We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice hotel but the holiday was not the right time”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The Lenox is a lovely spot. A great location and the staff was outstanding. The junior suite was very nice. It made the room feel very large without a working fireplace. The bath was plenty big and very clean with turndown service and above average room service for the christmas holiday. We certainly would consider staying again. I recommend booking through the hotel direct as we ran into weather problems in the midwest and had to cut our stay short. Our third party, expedia, will not reimburse as we expected. I was, however, for those interested disappointed in both the city and hotel during the christmas holiday. The hotel was pretty much shut down as far as the restaurant and bars {both good when open} during xmas eve and xmas. The surrounding area was also pretty much shut down. We have been to many cities at christmas and certainly they were more traveler friendly. Once again we hope to visit at a more appropriate time.

Room Tip: I do reccomend the junior suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank robert a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,412)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,693 - 1,699 of 3,412 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

We stayed only for one night, but it was easy to see what motivates all these great reviews. Checking in and out in less than a couple minutes, a concierge that called the restaurant for us to tell them to hold our table because we were late (even though we had booked the restaurant through open table, days before), and very effective and friendly staff to carry the bags and call the taxi.
On top of the amazing service, all hotel is very nicely decorated. We were lucky enough to see he Christmas beautiful decoration, but everything is on the same top standar, from the hall to the room, including the lifts.
Definitely recommended to everyone visiting Boston!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GiovaniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012

I have stayed here twice in the past year. The first time I must have been upgraded to a better quality room. This last time I stayed I was in a deluxe double (room 309) and was very disappointed with the room. The beds were not the plush beds of most hotels at this time and the decor was dated and dark. I was disappointed because the last time I stayed the room was much larger and recently renovated. It is unfortunate because the location of the hotel is excellent. It is close to the "T" and all the advantages of staying in the Back Bay.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 67whynotgo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2012 via mobile

Have just spent a weekend at The Lenox. Simply faultless. Nothing else to say.Great rooms,wonderful staff,comfy bed,old world charm and just the perfect place for the weary traveller. Nothing is too much trouble and it was just so refreshing to see some old school values. We will definetly be back

3  Thank Lyall Z
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Elegant old world service and charm with a great location, nice restaurant, modern conveniences at a reasonable price. My room had a lovely chandelier instead of those dim lamps found in most hotels but with plenty of outlets for all my electronics, a large walk in closet, helpful concierge and bell caps, and wonderful cityscape view.. I was tempted to spend another night in Boston just to enjoy the hotel for another day!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ale091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Stayed for a weekend to catch the Patriots game, and can't say anything negative about this hotel. Location is perfect: lots of great restaurants and shopping within a couple of blocks, 10 minute walk to Boston Common, 2 minutes to the Back Bay station.

Concierge got us Pats train tickets in advance and went out of his way to make sure he kept us informed every step of the way - thanks Justin! Staff were great throughout, even gave us a beer while we waited for check in.

Rooms were beautifully appointed and we got one on the "pure" floor as a surprise bonus. Quiet, good-quality beds, nice TV, clean/modern bathroom. Couldn't ask for more.

Didn't eat in the restaurant so can't comment, but had drinks late in the bar and had a great time - place was busy all evening on a Sat night.

Will definitely make this our go-to place in Boston. Keep up the great work, whoever's in charge!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Real_FoodieToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 26, 2012

My husband and I spent two nights at the Lenox right before Christmas. It was one of the nicest hotel experiences we have had in a very long time and we travel frequently. From the moment we checked in the staff could not have been nicer! We had some trouble with our room (the fireplace wasn't working the first night) and the staff went above and beyond to make things right. They found us an equally spacious room with a working fireplace, provided us with two fabulous breakfasts and seemed to truly care about our stay. They recommended two of the best meals we have had in Boston and made us reservations for immediate seating on both nights. The room was clean, spacious, beyond comfortable and nothing compares to an in-room fireplace for romance. The lobby was cozy and comforting and every single staff member was friendly and accommodating. I cannot say enough about what a difference this makes when staying at a hotel. We have stayed in dozens of hotels in Boston and in some of the more expensive hotels the 'vibe' is so cool and stuffy that I would not return just for this reason. The location of hotel was perfect for walking around the city and though the T was a half a block away we enjoyed the walk to Faneuil Hall. For hotel snobs who prefer substance over cookie-cutter-every room looks the same hotels I would highly recommend. We will definitely stay here again!!!

Room Tip: spend the extra cash and get a room with a fireplace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AandE888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 84 in Boston
1,354 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#4 of 84 in Boston
4,962 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 84 in Boston
4,520 reviews
Back Bay
Taj Boston
Taj Boston
#34 of 84 in Boston
2,864 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $183 - $672 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing