We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“DO NOT STAY HERE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Ranked #71 of 83 Hotels in Boston
NYC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“DO NOT STAY HERE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This hotel felt like a death trap. First off the valet parking is a joke. Its over 30 dollars which is a rip off and then the next morning my car was parked in front of the hotel. It you p for vale parking you expect it to be on a lot NOT in front of the hotel!

Maybe it was because I used a IHG reward free night but they did not upgrade me.
My room was VERY small with a tiny airplane size bathroom, a fridge and small tv. I also faced a brick wall.

The elevator was horrible as once it started moving it starts jumping up and down --like jerking itself. This is scary and a safety hazard. Also they had a few loose tiles in the elevator.

The breakfast in the am was a typical express breakfast.

If it is free and there is no where else to stay in Boston you should stay in your car rather than here.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtravelor84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, December 23, 2013
Dear worldtravelor84,

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I’m very disappointed to hear about your experience on your recent stay. It is our goal to consistently ensure our facilities and service are superior and we strive to provide rates that are competitive in the area. I am sorry that our valet parking and elevator service did not live up to your expectations. Please accept our sincere apologies for any inconvenience it may have caused you. Your feedback is very important to us and we are confident that the hotel management will take necessary actions to improve our guest satisfaction. We take all comments into consideration and welcome any opportunity to improve.

We value you as an IHG Rewards Club member and hope you will continue to choose IHG for your future travel needs.

Sincerely,

Lera P
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    136
    193
    105
    40
    23
See reviews for
129
152
24
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
100 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

I have stayed at this property under the old name and under the new before in the past. Excellent location situated across from North Station to connect with The Amtrak Downeaster and the T to go in town

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesTaft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear James Taft,
Thank you for being a loyal customer and a repeat guest. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we cannot wait to see you on your next visit! Thank you from the entire staff and have a great day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Missouri
Level Contributor
99 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

I recently spent some time in Boston. I was coming back to Boston to catch my flight home. I stayed at the Holiday Inn Expesss. I liked the location across the street from the Garden, great for sports fans. It is also close to the North End where I went for dinner. I like the breakfast and the close proximity to the T. Hotel was clean, staff were friendly, and knew the area well. I would stay again it was a great find.

Room Tip: I went to the Hotels in Boston and found it. I was onn the 3rd floor, it was quiiet, warm, and clean...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear Kathy M, thank you for your recent review and feedback from your stay with us. We were pleased to read that you enjoyed your staff and that everything went well. We hope to see you on your next trip to Boston. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall River, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
76 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

We stayed here and caught a Bruins game, walked the city to Fenway as well as Hanover St, and enjoyed ourselves. Our room/bathroom were large and the bed/pillows were very comfortable. The room in general was very well appointed to a 4 star level. The hotel is older and was remodeled but the location was perfect for us. We took in a Bruins game. We walked to Hanover St and had Italian pastry at Mike's. We took in a Ducktour of the city. We also walked through Beacon Hill, Boston Common, Newbury Street and Copley Place as well as Quincy Market.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank H K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hello H K, thank you for being our guest. It was great to hear you had a nice stay and were able to take in some of the local attractions while visiting. Please return and see us soon!
Warm Regards and thank you again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level Contributor
96 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

Dated and a lot of money for a rough hotel. The location is great but it is in need of rnovation ten years ago. Staff is very friendly, but comeon, call the contractor! When You have to work to flush a toilet I am not a happy camper , and this wasn't far from camping. Maybe I am a bit particular but fro a couple hundred a night, I expect more and especially from Holiday Inn!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JVRyan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, December 9, 2013
Dear JVRyan,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seminole, Florida
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at this hotel for one night for a Concert. The location was perfect to walk to everything. It's in a "walking safe" area and across the street from TD Garden. Valet Parking as well.
The free breakfast was adequate. The staff was very friendly, accommodating and helpful.
I did read other reviews about this hotel and noted one complaint about room noise. I figured it was only one so not to worry. I was very wrong. We were given room #203. Facing Friend St. Small, but nice room until you wanted to sleep!! Granted, this hotel is in a very busy urban area but when we tried to go to sleep at 12:30 am, it was impossible! There was construction, trash removal, people yelling. I felt like our bed was literally outside down on the sidewalk!! There was no insulation from any street noise whatsoever. Needless to say, I didn't get much sleep.
The next am while checking out, I expressed my concerns to the front desk. They apparently must know there is an issue with this room or the ones facing the street as they gladly discounted my room charge to compensate me. I was happy about that.
In a nutshell. I recommend staying here, just ask for a " back room away from the street" as the front desk said to " for next time". Or.. Bring heavy duty ear plugs!!

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank CCEMTPRNcess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear CCEMTPRNcess, thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay. We were excited to hear all the nice things you had to say about the service and the hotel. We do apologize for the noise issue you experienced. We would have gladly moved you to an interior room or a room on an upper floor had we known. We hope that you will be our guest again soon.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels
Level Contributor
737 reviews
204 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2013

Actually I was expecting something more from the hotel.
No view from the window but just a interior view with the noise of the air conditioners.
The room was quite big with a sofa and a kitchen but the furnitures were not so great.
The breakfast was quite unispiring: both the place for the breakfast and the breakfast itself.
The staff was very friendly and responsive to your questions.
Positive things are the presence of a gym (which I didn't use) and a business center with two PCs (which I use).
A consideration: the prices in Boston are quite expensive

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Rosario_it,
Thank you for being our guest! Feedback like yours is crucial in improving for our guests and we appreciate you taking the time to post it. I was happy to hear the nice comments regarding the size of your room, the hotel amenities and especially the staff as we take pride in providing excellent service. I do apologize that the breakfast was uninspiring and the view was not to your liking. We do have rooms facing the exterior of the building and would be pleased to offer you this next time. We hope you will come back and visit in the near future.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#35 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,365 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Downtown
The Bostonian Boston
The Bostonian Boston
#29 of 83 in Boston
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,508 reviews
Charlestown
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Address: 280 Friend Street, Boston, MA 02114 (Formerly The Hotel at Boston Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi and hot breakfast. Located across from North Station and the TD Garden making us the closest hotel to the Garden, home to both the Celtics and the Bruins. Boston is a walking city and the hotel is central to all the historic neighborhoods and attractions you want to visit. The hotel is in walking distance to many of Boston’s historic sites, Faneuil Hall, Paul Reveres house, Boston Harbor, Beacon Hill and the Freedom Trail. With many great restaurants and attractions also in easy reach this hotel in Boston’s North End is an ideal location for your next visit.Business travelers appreciate that the hotel is near the financial center, the Government Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilitation Center and Massachusetts Eye Ear Center. Boston is home of many of the world’s finest colleges and the hotel is located in within minutes of many of them; Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, MIT and Boston College.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston Garden has an unbeatable location with valet parking and complimentary hot breakfast, 24-hour fitness room, business center and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Boston Garden
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Holiday Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing