor is slightly dated but still attractive. We were upgraded at check-in since the hotel wasn't full. Compared to some of the nearby competition (e.g., the Fairmont), rates are a good value. The location is perfect - easy to walk from there to many Boston attractions. I would definitely revisit..

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Streamborne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,300 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,438
    655
    133
    52
    22
See reviews for
888
1,226
168
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Close to shopping, restaurants, the Common and Fenway. Wonderful and cheerful desk and concierge staff - only too happy to help. We would come back in a heartbeat to stay in this gem. There is a reason it has been rated high consistently.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jim K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frederick, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Our stay at the Lenox was outstanding. The entire staff was very friendly. No matter when or where you ran into a staff member, they always spoke to you and asked if you needed anything. The historic hotel atmosphere was a special treat. We love historic hotels vs. the big chains. The room was very well done, clean and had all the little extras ( truffles with your turn-down). The location was right near the subway, convenient for getting around Boston. The City Table restaurant right off the lobby was excellent and reasonably priced. We highly recommend the Lenox and would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

This is really the place to stay in Boston: great location, amazing rooms, the friendliest staff ever and great value for money, especially if you book early and pay in advance. We really fell in love with Boston and with this hotel. BOSTON STRONG!!!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LightMatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2013

We checked in only a few hours before the bombs exploded and were immediately impressed by the immaculate room, decor and service. Old world character with modern conveniences. Staff are amongst the friendliest & most helpful we've experienced anywhere in the world.

Passports & valuables were locked in the room safe while we went out for for lunch before unpacking. That was the last we saw of them for nearly 2 days after the hotel was evacuated & locked down. LIke several thousand others, we had to quickly scramble for an alternative room within walking distance. The unfavourable comparison was painfully apparent & made us wish we were at the Lenox even more.

Lenox management helpfully updated their status on Twitter & Facebook which allowed us to finally access our gear as soon as they were allowed to reopen. Staff couldn't have been more helpful & encouraged us to use the room at no charge for as long as we needed before the hotel locked down again for several days.

If we return to Boston again we won't need to search - it'll be the Lenox for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Globohiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We visit our son that was living and studying there, Boston is one of the cities that people if have the opportunity to travel North East USA, MUST visit. During our visit we stay at the Beautiful Lenox hotel, immediately you are at the lobby, you feel the sensation of the past, but a historical and glorious past, we recommend this hotel and Boston with it historical and cultural legacy, excellent food and more important, you will walk following steps of our patriots and persons that wrote part of our history. Also you will have the opportunity to choose between many tours or enjoy a walk in a beautiful, historic and modern City.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mario R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Petaluma, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at the Lenox during the marathon this year and was extremely impressed with their professionalism and culture. Staff was extremely friendly and made a point to remember and follow up on questions or inquiries you may of had. I had the concierge ask me three days later how my golf game was. Even when the hotel was shut down after the incident at the marathon, the Lenox staff still provided excellent help with getting our bags out of the hotel. All around superb service!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greg G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,405 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,696 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing