We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outstanding”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Scotland
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

So, although we have been to Boston several times, this was our first time at the Lenox.
It was quite simply superb!
Firstly, I booked with the hotel direct, and got as good a deal as through some of the travel websites, I also took advantage of the hotel's "e upgrade" option and on arrival was duly upgraded to one of their "Pure" suites for a significant saving on the rack rate.
The suite itself was lovely, a very large bedroom with four poster bed, immaculate furnishings and a separate sitting area, dressing room,and a large bathroom with shower.
The room had a large screen TV with HD channels.
The room was on the top floor and very well insulated from noise, we did hear some noise in the corridor the first night, but nothing very bad.
The bed was extremely comfortable, and huge!, and came with plenty of pillows.
The dressing room had lots of hanging space, an iron and board and a fridge, which was kept stocked with complimentary spring water every day.
The bathroom was well equipped and a range of l'occitane products were provided, the shower was powerful and hot!
Much has been made in some reviews about the air-con and lack of coffee maker.
The air-con is perhaps slightly noisy, but you get used to it and it is a very effective system indeed!
Complimentary coffee and fruit ( and if you are early enough,donuts) are provided in the lobby, so it is no big deal to run downstairs and grab your morning coffee to take back to the room.
They hotel has a small but well equipped gym, with free water and headphones, a first for me!
The thing that elevates this hotel even further in my eyes is its staff, every single member of staff we spoke to was warm,friendly, helpful and sincere, this is an establishment that obviously knows how to recruit and train the right people!
There is nothing I could improve about the Lenox, it is old, but it has huge character and charm and is in a superb location,it was a pleasure to stay there.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the "e upgrade" its well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank privatewire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,459
    657
    133
    52
    22
See reviews for
897
1,237
168
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After over 30 years of international travel on business and pleasure I feel qualified to say that the frontdesk team at The Lenox is the best. Nowhere else have I struck such willing and genuine service and friendliness in regard to any need or enquiry. A simliar attitude infects the other staff. And no, it doesn't stop there, the rooms and amenities are excellent and the hotel could not be better located with the cafes and boutique stores of Newbury Street nearby.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Horkesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

We stayed here for our babymoon, New Years 2012. Superb customer service. Nice, clean accommodations and a fire in our fireplace each night. The restaurant was also very customer friendly. We had an incident at the restaurant, a drunk patron came in to eat and was loud and disruptive. They moved us immediately and comp'ed our dessert even though we were very happy with the swift change of seat and weren't expecting any more. Will definitely go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport, Rhode Island
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

From the moment I walked in The Lenox, I was immediately impressed with the ambiance. The staff was incredibly helpful. They were very professional but warm at the same time. I needed to find a barber shop and they really helped to find a convenient one at a moments notice. The location of the hotel is superb. I love the Back Bay and there are so many great things to do within walking distance to the hotel. The room and lobby space were great too. Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank free2sail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2012

Very well located near everything. Admirable staff quality. Nice rooms (ours was a junior suite, pretty nice, but also pricey). No breakfast is available or included and it is difficult to find good breakfast around. The construction site next door did not help and free parking is unavailable which does not suit the class of this hotel...

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KenyaTraveller70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

What a charming hotel this is. We were greeted by friendly and welcoming staff, offered a refreshment of our choice which was brought to the room with our bags. There was always fresh fruit on the reception desk and in the evenings a huge dish of fresh made cookies. The Concierge were both excellent people. They knew everything about Bay side area and more. We would like to have stayed longer and will definitely return on our next visit to Boston. Lots of good restaurants and shopping close by. Safe to walk around and enjoy the park and surrounding area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Delmont, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

This hotel is worth the price. Location, ambience and customer service! I loved the pillows on the bed, had a great sleep, no sore neck. I inquired about them and they were able to sell me 2 and ship them to my home! When checking out, one of our bar tabs wasn't on the final bill. The manager shrugged and said "it's complimentary." How nice was that! Waiter at City Table for breakfast in the AM was especially thoughtful and pleasant, chatting with us- not too much but just enough to make us remember our fine experience. Fantastic location and great people. If you are seeking a truly soundproof room for a good night's rest - this is the place. The Lenox is not to be passed up!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GitanaUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,433 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,295 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,771 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing