We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Ranked #75 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Brussels
Level 6 Contributor
853 reviews
218 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
“Nice stay”
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Actually I was expecting something more from the hotel.
No view from the window but just a interior view with the noise of the air conditioners.
The room was quite big with a sofa and a kitchen but the furnitures were not so great.
The breakfast was quite unispiring: both the place for the breakfast and the breakfast itself.
The staff was very friendly and responsive to your questions.
Positive things are the presence of a gym (which I didn't use) and a business center with two PCs (which I use).
A consideration: the prices in Boston are quite expensive

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Rosario_it
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Dear Rosario_it,
Thank you for being our guest! Feedback like yours is crucial in improving for our guests and we appreciate you taking the time to post it. I was happy to hear the nice comments regarding the size of your room, the hotel amenities and especially the staff as we take pride in providing excellent service. I do apologize that the breakfast was uninspiring and the view was not to your liking. We do have rooms facing the exterior of the building and would be pleased to offer you this next time. We hope you will come back and visit in the near future.
Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    200
    111
    44
    31
See reviews for
143
161
24
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nord Italia
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2013

The location isn't in a glamorous area of the city, but very close to public transport and at walking distance from the North End, the USS Constitution and right in front of the TD Garden. The building is not recent, but has been refurbished quite well on the inside. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Staff is friendly and make you feel at home. Breakfast is not bad, with cold and hot food being offered on the buffet, though it is served in a rather crowded area of the main lobby. Some more space and a separate breakfast room might make the experience a bit more relaxing and enjoyable. The price for the room was quite steep, though I understand that's fairly standard for Boston.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank turistingiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello turistingiro and thank you for your feedback!
We are glad you had a nice stay and everything went well. Thank you for the nice comments regarding service and our team. We appreciate that and hope to have you as our guests again soon.
Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We were staying in Boston one night to visit our daughter, and looking for a relatively inexpensive place to stay (<$300). We are chain hotel people and not into B&Bs. We have stayed at HIEs before, so we pretty much knew what to expect, but it didn't work out particularly well for us. First of all, the valet parking was $39 for each room night. Now I know this is Boston, but for that kind of money I'd expect for my car to be parked in a garage, rather than an unfenced lot down the street. Thanks to other T/A reviewers, we parked on the street.

This brings me to the location. The street the hotel is on is small and not very clean, and its neighbors included two large sports bars, which on our Saturday night (after the Red Sox parade) were pretty full, with a lot of smokers outside on the narrow sidewalk. The windows in our room kept out most of the noise, but you could tell it was getting loud as the night went on. I can only assume it's more intense when there's a game at the TD Garden. The two "No Public Bathrooms" prominently displayed on the front door give you the idea (and make such a lovely first impression). So if that is the crowd you like, you're all set; others should keep this in mind.

The room looked good, and included a desk and a nice easy chair with a footstool, but there were some problems. Problem #1 - the room was very dark and there was no light on the desk or near the chair. When we called the front desk about this the maintenance man did come up with two more floor lamps for us. (He was already out of desk lamps!) So the problem was solved, but a hotel where you apparently need to request lighting at check-in? Seriously?

Problem #2 - the toilet didn't flush adequately. This was odd because it was a Toto, and we have one and it's very good. But in this case, the "solid matter" just sat there while the water went around it. Again, someone came up to fix it, but still.

Other than that, the bed was decent, as was the bathroom, the TV was OK, and the thermostat worked.

The staff was, as others have reported, very friendly, with the exception of one fellow at the desk. When we came back down after going to the room, we asked for our "Priority Club" amenity (usually a bottle of water, but what the heck), and he started cross-examining us to make sure we weren't trying to double-dip or something. For a bottle of water?!? (We actually got candy bars too, but we didn't know that when we asked.)

The hotel is close to Boston downtown and attractions, but since it's mostly a business district most of the retail (including Starbucks and Au Bon Pain) is only open M-F, so really no place close by to go for breakfast or a sandwich.

As they say, you pays your money and you takes your choice. We won't be back.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OneToughMommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, November 22, 2013
Hello and thank you for your recent review and feedback regarding your stay with us. It was great to hear some of the positive experiences you had and thank you for sharing them. I was however, disappointed to hear some of the issues you encountered like the bathroom issue and the darkness of your room. I am glad that we were able to correct the lighting issue. Also regarding the valet, we do park all of our vehicles in a garage located just a couple of blocks down our street which is covered and secured parking. My apologies for the confusion. Please contact me directly as I would like to discuss your stay. Thank you
Jamie Gleason
General Manager
gm@hiexboston.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Boston hotels

Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in early October during a road trip to Boston to watch an NBA pre-season game. We were travelling with an infant so needed a crib in the room.

WE arrived and were offered valet parking for our car, which was good. We were upgraded to a King suite, which was terrific considering we would need some space for our little boy. The staff arrived with the crib shortly after our arrival in the room.

The room itself was clean and comfortable. Lots of space and most importantly, it was located steps away from TD Garden.

Little pubs and restaurants are also located around the hotel, and it's a short walk to the north end, the historical walk in the city, Faneuil Hall etc etc.

Staff were very helpful and gave us directions to local shopping. I would stay there again if we were going to another event at the Garden.

Room Tip: Ask for the King Suite facing the Garden if you want to be close to/see the action
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marsh1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Marsh1980,

We are glad you had a comfortable stay and that everything went well traveling with the little one! We agree our location is second to none and we were pleased to know it was convenient for you and your family. We hope to have you again as our guests in the future.

Thank you for your comments and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, NH
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

Very friendly staff. Great location for TD Garden, the Freedom Trail and other attractions. The room was clean and a good size. Continental breakfast was typical. We were able to store our bags after check out so we could do more touring of the city. Valet parking is a great service.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lberg13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Hello lberg13,
Thank you for being our guest and for leaving us important feedback! We were pleased to hear that the location along with the staff were the highlights of your stay. With our location directly across from the TD Garden we are ideal for Garden events as well as Bruins and Celtics games. Please visit us again soon. Thank you and have a great day!

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Quispamsis, New Brunswick, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed here in November 2011 to attend a concert and it was great because it was right across the street. Good pizza place next door (forget the name) and a computer room down stairs for guest use. The rooms are small and average but clean and kept up to date. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank SarahStacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear SarahStacks,

Thank you for your recent feedback regarding your stay from November of 2011. I am glad everything was to your liking. We have made many updates and improvements since 2011 so please come back and visit us again soon.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fair Oaks, California
Level 6 Contributor
400 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

We recently stayed here before a cruise to New England and the maritime provinces in Canada. The hotel is a short ride from Logan airport and a shorter ride to the cruise pier. We were a late arrival and were greeted at the door, checked in and shown to our room immediately. The hotel is older and nicely updated. The room decor is pleasant with attractive black and white prints of Boston. Bed and bath linens are good quality. The little extras were much appreciated...the clean TV remote, apples and a dark chocolate bar and the packets of hand sanitizer. The hotel is comfortable but the best part of our stay was the staff. All were helpful, friendly and courteous, especially Anita. The location is perfect. There are many restaurants and pubs on nearby Canal Street. We walked from the hotel to the Boston Commons and then walked the Freedom Trail. The complimentary breakfast includes hot items, such as mini omelets, bacon, sausage, biscuits and gravy, pancakes, oatmeal and cinnamon rolls. There was fresh fruit and a assortment of breads and bagels. This hotel is convenient to all Boston attractions whether walking or taking public transportation, a good place to stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Maryann L,

Thank you for your recent feedback. Feedback like yours is crucial in making our hotel a better place for our guests. We were pleased to hear you enjoyed the little extras we add to our rooms. Also we are glad the staff did a nice job especially Anita. I will be sure to share this with her and the entire staff. We hope to see you next time your travels bring you to Boston.

Warm Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#31 of 83 in Boston
1,410 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#23 of 83 in Boston
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlestown
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Address: 280 Friend St, Boston, MA 02114-1801 (Formerly The Hotel at Boston Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi and hot breakfast. Located across from North Station and the TD Garden making us the closest hotel to the Garden, home to both the Celtics and the Bruins. Boston is a walking city and the hotel is central to all the historic neighborhoods and attractions you want to visit. The hotel is in walking distance to many of Boston’s historic sites, Faneuil Hall, Paul Reveres house, Boston Harbor, Beacon Hill and the Freedom Trail. With many great restaurants and attractions also in easy reach this hotel in Boston’s North End is an ideal location for your next visit.Business travelers appreciate that the hotel is near the financial center, the Government Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilitation Center and Massachusetts Eye Ear Center. Boston is home of many of the world’s finest colleges and the hotel is located in within minutes of many of them; Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, MIT and Boston College.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston Garden has an unbeatable location with valet parking and complimentary hot breakfast, 24-hour fitness room, business center and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, IHG, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Boston Garden
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Holiday Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing