We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NEVER AGAIN!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed November 11, 2010

I have nothing good to say about my 3 night stay here. The room was suppose to have two beds, which it did not. They couldn't change the room until the next day so I got to sleep on the floor as three people do not fit in one bed. Oh and the bars outside sounded like a re-enactment of Stomp outside my window till 4am.The next room did not have working heat!!!! but they were kind enough to give us a space heater. The next day we woke up to no hot water in the entire place. When i got my car from the valet service, the glove compartment and center console had been completely rummaged through and the contents all over my car!!! Do no book at this place ever!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank zannaoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJahayraSantiago, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2010

We do appreciate your valuable feedback and regret not being able to accommodate your room request unfortunately this is common when booking the discounted sites. We always suggest booking through the main hotel website, Thehotelboston.com in order to get the lowest rates while always receiving what you request for a room type. I personally remember speaking with you regarding the valet service and at last we spoke you were pleased with result of their service. I'm sorry if that is not longer the case. With regard to noise from the streets of Downtown Boston, we are undergoing a large window installation project which we hope will alleviate the issue.

Warmest Regards,
Jahayra Santiago
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (534)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

496 - 502 of 534 reviews

Reviewed October 25, 2010

We stayed at this hotel for several days in October. The room was clean and spacious, and the location seemed perfect. It is across the street from North Station and a trolley tour spot. The problem is that the hotel is surrounded by bars, and the windows do not block any noise whatsoever! Friday night - bar fights right outside, screaming, cursing, garbage trucks, etc all night long. Saturday night - a repeat of Friday night with the added adventure of a man's bloodcurdling scream followed by sirens and firetrucks outside. Although the hotel slightly discounted our room because of the noise, I would not recommend this hotel to anyone on a weekend night.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalmBlueOcean70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJahayraSantiago, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded October 27, 2010

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your recent stay with us at The Hotel at Boston Garden. We always appreciate and welcome guest reviews as it is critical to helping us provide the best service possible for our guest. With regards to your stay and comments, unfortunately you are correct that our property is in need of new windows to help tame down the busy city life noise. Our new window project is underway and scheduled to be completed by the New Year. Once the project is completed, we hope to see you again during your next visit to the Boston area. I'm sure you can agree at you can't find a better location than we have here at The Hotel at Boston Garden, across from the Boston Garden and down the street from both Faneuil Hall and the North End. We heard your comments and we are correcting the issue!
With regards to the hotel and its services, it’s great to hear that you found your room to be clean and the staff was professional.
Warmest Regards,
Jahayra Santiago, CHA
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2010

I offered Boston College football tickets to my boyfriend for his birthday. We flew from Montreal, Canada, to watch the game. When I booked the trip I figure we would easily find a hotel in Boston in October... I did not know that it was the weekend for the regatta Head of the Charles with thousands of people coming from all over the world to compete. The accommodation prices were crazy high and we had to settle for a $295 A NIGHT for The Hotel at Boston Garden which is in reality simply a Holiday Inn Express.

The hotel is situated in what looks like a very quiet street just across Boston Garden where the Boston Bruins and Celtics play. It is also just across a train station, the North Station, which is nice when you want to visit and use the very old subway.

The room (415) was a corner room which seemed nice at first, (4 windows, nice couch, flat screen tv, lots of light) was more like posing as a suite with a kitchenette (mini fridge - not minibar - kitchen sink, microwave, kitchen cabinets) but in fact the cabinets were totally empty, we could not even find or get a regular glass. But the beds were clean and very comfortable and the bathroom facilities were ok. We figured, it's gonna be fine.... Until the night comes.....

The very quiet street has in fact many bars, clubs and sports bars. On the Saturday night, between 1:30 to 2:30 a.m., it was literally impossible to sleep since everybody was exiting the bars and having lots of fun discussing it on the street. There was no noise isolation at all... And alcohol being involved, it quickly became fights, people yelling at each other, calling names and using the F word... Classy... I know, you would say, it was a game night. Its probably not like that every night... Well, on the night before on Friday, the Bruins were not playing and we had even worst fights at 1:00 and 2:00 a.m. At one point, the fight was so intense, I thought we would hear gun shots...

So, if you are a light sleeper... or a nervous sleeper, forget about this place and invest a little bit more to sleep in Beacon Hill where it actually seemed nice, romantic and... quiet! However, if you are a hockey fan who likes to party, this is the place for you!

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JulieG82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hiexbostongarden, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2010

Thank you for taking the time to submit your review and I would like to apologize for the noise inconvenience you experienced during your stay. My entire hotel team is committed to providing our guests with outstanding customer service along with clean and inviting guest rooms every day. On those infrequent times when a guest has a less than outstanding stay, we appreciate the feedback and quickly address the issue at hand in order to correct it from happening again. We take great pride in our hotel and appreciate the many positive comments we receive daily from our valued guests on the cleanliness throughout the entire hotel along with the friendly and welcoming manner they experienced with all our staff. We are in the process of installing all new windows on the hotel to help avoid future noise issues. We do hope that should your travel plans bring you back to the Boston area, you will reconsider staying with us.

Warmest Regards,
Jahayra Santiago, CHA

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DidierM4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: June 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Simonmorane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: March 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank andreasisti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: February 2017, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Bipeuh R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#31 of 84 in Boston
1,420 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#20 of 84 in Boston
1,066 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlestown
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden

Address: 280 Friend St, Boston, MA 02114-1801 (Formerly The Hotel at Boston Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $230 - $666 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi and hot breakfast. Located across from North Station and the TD Garden making us the closest hotel to the Garden, home to both the Celtics and the Bruins. Boston is a walking city and the hotel is central to all the historic neighborhoods and attractions you want to visit. The hotel is in walking distance to many of Boston’s historic sites, Faneuil Hall, Paul Reveres house, Boston Harbor, Beacon Hill and the Freedom Trail. With many great restaurants and attractions also in easy reach this hotel in Boston’s North End is an ideal location for your next visit.Business travelers appreciate that the hotel is near the financial center, the Government Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilitation Center and Massachusetts Eye Ear Center. Boston is home of many of the world’s finest colleges and the hotel is located in within minutes of many of them; Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, MIT and Boston College.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston Garden has an unbeatable location with valet parking and complimentary hot breakfast, 24-hour fitness room, business center and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, IHG, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Boston Garden
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Holiday Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing