We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love The lenox”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed December 2, 2011

This was my second time staying at The Lenox, the rest of my family their first, and most definitely not the last. I booked 3 rooms for my family and stayed 3 nights, we all wished it had been for longer. The bedrooms were clean, it was good to have a couple of bottles of water each day put in the fridge without having to pay for. Of an evening the beds were turned down and a couple of Lindt chocolates left on the pillows, just adds that finishing touch to the day.

What can I say about the staff, so friendly and helpful. You walk into reception and straight away the staff talk and smile at you, nothing is too much bother for them. Jimmy and Sid, the bellmen were superb and kept us entertained at all times. Even when we were leaving for the airport the doorman didn't give up looking for a taxi for 5 of us, not always that easy to do, but he found one.

The Lenox is perfectly located for tourists. Not far from Copley, the Prudential Centre on the doorstep for shopping, Boston Common, the T and loads more. Also some great restaurants around. We went to The Atlantic Fish a couple of times and Stephanies on Newbury, all within 5 minutes of walking distance. We always had breakfast in the hotel, not a bad price. Coffee and bananas were available from the lobby in the morning and late afternoon juice and doughnuts, yet again making the finishing touches to a great hotel.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pickersgills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (3,470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,205 - 2,211 of 3,470 reviews

Reviewed December 1, 2011

The Lenox is always my first choice when in Boston. Excellent staff and unbeatable location.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dvaf16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2011

Three friends celebrating a big birthday - 3 days stay - loved the welcome, the staff could not have been more helpful. Nothing was too much trouble. Food and drink great, bedrooms clean and well maintained but this hotels greatest asset was its staff. From front of house to restaurant and bar all we got were smiling faces and friendly banter. Shopping within walking distance - would stay there again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mags H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

We stayed at the Lennox one evening after the Thanksgiving holiday. The hotel and location were wonderful, but what really made the Lennox stand out was the individual attention they paid to our 3 year old daughter. Upon check-in, one staff members handed my daughter a stuffed beaver. She was instantly in love. When we arrived at our room, there was another stuffed beaver with a bow, three coloring books, and crayons. Wow! I've never stayed at a hotel that took such amazing care of their youngest guests. Thank you Lennox!

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mlstrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

My husband and I recently stayed at the Lenox Hotel for a quick trip to the city. Our stay could not have been better. The location of this beautiful historic hotel is perfect-- within walking distance of many shops, restaurants, pubs, attractions, and fine dining (even in heels!) and also very close to the T. The hotel itself was beautifully decorated, keeping true to the historical elements while also adding subtle luxurious amenities and details. The staff was helpful and attentive (although we did miss turndown service). We will definitely stay at the Lennox again and in fact we can't wait!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie382
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The Lenox Hotel is situated RIGHT in the middle of downtown - a perfect location for the first timer to Boston. It is stately and charming, with a feel of Old World charm. I love this about hotels when on romantic trips with my husband, but the more formal nature of them give me reason to pause when traveling with kids. I can honestly say that after staying at The Lenox, I will no longer hold prejudice thinking that the nicer the hotel, the harder to bring children. I was wrong.

We were greeted by three different personnel, all in uniform, ready to park our car, grab our bags and lead us in. This ALWAYS freaks me out as I have kids to unload, bags to dig out, and a backseat of who knows what to clean up. The staff were relaxed and calming, easily taking bags out of my hands and caring for us without rushing us or being aggressive (have had this happen numerous times at other locations). We all walked into the hotel composed and ready, not scattered as you can be left feeling when hotel staff pushes you through the door.

After having scored a really nice room rate, and desperately wanting a quick getaway from home, our little family visited The Lenox Hotel in Boston, with no expectations going in. We showed up early and our girls were greeted with a complimentary stuffed animal, including an extra one for our niece (whom we decided to bring at the last minute). Are you kidding me?!? Our bags were tended to, and we were invited to walk about the city as the room was quickly prepared. They called us (about 15 min. later) to tell us they were ready.

I recommend The Lenox Hotel to anyone - couple or family - looking for the easiest of Boston getaways. We were steps to The Prudential Center and shopping, walking distance to Newbury St. and the Gardens. We had no agenda, so walking around and seeing new things was an easy enough experience. The Hotel breakfast was delicious and our girls loved getting treated to fancy dining-in room service. But the best part was that all of us - even our young girls (ages 7, 5 and 4) were treated like royalty. The staff went out of their way to chat with our little ladies, making them feel just as important as the grown-ups. As a parent that has experienced enough hotels that treat children as less than human, even before they open their mouths, it was not only refreshing but a blessing to be at The Lenox Hotel.

There were some discrepancies when it came to promised times as opposed to actual delivery ... but these things happen everywhere, and the staff at The Lenox more than made up for it in their attention to service on bigger ticket items. The Lenox Hotel knows how to make everyone feel relaxed and cared for, no matter how old. This is what luxury accomodations are all about. All hotels should take note.

Room Tip: Heard that there is a fireplace in some rooms (or room) but didn't ask for it. Our room overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mikko C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2011

First visit to Boston so it was a case of using recommendations. Brilliant choice. Very central to everything. Comfortable room, friendly staff and good food available. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We chose a room on a higher floor, so no street noise reached us. Great view though.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Valerie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Loews Boston Hotel
Loews Boston Hotel
#15 of 86 in Boston
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#11 of 86 in Boston
1,396 reviews
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#5 of 86 in Boston
5,008 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#16 of 86 in Boston
3,432 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $217 - $565 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing