We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredibly Friendly and Professional Staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Ranked #75 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed January 9, 2014

The staff from the front desk to maintenance and housekeeping were top notch and very friendly. I look forward to staying there anytime I'm near the area. super job everyone keep up the great work! See you again soon

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moonshadow143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Thank you Moonshadow143 for your fantastic comments regarding the staff! I will be sure to share this with the team and commend them for a job well done! We hope to see you soon. Take care and Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (545)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

335 - 341 of 545 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

GOOD:
We booked this hotel as we wanted a place near the TD Garden to stay after we went to a Celtics game. It’s only a block away and is a very close and convenient location. Because I had read so many reviews that stated to ask for a room away from the street because of the street noise, we had a view of brick walls etc. but there’s not much else to see. The room was clean and not too bad considering the cost and we had a small kitchen with a sink, a frig and a microwave. Bathroom was clean and the bed was comfortable. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The breakfast in the am was a typical express breakfast but more than your usual continental as it had hot items also. The North End, Faneuil Hall/Quincy Market, are all very close and within short walking distance as well as plenty of bars and restaurants; pizza, coffee and a convenience store.
BAD:
Unless you luck out and can find a spot on the street which is highly unlikely, you’ll have to use the valet parking at 30 bucks a pop or park it somewhere in a garage, pay the fee which will be close to that and walk over to the hotel. NOISY! While it WAS a weekend night the noise from the other rooms on occasion was so loud that you thought they were in the room with us. We could clearly hear conversations etc.

Room Tip: Ask for away from the street!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ambrose L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2014

Hello Ambrose and thank you for your feedback! Feedback like yours is extremely important in providing us ways to commend our team as well as improve the overall hotel. I was pleased to hear that the location of the hotel, the cleanliness of your room, our hotel amenities and most importantly our staff were to your liking. I do apologize that you experienced some noise issues from others and would have gladly corrected the issue had we been aware. We do hope that you will chose to stay with us in the future and we hope to see you again soon. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

We just stayed over on New Year's Eve. What a great experience! The TD Garden is right across the street, Ace Ticket pick up is in the same building as the hotel, and Quincy Market is within walking distance (5-10 min). The rooms were clean and comfy too!

Room Tip: If street noise bothers you, request a quieter room. We liked to people watch,so we liked the view...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank blair m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Blair M, thank you for ringing in the New Year as our guest. We were very pleased to know you had a great stay and that your room was clean and comfy. Thank you for your feedback and please come back and visit soon!
Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

First trip to Boston in October. This location is convenient to TD Gardens, Freedom Walk and tourist sites. Hotel was old and some might consider it a tad worn, but everything was clean and pleasant. The staff was the most friendly, outgoing and helpful we have EVER encountered in all of our travels. Kudos to a wonderful staff. Great breakfast. Complimentary snacks and fruit. Great experience.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tutter2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Hello Tutter2,
We are glad to hear your first visit to Boston was a success and that you chose to be our guest! We strive to provide legendary service so hearing you say all the nice things regarding the staff was very rewarding. Thank you. We hope you will come back and be our guest again soon. Thank you and have a great day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for three nights. The room is big and clean, and importantly the staff there are very helpful, especially the one called Randy. He is a great guy, and helped us a lot during our stay! I have to say, I will definitely come back, because I love this city as well as this hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vivian Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Hello and thank you for your recent feedback. We are pleased to hear that the hotel was up to your standards and that Randy was very helpful. He will be thrilled to hear you mentioned him in your review. I will be sure to share this with him. Thank you and we hope to be your home away from home on your next visit. Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

New Year's Eve. Welcomed us even though it was only noon time. Upgraded us to a suite(elite member) and had goodies for us plus fruit for all guests in our room. Staff was superb. Room was great but needed just minor fixes. Curtains and tub and ceiling. Better vacuuming. Complimentary breakfast was perfect and immaculate and everyone at the hotel so helpful. A great way to start 2014!!

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Thank you for being our guest on New Years Eve! We are happy to hear that you had a nice stay and that you enjoyed your upgrade and welcome gifts! I do apologize for the minor issues you mentioned and will share with our engineering department immediately to repair. Happy New Year and thank you again for staying with us! Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel while in Boston for a concert. When we first entered the hotel we met the maintenance manager John. He was so helpful to my friends and I. He gave directions to the ice machine and other information regarding the hotel. When we got to the room we had a light bulb out and we call for it to be fixed. John was there to fix the problem within minutes and he was so happy while doing his job which is a rare thing these days when everyone just performing their job is asking for a tip. I will definitely stay here in the future and will recommend this hotel to others visiting the area.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Henrietta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Henrietta J,

Thank you for your feedback and for all the nice things you had to say about your stay but most importantly John. I will be sure to recognize him for his excellent service and will also share with the entire team! I really appreciate you taking the time to commend John. Thank you and please visit us again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#30 of 86 in Boston
1,486 reviews
Charlestown
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 86 in Boston
1,124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#23 of 86 in Boston
1,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden

Address: 280 Friend St, Boston, MA 02114-1801 (Formerly The Hotel at Boston Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 86 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: $123 - $473 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi and hot breakfast. Located across from North Station and the TD Garden making us the closest hotel to the Garden, home to both the Celtics and the Bruins. Boston is a walking city and the hotel is central to all the historic neighborhoods and attractions you want to visit. The hotel is in walking distance to many of Boston’s historic sites, Faneuil Hall, Paul Reveres house, Boston Harbor, Beacon Hill and the Freedom Trail. With many great restaurants and attractions also in easy reach this hotel in Boston’s North End is an ideal location for your next visit.Business travelers appreciate that the hotel is near the financial center, the Government Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilitation Center and Massachusetts Eye Ear Center. Boston is home of many of the world’s finest colleges and the hotel is located in within minutes of many of them; Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, MIT and Boston College.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston Garden has an unbeatable location with valet parking and complimentary hot breakfast, 24-hour fitness room, business center and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Boston Garden
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Holiday Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing