We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Why this place stands out !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #4 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level Contributor
194 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 260 helpful votes
“Why this place stands out !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

Among the many hotel-options in Boston, Hotel Lenox is a stand-out !

Lenox is not luxurious in the sense of large, marble bathrooms or plush furniture. It is luxurious in *comfort* and *service.*

Any question/issue that gets posed to the staff -- such as request for a particular room location, or from the dining room--gets met, with attentive and *friendly* service. For examples, in meals taken through room service, all sauces were placed "on the side" (as requested) -- and water bottles are refillable at a station in the hallway. Plus: food through room service is at reasonable charges, and delivered more promptly than any other place visited in years.

Other notables: a nice exercise facility exists, and complimentary chocolates are delivered to each room in the evening. Coffee/tea are also available in the lobby - but one improvement would be to have beverages available beyond 10:30 a.m.

Parking is not inexpensive - but this is true for almost anyplace in Boston - and at Lenox, the valet arrangement for cars is prompt.

The guests add to comfortable atmosphere: they are friendly and polite - and include business and leisure travelers, singles, couples, and families.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank triptraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,240 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,392
    646
    130
    51
    21
See reviews for
865
1,210
167
477
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (596)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Troy, Michigan, United States
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Lenox made us feel like home from the moment we arrived. We had a wonderful experience. The hotel is lovely, historic without being antiquated. Would definitely recommend it to others, and will stay again if we return to Boston.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I have stayed in the Lenox twice and really love this hotel. The location is great , in Back Bay surrounded by excellent restaurants ans shops. The foyer is scented with beautiful candles and as it was November the foyer was adorned with beautiful Christmas trees.
We had a juniour suite which had a great bathroom and couch, fridge etc.
We were treated so well by the staff and each person we encountered were so polite and extremely helpful.
Im really looking forward to mynet vist to the Lenox

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

We arrived from the UK feeling fairly tired to be greeted by very friendly staff and the offer of a complimentary drink. Both of us chose champagne, which was brought up to our room by the receptionist.

This was our first time to Boston and we were a little clueless in terms of where things were and what to do. Again the Concierge was very helpful, giving us advice on where to eat and makiing reservations, booking tickets for the theatre, whale watching etc. In particular Kelly really made our stay memorable, always with a smile on her face and a warm greeting. She also got us very good tables in the restaurants she booked for us.

Yes, the rooms are a little small, in particular the bathroom. But, having said this, the rooms are well furnished, clean, and have some real character, which is a lot more than can be said for many US hotels, that are purely functional and where you know the layout of the room even before you step through the door.

Overall a lovely hotel, but what really sets it apart are the staff, from the bell boy when you arrive to the receptionists when you check out.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Stayed at the Lenox for 2 weeks in March 2013 - attending a course in Boston. Pretty seamless stay over the period - the location is fantastic - close walk to the T and to commuter rail and an easy walk to downtown. Of course proximal to Back Bay shops, restaurants and nightlife.

Only minor issues were a little noise as I was placed in an adjoining room - but I asked to be moved and this was done efficiently and effectively, and a few issues with the plumbing - again sorted quickly and effectively.

On the restaurant side, I have to say that the fare was not that special - pretty standard actually, but there are lots of other options about given the centrality of the hotel.

2 weeks is a reasonable stay, and I have to say again that the stay was seamless, efficient and with little issues.

Room Tip: Ask for a non-adjoining room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristoff F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davis, CA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

We traveled to Boston in December as part of a college search trip with our 17 year old daughter. I picked the Lenox because of the great reviews, along with its location and room type options.

We arrived in the evening by cab, and were immediately swooped up into the friendliest, warmest environment ever. The lobby was so beautifully decorated for the holidays, we immediately felt better about not being at home for Christmas. The valet/bell staff were amazing - besides doing the basics, they engaged us in conversation and made us feel comfortable. Next thing you know, they were giving my daughter this cute little stuffed animal and asking us if we'd like any snacks in the room. We hesitated, but they insisted, and 10 minutes later the bellman was back with a gigantic basket filled with full size bags of chips and cookies, lovely chocolates, breakfast bars, gum, nuts, sodas and waters - all complimentary. Wow.

We stayed in a junior suite, which was spacious and perfect for the three of us. The beds were comfortable and we had a terrific view of where the Boston Marathon finishes annually. The front desk staff were also terrific, and we actually got quite a lot of their ideas and thoughts on colleges from them, as well. At the end of one of our college tour days, we got back in the evening and the valet offered to take our rental car back to return it for us -- now that's service!

The restaurant downstairs was quite good, as was their room service. The location is in the middle of anything you might want -- shops, restaurants, subway stations, the river, etc. When staying there, be sure to eat at the Atlantic Fish Company. It's nearly across the street, and is a fantastic restaurant - quality food, but a casual, fun environment.

Overall, we were wowed by their focus on service - but not in a stuffy, forced kind of way. In a real "like they mean it" kind of way. In fact, you will likely be greeted at some point by Jimmy - he's the 88 year old bellman who has worked at the Lenox for over 60 years! He is charming and witty -- and if he finds out you are going shopping he will likely pass you a handful of coupons for The Lord & Taylor right down the street.

We are from California, and don't go to Boston often...but if our daughter happens to end up going to college there, we know where we will stay every time. We have traveled to a lot of places, and I honestly can not think of another place with the same mix of service, quality, charm and friendliness. We can't wait to return!

Room Tip: Be sure to say hi to Jimmy - the 88 year old bellman that has worked there for over 60 years! He is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travel-LK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rutland, Vermont
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

A hotel with the grandeur of days past, but well kept! Rooms are well appointed, and very spacious bathroom! Great linens and toiletries. Great customer service, what more can I say? The restaurant, if you are there on a weekend, do try the buttermilk pancakes, just to die for..... mmmmm. Location is great, you step outside the door and you are in the middle of the city.
Will go back for sure.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ingridH11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,507 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,262 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,824 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing