We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Old hotel but super location and service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed May 26, 2013

We basically had a free trip to Boston (flight, hotel and car) though Boston wouldn't have been on my ideal travel list it was a great 3 days. This hotel was super close to Logan, the subway, TG Gardens and lots more. The staff were ALL friendly and helpful from the valet to the lady covering the breakfast crowd. The rooms were very small ... just a shower and no chairs or desk but it did have a little kitchen area with fridge, microwave all the kitchen basics. We didn't need a kitchen but liked having a fridge with a freezer that got cold enough to freeze beverages.
we saw lots of interesting things on this trip ... loved the ornate churches, Public Garden and the street performances. They upgraded us to a top floor and gave us a cookie upon arrival ... so have to give this hotel a 4 for such a nice free trip. thanks!!!!!!!!!!!

Room Tip: We waited the second day to buy the onto a tour bus ... not knowing the second day was free so we di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chattygirl7491
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Hello Chattygirl7491 and thank you for being our guest. We were excited to read that you enjoyed your stay, our location and especially the staff! We were also happy to read that your room upgrade was nice along with the complimentary cookie we gave to you. We do apologize that your room was a little small for your liking. Next time you choose to stay with us, please ask to see a larger room or suite. If one is available we would gladly reserve you in one. Thank you again for your comments and we hope to see you again if your travels take you to Boston!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (540)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 540 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

So, it is an older building (like most buildings in Boston) but it is a great location and we have made it our home away from home. The people are kind, courteous, and accommodating. It is 2 blocks away from the North subway station so a really easy way to get out into the city. Our daughter goes to college there so we wanted an affordable place so we could visit her as often as we needed to. We found it here. We also collect the reward points which has been a great savings for our family. What a value and what a city!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kim O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Kim O, thank you for your recent feedback and making us your home away from home. We are delighted to hear that the staff was kind, courteous and accommodating as well as the location being great. We pride ourselves in making guests feel welcome and like this IS their home. We hope to see you again real soon and please say hello when you visit. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

The location is close to lots of restaurants, the subway and things to do. The rooms were clean and spacious although a bit small for the high price. The service was outstanding, especially at breakfast. Helpful workers with lots of information!!

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmvander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear pmvander,
Thank you for your valuable feedback and very nice comments regarding the service, staff and our location. I will be sure to share this comment with the staff and with our breakfast attendants as they take extreme pride in providing legendary service. Thank you again and we look forward to having you as our guest in the near future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

I recently stayed at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites for Northeastern's graduation . The commencement was being held at the TD Garden and this was the perfect location. I was able to check in early, valet my car and go off to the festivities. When I checked out, I was able to leave my car valet parked until early afternoon.
I only have high praise for the staff here. Jean at the Front Desk was accommodating to check me in early and give me an upper floor room which I had requested at the time of reservation. Tarik and Joel at the Front Desk were pleasant early in the morning dealing with many checkouts, requests to hold luggage and extend valet parking. Tonia at breakfast made me feel like I was at a friend's house getting my morning coffee. Jeff at Valet Parking was smiling and is undoubtedly the quickest valet in the city.
Congratulations to the management of the Holiday Inn & Suites. Your staff is OUTSTANDING!

Room Tip: If you want a quiet room, ask for an upper floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capegirl16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded May 16, 2013

Hello and thank you for your recent feedback. We are very pleased to hear that you had an "Outstanding" stay with us for graduation. Also because service and guest satisfaction is so important to us, hearing the great comments and names of the employees providing memorable service was so rewarding. I thank you for taking the time to let us know how your stay with us was and please come back and visit again soon! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this Holiday Inn for the Boston Marathon. We have stayed at other hotels in Boston and none comes close to the service you'll find here. The manager and his staff greeted us every chance they had. They made us feel like family and insured us that anything they could do to make our stay more enjoyable, thay would help. The area arouns the hotel had a nice neighborhood feel, with a mix of resturants, pubs, drug stores and coffee shops. We even had maintenance look at our air conditioner and he was great, giving us great tips about Boston. The room was remodeled recently and was clean and comfortable. I would definately recommend staying here. Oh, the free breakfast was fine too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank runnerstaff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Runnerstaff, thank you for your wonderful feedback! We are happy to hear we met and exceeded your expectations for you and your wife. Service is our number one priority and it is great to hear your positive feedback regarding this. I will be sure to share your great comments with the staff. Thank you again and please come back and be our guest soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

My sisters and I stayed here for the Boston marathon. The staff was so kind and wonderful. The rooms are great. All weekend, there has been a table of complimentary Gatorade and treats for runners. But even better than the wonderful goodies was the staff. This hotel has friendliest staff you can imagine. I will stay here every time I return to Boston and couldn't recommend anywhere more than here!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Running Sisters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Hello and thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback! I can not tell you how pleased I am to receive great comments like yours regarding our staff! We pride ourselves on customer service and guest satisfaction, so reading nice things like this is very rewarding. I will be sure to share with the entire team!

We appreciate you being our guest during the Boston Marathon Weekend and we hope to see you again next year....or sooner! Thank you for choosing to stay with us and we are glad to hear you had a great stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Have stayed at this well located Boston Hotel in the past. Whether you are in Boston to take in a sporting event (Boston Gardens/TD Bank North Centre less than 2 minute walk) or just being a tourist you can not beat the location of this hotel. Close to public transportation and easy walking to area attractions, restaurants/pubs etc. CVS, 7-ll, liquor store, Dunkin Donuts and fast food all nearby. Ate at wonderful Mexican take out just steps away (around the corner from Friend Street).
Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. We did not have a car however parking is an issue. Valet parking available (app $30) and there is a parking garage nearby. In the past we had one of the first floor rooms with windows near the ceiling. I specifically requested that we NOT be given that type of room again. Our request was honoured and we were very pleased with our room. Other reviewers have indicated that noise was a problem. We had no issues even though we were there the evenings of a Celtics game and a Bruins game (the strike was over).
Hotel will arrange airport transport (cost).

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HappyCanadian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2013

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and be our guest. We appreciate very much your feedback as it provides us with lots of useful things to be proud of as well as improve on. Thank you for your great comments regarding the staff, our location and the rooms. We are pleased to hear you had a great stay and thank you again for all the kind things you mentioned. We look forward to having as our guest again in the near future. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#30 of 84 in Boston
1,454 reviews
Charlestown
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 84 in Boston
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden

Address: 280 Friend St, Boston, MA 02114-1801 (Formerly The Hotel at Boston Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Price Range: $137 - $445 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi and hot breakfast. Located across from North Station and the TD Garden making us the closest hotel to the Garden, home to both the Celtics and the Bruins. Boston is a walking city and the hotel is central to all the historic neighborhoods and attractions you want to visit. The hotel is in walking distance to many of Boston’s historic sites, Faneuil Hall, Paul Reveres house, Boston Harbor, Beacon Hill and the Freedom Trail. With many great restaurants and attractions also in easy reach this hotel in Boston’s North End is an ideal location for your next visit.Business travelers appreciate that the hotel is near the financial center, the Government Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilitation Center and Massachusetts Eye Ear Center. Boston is home of many of the world’s finest colleges and the hotel is located in within minutes of many of them; Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, MIT and Boston College.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston Garden has an unbeatable location with valet parking and complimentary hot breakfast, 24-hour fitness room, business center and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Boston Garden
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Holiday Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing