We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“really lovely hotel”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #5 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed November 2, 2011

was thinking about changing to stay somewhere a bit more "mod" but glad I didn't stay anywhere else in boston. The hotel is perfectly located in the heart of trendy Back Bay and has a wonderful older style which is full of warmth-much of which comes from the very warm staff. Concierge Justin booked restaurants of my choice for each night prior to arrival-recommended because most good places are very busy. Room was very spacious and loved the walk in robe. Bathroom is not super modern but quite adequate. Went to the spa at Mandarin Oriental ( much recommended) so had a chance to eye off this very beautiful hotel- still glad to have stayed where I did- the human factor definitely makes this hotel work

Room Tip: high up to avoid noise
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lisavanessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,354)
There are newer reviews for Lenox Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,131 - 2,137 of 3,354 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

Hotel was in a great location for the nice shops of Newbury Street, restaurants etc but the other attractions were all in walking distance. Room immaculate, staff really helpful. Despite the location rooms were really quiet (we were on the 9th floor). Staff were very friendly and helpful. Only slight let down for us was breakfast - not that tasty and not that generous!

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKW101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2011

Terrific service by the staff, good size bathroom, room could have been a little larger, very clean and a really good feel to the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Histo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

Very nicely decorated hotel. Room (superior double-double) was very large, but bathroom was small. Lack of accessible sockets in the main room. Very, very clean, housekeepers obviously take a pride in their work. Turndown service is a nice touch. Friendly staff. Great location, near to good shops and restaurants. Only used the restaurant for breakfast, first time it was excellent, second time it was only so-so, staff didn't seem interested, the waitress finished a long conversation with another customer before she took our order. Food wasn't that great, but the first time the food was perfect and the staff (different ones) were efficient and welcoming. The only real problem was the fact that the walls are so thin you can hear everything in the next room. Most nights this was only tv and conversation which wasn't too bad but on our last night there were what sounded like a gang of teenagers partying in the room next door. They were shouting and screaming and playing loud music. The front desk were very good when we complained, they sent up someone immediately, who knocked on the door and told them to keep it down. Not sure if I would stay here again as it would be nice to stay in a different part of the city but I would recommend it if there was a cheap rate available.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KABLancs_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2011

The Lenox is my ONLY choice when visiting my daughter in Boston. Christopher Smith is the consumate Hotelier and should be commended on his guest engagement skills. I highly recommend the 11th floor and a corner room. The corner rooms have great views of the city and are away from the elevators and stairs so your stay is serene. Aveda bath amenities are great and the hepa filter system in the room is a huge benefit.

The location is perfect and central to everything Boston. I rented a car for the first time and the guys at the Valet desk were great. Front desk is always professional and friendly with my enjoyment their first priority.

The Lenox just keeps getting better with age.

Room Tip: Love 1123 - corner room with great views
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 60isthenew40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

If you want to stay at a non-generic hotel in a great, safe location, it's the Lenox. Room service is 24hr, food is great, and the ladies behind the front desk are beautiful. Friendly, comfortable beds, and the windows in the room actually open. You feel good staying there.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HankRearden29464
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2011

This was my second stay here at the Lenox. I was here for a reunion and stayed only one night. I was impressed with everone that worked here. Everyone was friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and well appointed. They are very "green" and even have a basket that has separate areas for recycling. I would definately stay here again (for longer than one night).

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dstinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 84 in Boston
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#7 of 84 in Boston
4,469 reviews
Back Bay
Colonnade Hotel
Colonnade Hotel
#18 of 84 in Boston
3,314 reviews
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#4 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $185 - $669 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing