We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing this time around”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 11, 2012 via mobile

I previously stayed at the Lenox last year on a business trip and gave it a glowing 5-star review. When it came to returning back this year (on a business trip again) I was looking forward to staying here again. However, I didn't such a great experience this time around. I'm not sure if this is a sign of standards slipping or if it means I just got lucky last time...

First up, the room was much, much smaller than before (despite it being the same type). I guess it's just the luck of the draw which one you get. I really could've done with more closet space - it was tiny - not even big enough to squeeze in my medium-sized suitcase. The bathroom was also small too and felt a bit claustrophobic.

Also I had a problem with the TV which was never really resolved. It wouldn't switch on at first, then when it did, it would intermittently come on and go off. I quickly reported and they sent up an engineer. After trying various things he eventually brought me a "new" TV which worked for the first evening, but the same problems returned the following evening. I didn't have an hour to wait to get it fixed again, plus I was only there for one more night, so I didn't report it. This wasn't such a big deal as I didn't spend that much time in the room but, to be honest, the whole thing felt a bit sloppy (especially since the engineer assured me it was a new TV).

Room service was another negative. Not a huge selection, way overpriced (I paid $30 for a sandwich and a beer) and when it arrived it was dry and rather tasteless. Needless to say I only ordered this one night... My advice would be to eat downstairs at the restaurant or the bar. The food is delicious!

The good points: the room was spotlessly clean, the toiletries (Aveda) were great, and the peanut M&Ms at turn-down and free coffee/tea in the lobby were nice touches.

Overall, it's still a good hotel. I was just let-down after having such an excellent stay last year. And it did make me consider whether I got lucky and it was just a one-off. For that reason, I don't think the Lenox would be my first choice again next time I'm in Boston.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KevHurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,467)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,772 - 1,778 of 3,467 reviews

Reviewed December 8, 2012

First I want to thank all the staff at The Lennox for making our short stay in Boston very memorable. From check-in to check-out everything was the best. We would definitely stay here on our next visit to Boston.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are larger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fldave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 8, 2012

The great reviews we had read of this hotel were true. Everyone was friendly so it had more of a feel of a small inn. The three restaurants, bars, were much more inviting than the typical hotel fare. We did not catch his name but the doorman( we think) guided us to two seats at the City Table bar( after asking a woman to move over one) and then told the bartender our drinks were on him.We go to Boston fairly often and the price would be the only thing to hold us back from staying at the Lenox on a regular basis.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

I hve recently returned from a third stay at The Lenox in Boston, Boston is a vibrant, interesting and civilised city and The Lenox is ideally positioned to enjoy every aspect of the place. We walked to the river, for a pleasant stroll before unpacking. There are two huge malls a few minutes walk from the hotel, Boston Library is almost next door, the subway station is closer still and there is a massive supermarket nearby too. The welcome upon arrival is warm; the staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly and can provide any information needed to enhance once's stay. The rooms are comfortable and the reception areas particularly pleasant. We will be back.

Room Tip: We have stayed in three different parts of the hotel and each has been equally convenient and comfor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sylvia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Wonderful, homey, warmly quaint hotel in the heart of Boston. The rooms are cozy, the size of the hotel is just right and the staff could not be more pleasant...from the doorman to the front desk folks to the cleaning staff. We were there in early December and the place was in a festive but not overwhelmingly kitsch holiday mood. I've been here before and will be back.

Room Tip: See if you can get a corner room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank davidinathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

We have just returned from 4 nights stay at this hotel. It s one of the best hotels we have stayed in. All the staff from the check in to the ladies who looked after our room were so friendly and helpful. Your bed is turned down every night and chocolates left on your pillow also 2 bottles of water left in your fridge every day. The City Bar in the hotel is excellent.the only negative s the bathroom is small but spotless so we could live with that. When we return to Boston we will be staying at the Lenox.By the way the Christmas decorations in the lobby were fabulous.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosemarydub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2012

Stayed here as part of a Red Sox package. The hotel is class from the front door all the way up. Welcoming greeting by staff. Helpful check in, beautifully appointed rooms. Ours had a fireplace and an awesome view of the Boston Marathon finish line. The room was gigantic, but welcoming. It is located in a beautiful part of town, walk to anywhere you'd like. I can certainly see why the Red Sox use this as part of a luxury package. We were not disappointed for a single second. First class all the way.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank aemt006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Loews Boston Hotel
Loews Boston Hotel
#15 of 86 in Boston
1,767 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#10 of 86 in Boston
1,395 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
5,005 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#17 of 86 in Boston
3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $217 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing