We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just love The Lenox”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Wilmington, Kent, UK
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Just love The Lenox”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

This was my husband and my third visit to The Lenox, and hopefully not the last. The Lenox is ideally situated, near tourist attractions, shops and good restaurants. Try walking down Exeter Street and along the Charles River, a good walk especially in the Fall. We usually stay in October but this year stayed in August, maybe a bit too hot for us.

Our room was, maybe, not the best we have had as far as where it was situated, we looked out onto a side road and wall, but none the less kept spotlessly clean. The bottles of water and chocolates in our room of an evening just add finishing touches. Free coffee and fruit in the morning is providing in the lobby, as well as juice and cookies or doughnuts in the afternoon. Haven't found that in other hotels we have stayed at.

Nothing is too much trouble for the staff at The Lenox. From the staff who help you carry your bags up the stairs from the main entrance in Exeter Street to the ladies who turn the bed down of a night time. We didn't see Jimmy this time, he was on holiday, but our thanks as always to Sid and to Krista Bernard who helped us out with a few queries.

Hopefully, will be back in October 2013, can't wait.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a bit of a view, we will next time we go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pickersgills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,266 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,412
    650
    130
    52
    22
See reviews for
874
1,218
167
483
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (603)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Our second stay at the Lenox. It is in the perfect location. Had no problems. Staff is friendly and helpful - got us and our friends on the same floor even though we had not initially requested it.

The is a historic hotel that has managed to stay true to the period but freshen things like the bathrooms and soft goods.

Once again really enjoyed our stay and can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cu1981fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is my first visit to Boston ever, and when I could not get a room at Hotel Nine Zero in downtown, I booked directly with Hotel Lenox for a whopping $300 a night! This place is too noisy for a luxury hotel, and doesn't deserve the rating or price. I arrived around 2 pm and found no ramp outside the front entrance (and no one in sight to help), so I had to juggle my luggage up the front steps. Please note: a ramp is ESSENTIAL here. Inside I was promptly asked by the manager if she could assist me. I told her that I was here to check in. My reservation was for a top or upper level room on the quiet side of the hotel. I said to the attendant that I would be happy to wait for such a room. A female supervisor interjected and assigned me an upper level room on the front of the hotel across from the elevators. I understand that the hotel business isn't easy, and perhaps this was meant to accomodate me as a customer, but the result was 'lost in translation'. I would rather have waited for a quiet room to be available on the quiet side street around the corner. Room is larger than expected and features a Pure Air Ionizer that appears to work OK. Management should be commended for the impeccable appearance and attention to detail. A wall clock in the lobby would be helpful.This won't be my only visit to Boston but I will not stay here the second time around. Business center not accessible after several separate attempts and even after getting a new key card from the front desk....perhaps there are special hours to use it...no problem with using the card to enter my room, though. Special 'Lenox Hotel scent' wafts through the air ducts and in the hallways. And yes, there is a barking dog next door, that sometimes pounces/thumps on the walls, but I can grin and bear it (!). Classic slamming doors are standard here, too.

Room Tip: If only someone had posted this tip before I arrived: Rooms 00 and 25 appear to special, at the end...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank N2Histry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Juan, Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The staff was frriendly and welcoming. They made me feel at home. They helped me coordinate my transportation needs to Cambridge and the airport with precision and courtesy. I was on time for all my appointments.
The hotel is clean and well- maintained. It is close to many restaurants and a huge, modern shopping center. I am partial to Max Brenner's chocolate, so it was an added bonus that it is located close to The Lenox. The Wi-Fi service was fast and reliable. It is located in a central, good neighborhood.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aquiles6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
184 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed at this grand old hotel in the Boylston area on a combined business & pleasure trip recently, and it was wonderful. The room was spacious and quiet and the location was perfect. Lots of interesting boutique shopping and a huge selection of restaurants in a 3-4 block radius from the hotel. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the cozy bar was a great place to unwind after a day at work or play. I will definitely be back.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VirtuallyAnywhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

The Lenox is stunning outside & inside! We had a junior suite which was a nice big room and also had a fireplace - was almost a shame it wasn't cold enough to enjoy this!
Staff were friendly and always willing to give us recommendations on where to go and what to do! Lovely old Australian bell boy (89 I think!) who had been working there for years, he added to the charm of the hotel perfectly!
Good location, easy walk to Newbury Street & Copley Square, also Prudential Centre for shopping.
Only slight complaint is the cost of parking, hadn't taken this into account when booking the hotel- an extra $43 per night so remember this if you're taking a car with you!
Overall would definately return and definately recommend to others.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EClark81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
127 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed October 7, 2012

After travelling around New England for a couple of weeks we had come to expect cheerful and positive hotel staff, however none of them were in the same league as those at the Lenox. In some places it seems they were just putting into practice what they had learned on a course, here you felt they actually meant it and took a personal pride in your well being. The room was very comfortable and well equipped. The desk chair was particularly comfortable, when I discovered the retail price on the Internet I knew why! I will have to be a very good boy for Santa to bring me one of those at Christmas.
It had been our plan to eat out whilst in Boston but for various reasons ended up in the hotel restaurant. Here we found the food to be imaginative, good and fairly priced.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank abcoldgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#3 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,566 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,315 reviews
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,240 reviews
Downtown
Boston Harbor Hotel
Boston Harbor Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing