We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great boutique hotel in the center of the city”
Review of Lenox Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lenox Hotel
Ranked #6 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Ankara, Turkey
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A great boutique hotel in the center of the city”
Reviewed August 18, 2011

I stayed in Lenox for 5 days and loved it so much. As it is in the center of Boston, I can easily walk most of the sight-seeing places. I especially liked the ancient theme of the hotel, it looks like a boutique hotel. If I go to Boston again, I prefer to stay in there again.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Whirling_Dervish_TR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,304 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,442
    655
    133
    52
    22
See reviews for
889
1,229
168
487
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (612)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

Very nice hotel, some parts feel a bit dated but the over all is so good this only adds to the charm of the hotel. The area around is very good, nice restaurants and shopping. The tram is also close by. We payed a small fortune for breakfast at the hotel restaurant, but it was good. Complementary wifi is also very much appreciated.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Urban-Sombrero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopkinton, MA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We were very pleased with the Lenox. I had arranged to stay one night for Brian's birthday. The staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't make dinner reservations ahead of time and the concierge was able to get us a seating at the Top of the Hub with a great window view. There was also a complimentary bottle of wine in our room with a birthday note. An awesome touch! The hotel is really quite nice but I think the service is what makes it all the better. The bar is a great place for pre-dinner cocktails and the appetizer were delicious. I would definitely recommend...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AdventureSeeking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Québec
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2011

We stayed at the Lenox for one night. The room was not ready so they stored our luggage. They managed to lose a suitcase that we found only just prior to our departure. At that moment, we had to wait a long time for the bell boy and the person who put the luggage in the car was rude.

The room was worn out, the bathroom tiny. No mini bar, no coffe maker, a very complicated air conditionning system. The furniture is very old and should be changed.

On the bright side,this hotel location is perfect and the concierge was polite and helpful.

Next time, I'll choose an hotel in about the same location but not the Lenox!

Room Tip: Ask about the room size before booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Voilure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Netherlands
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

We loved staying in The Lenox. We stayed there from July 20 to August 2 2011, so in the middle of the heatwave (over 100 degrees a few days).
The hotel has nice, big and clean room (superior king), Aveda bathroom products, the room was equiped with mostly everything you could need. And what wasn't there you could just aks for. The water in the hotel is extra filtered so for us it tasted just like the water we are used to in the Netherlands, that was super. Free wifi in the hotel was a big plus, it was quick and easy to connect to.

The staff is very friendly and will help you with whatever you need. They make you feel welcome and at home. You can tell personnel enjoys working there, they seem to have a lot of fun.

The hotellocation in Boston is excellent. Park, restaurants, shops, metro, major sights: everything you need and want in walking distance. Parking was expensive (43 dollar a day), but parking always is in big cities. Valet service at the hotel was friendly and quick.

We frequently visited the hotelrestaurant (City Table) for breakfast, good price / quality ratio. On weekends they also offered brunch and I had something with bananas and wafles, that was really excellent :-)).

We really enjoyed our time in The Lenox, Boston and its surrounding area, we definitely recommend staying here. We hope to visit Boston and The Lenox again some day!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Femke V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2011

Good Hotel with nice rooms. Lovely cocktails in the bar. Great location near subway but can also walk to all the major sights.
Good service. We ate in the restaurant on our first night and food was good.

Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank AnnieL79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

I usually do quite a bit of research before booking any hotel when I travel and my trip to Boston was no different. I was extremely happy with my choice to stay at the Lenox! It was so close to everything and I loved stepping out of the hotel and having everything right there! The room was a good size for me and had a small fridge which is always a bonus! There was a computer in the lobby for guests to use for free for a quick email check. The front desk was very helpful and friendly, as was the tour desk. They also allowed me to store my luggage for the day after checking out, since my flight was later in the afternoon. The area was very safe to walk around, even at night. I would stay here again definitely when I return to Boston!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hawaiiboundToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Back Bay
Fairmont Copley Plaza, Boston
Fenway / Kenmore
Hotel Commonwealth
Hotel Commonwealth
#8 of 83 in Boston
4,414 reviews
Fenway / Kenmore
Eliot Hotel
Eliot Hotel
#9 of 83 in Boston
1,275 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown
InterContinental Boston
Back Bay
Courtyard Boston Copley Square
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Seaport Boston Hotel
Seaport Boston Hotel
#2 of 83 in Boston
4,704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lenox Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lenox Hotel

Property: Lenox Hotel
Address: 61 Exeter Street at Boylston, Boston, MA 02116-3505
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston > Back Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Boston
#3 Family Hotel in Boston
#3 Romantic Hotel in Boston
#5 Luxury Hotel in Boston
#8 Business Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Lenox Hotel 4.5*
Number of rooms: 214
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a hallmark Back Bay location, The Lenox is a family-owned, boutique hotel that expertly melds its century-old story with modern, luxurious accommodations. Priding itself on personalized, friendly service, The Lenox is situated steps from Newbury Street, Copley Square, Fenway Park, and the Boston Common/Public Gardens - the perfect location for both business travelers and vacationers seeking an exceptional hotel experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lenox Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lenox Hotel Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing