We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“PERFECT HOTEL FOR BOSTON”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“PERFECT HOTEL FOR BOSTON”
Reviewed December 29, 2011

We have stayed there for 6 days in December. The hotel is perfectly located in downtown Boston. The hotel is close to the subway station. The front desk could see at check inn that we had stayed before. So we had a warm welcome. We got a room on the top floor. The bed was excellent. Free internet. Also a perfect concierge service which can arrange almost everything for you. The staff is utmost friendly. The have also a nice cocktail bar. It feel really like you are staying in a high end hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jahoovdmeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,459
    657
    133
    52
    22
See reviews for
897
1,237
168
488
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (615)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Athlone
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Stayed here for 5 nights. The hotel was quite expensive but well worth it. Found the twin room very spacious and full of frills! There was certainly no expense spared when this hotel was renovated. Found the staff very friendly and helpful. I thought that the coffee in the morning a great touch. Also the turn down service with Lindt sweets was great. The location of the hotel was great. A lovely area in the heart of the city! Very very central. This hotel really exceeded my expectations and the staff really went that extra mile for the customer. Will most certainly stay here again. A model hotel!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank livezwinky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I stayed at the Lenox in August with my wife and 2 children. We booked 2 ajoining rooms. We arrived at reception quite late (at 11:30pm) but reception was well staffed, friendly and the bellman showed us to our room quickly.

The location is brilliant. The hotel itself is a great throwback to the hotels of old. The rooms were spacious and well furnished. The decor is good though not necessarily as upscale as some 5 star luxury hotels. What you do get is a friendly, spacious home away from home.

We were extemely pleased with the hotel and would definately stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ImTheDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, NC
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Really enjoyed our stay here. Location was easy walk to everything and T was close if you wanted. Service was exceptional. Only problem we had was AC was a little noisy and temperature inconsistent. Front desk comp'd us breakfast one day due to problems with AC.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biel, Switzerland
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2011

Spending Christmas shopping this year in Boston "The Lenox" was a perfect place to start all our Boston visits. It claims to be the original Boutique hotel and yes, we agree everything was very nicely decorated, the staff was extremely proactive, attentive, friendly and helpful. One has to recognize that this hotel is not the newest one anymore, so some things (especially in the room) are a bit worn. Also the rooms would not pass today's "boutique label test". Their decoration is ordinary, I'd even say a bit crammed. Less would be more. We had a normal room facing the back (no special views), which, depending on the day might suffer from noisy truck deliveries at 5:00 in the morning. The hotel's central location right behind the Boston Public Library, a block away from Newbury Street, half a block away from the T-Line, and many fine restaurants in walking distance makes it a great place to stay; and it earns them the 4th star! We certainly we'll come back one day and most likely check out one of their suites.

Room Tip: We assume that most rooms are quite sound-proof. However I'd choose next time probably a room fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spladi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

We had a great stop over with a super room is a great location, excellent friendly staff. Would stay again, reasonable value too

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tracey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Stayed here while I attended an environmental toxicology (SETAC) conference and my wife did an NSF workshop that both happened to be in Boston at the same time. Our stay was wonderful. Check-in was quick and easy (and they accomodated us two hours early). The room was fabulous with nice appointments, a great bathroom and a very luxurious bed. Our only negative was the view from our room, not bad but mostly of a roof top. Location was good with a fair amount of expensive and inexpensive dining within walking distance. Also had a Trader Joe's supermarket just 1.5 blocks away. I love to walk and Boston is definitely a walking town, with the start of the Freedom trail only about 6 blocks away, which I spent a day doing on foot. Overall, a wonderful experience I would love to repeat.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rgrippo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,433 reviews
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,295 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,771 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing