We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly Excellent”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Truly Excellent”
Reviewed March 26, 2013

My husband, preschooler, one-year-old and I just spent 4 nights at the Lenox Hotel in Boston and I am so impressed. And, I'm quite happy to write this glowing review.
Aesthetically I was really pleased with the common areas as well as our room. The hotel is beautifully decorated. The decor and furnishings are truly elegant without being fussy or looking mass produced. Our room, a junior suite, was large and airy and really used the space well so we were able to put our things out of the way and have time to hang out and relax (or play). We had a corner room with a terrific view. The beds were comfortable. The bathroom was attractive and functional.
I was also really impressed with housekeeping. The room was impeccably clean. I'm picky and have pretty bad allergies and I didn't notice any dirt or dust. Nor did I have to take an allergy pill any of the four nights.
And, that was just one example of the terrific service. Room service was amazingly quick to deliver morning coffee. The doormen cheerfully helped me navigate the steps with the stroller. Turn down service was charming. And little extras for the kids made us all feel good.
A few other nice surprises: the towels were actually soft and plush! The windows open to let in fresh air and the room was really quiet despite the hotel being quite busy.
It's a fabulous hotel and I hope to stay again very soon!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rkf211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,462
    658
    133
    52
    22
See reviews for
900
1,238
168
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (616)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
GA
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2013

The slogan for this hotel is GOOD TO GREAT, and the staff certainly knows how to do that.

The Lenox Hotel is in the heart of the Back Bay area, and is right in the middle of everything. If there is a place you wish to visit that outside of the Back Bay area, then there is a station for the "T" (subway transit system) less then a block away.

There is an attached restaurant that serves wonderful food.

I simply can't wait to stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LakeCountryGA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed March 24, 2013

Honestly can't say enought about this hotel, the nicest I've ever stayed in! Free upgrade on check in, fantastic spacious suite, lovely welcome basket with treats and souvenirs, friendliest staff I've ever come across, can't do enough to help, perfect location to explore Boston. It was out first time here and we stayed for 4 nights - we didnt want to leave :) would highly recomend this hotel, we got a fantastic rate direct with the hotel website and a tripadvisir code keep an eye out :)
Fitzpatricks
Ireland

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellygraphics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

Pros:
- Soft fluffy towels in rooms with chandeliers
- Kiehl's facial and bath products
- Free water
- Unjunked chocolate from daily turndown service
- 24 hr gym
- 24 hr taxi stand
- Complimentary Peet's coffee and tea in the morning, & even fruits
- Delicious chocolate cookie bites at night
- Staff who offer courteous and helpful service

Cons:
- If any, negligible repair work on my floor on the morning that I was checking out

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huangjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dothan, Alabama
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Lenox while on a long weekend in Boston. The location was great - only one block to the T. The little touches made the experience wonderful - from the complimentary water bottles to the rotation of chocolates during the turn down service. We were in a standard room that wasn't big but was very comfortable for two people. The room was beautiful - with crown molding, high ceilings, and a chandelier (actual light in a hotel room!). The staff was very friendly, helpful, and had good restaurant recommendations. We will definitely stays at the Lenox again!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bamagal89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

This is what you should expect from every four star hotel, but many fail to deliver. There are many choices in the area, but the Lenox is not another corporate giant and has a welcoming atmosphere.

This was a girl's trip and we had a corner junior suite. The room was an excellent size with a fireplace,dual aspect windows and good seating area. The turndown service was good- lovely chocs.

The bathroom was not huge and my only quibble was that when the shower shut off there was a resounding clunk. Not a problem, but occasionally you could here this in the adjoining bathroom. I say this only because some people are sensitive to such things. However, do stay here.

The staff make the hotel. We checked in late and the front desk were efficient. The concierge desk was excellent and everyone who worked there was very friendly.

You are a block from the subway, the city bus tours and great shopping on Newbury or in the next door mall. You can walk to the main sights as distances are not great. There are good dining options nearby.

This hotel has character and I will definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWALondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2013

Exceptional service and amentities made the Lenox the perfect hotel in Boston for us! Everyone was super friendly and accommodating. The gave our son a gift when we arrived. They served yummy cookies the first night when we were the there and if they were not out the staff would go in the back and get a plateful for our son! Served coffee and hot tea in the lobby each morning and had a cozy fire going as well. We stayed in junior suite and it was very spacious! Loved the complimentary bottled water and "organic" type chocolates at turn down. Plus Aveda products. City table served delicious food when we decided to not venture out. We went to all the best oyster restaurants in town and actually like City Table's clam chowder the best! Location was perfect! Heart of Back Bay, one block from Newbury, and a quick cab ride to all our other destinations. My only critique would be that the beds are a little hard (would offer pillow top mattresses), we could never get truely hot water (warm enough for a shower, but not a bath), and we rented a basic movie and the charge was $17....boo! Definitely would stay again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nashnative
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,438 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,296 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,780 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Agoda, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing