We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just perfect”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Perth, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
“Just perfect”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

The Lenox Hotel left a lasting impression from the second we entered the lobby. The elegant furnishings, cosy open fire, traditional Christmas decorations & extremely polite staff set the scene for what was to be a truly memorable stay.

Our room was traditionally decorated & impeccably maintained with an extensive array of Aveda toiletries. Add to this the complimentary tea/coffee in the lobby each morning & cookies each evening - small touches which make a lasting impression - and you have the perfect pre-Christmas getaway.

The location in elegant and historic Back Bay is excellent - so central, surrounded by historical sites (the nearby public library with incredible frescoed ceiling is a must-see!), lovely shops & a tempting array of restaurants. It's also a stone's throw (10 minutes walk past lovely architecture) to Boston Common and the start of the Freedom Trail.

We would heartily recommend the Lenox to future travellers & will most definitely stay there again ourselves.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wingedfaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,462
    658
    133
    52
    22
See reviews for
900
1,238
168
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quakertown, Pa
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

We have long happy memories with the Lenox. Have been going there we were students at MIT and Wheelock . Used to go for the Sing Along with Gladys Trooper, in her long gown, elbow length gloves and diamond tiara.., Even the coat checker sang...
Now in 2013... we return as we do about once a year. Jimmy the bell hop is there in spring and the summer to welcome us back. The waiter in the breakfast room remembers us. The check in people are welcoming. The hotel is beautifully decorated with a glowing fireplace in the lobby,
welcome on those snowy days. It is wonderfully located, right in the middle of Copley Square,
and close to restaurants, shopping and the public library. Can't wait til next time.

Room Tip: The suites are special and have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kay W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palatine
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

This hotel experience was simply perfect. If that is enough for you to know, you can stop reading now, The rest of this review will detail the myriad ways that I loved my stay here.

Check-in was fast and so very welcoming. A surprise upgrade was the start to this great 2-night stay. A little map is included with the key card...I loved that touch. And we used the map. The room was a junior suite. Chandelier in the room. Working wood-burning fireplace. Comfy velvet sofa. This was a very inviting and cozy room. And we had a magnificent view of Boston, Water bottles in the fridge are complimentary. They have Kiehl toiletry products which I love. The beds were very comfortable.Turn down service included a chocolate bunny from the Lindt store downstairs. I love chocolate, thank you very much. There is an ipod dock in the room.

There is coffee and tea in the lobby in the morning, And iced tea and brownies in the evening. I was looking for the hot tea in the afternoon and was told that it is only offered mornings. I must have looked very disappointed because the front desk representative offered to send a pot to my room compliments of the hotel. Every opportunity possible the staff made gestures like this to make my stay special The staff here are true professionals.

We asked about using the fireplace. I could not figure out how to start it. Someone came with logs and started the fire. Crackling logs and soft firelight for the evening...blissful.

I used the fitness center. Good quality equipment just like at my fitness club at home.

This is a great back bay location..near the T stop and many restaurants. An easy walk to Newbury St. We used it for a college visit to Boston University.

I will stay here every time I come to Boston. Thank you Lenox staff for such a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terpwanabe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

From when we arrived to our departure the staff were great. Nothing was a problem. Clean rooms and buzzing atmosphere !!! And great value for money. Staff went that extra mile to help guests!!!. Room maids were great. Receptionists great. Great location. Will be visiting again

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank declan24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level 5 Contributor
90 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013

It had some good review so I thought why not. resturant has a party bar in the center meaning that no place in the resturant is quiet. Worst meal I have ever had in Boston. Small sliver of Salmon, over cooked grilled brussel sprouts really tough, and a puddle of parsnips. Well the wine was good.

Bathroom really small had to sit side saddle on the john. NO COFFEE MAKER, haven't seen that since Vegas.

Breakfast was as bad as dinner, only butter for the toast.

In the room you can hear every noise from rooms on each side and the hall. PArking $45.00 a night.

Staff was great and tried but in my opnion had nothing to work with.

Room Tip: Want a good room, try somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Walt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

Lovely comfy place. We just got back from our busy day and placed in the night stand was a Godiva Easter bunny! Wow!

Also, Softest towels ever!

Housekeeping and staff are so attentive, We were so thrilled with everything.
Great location, amazing restaurants.

Rooms near elevator a tiny bit noisey.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kmpayea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed March 27, 2013 via mobile

This is a lovely small hotel in a city where many hotels are massive . Not far from Newbury street and some great restaurants its the perfect spot for a weekend getaway . I have stayed here many times and will always go back !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KCfromKCNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,437 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,296 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,780 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Cancelon, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing