We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Ranked #75 of 83 Hotels in Boston
Charlottetown, PEI
Level 6 Contributor
463 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
“Great staff, great location”
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Have stayed at this well located Boston Hotel in the past. Whether you are in Boston to take in a sporting event (Boston Gardens/TD Bank North Centre less than 2 minute walk) or just being a tourist you can not beat the location of this hotel. Close to public transportation and easy walking to area attractions, restaurants/pubs etc. CVS, 7-ll, liquor store, Dunkin Donuts and fast food all nearby. Ate at wonderful Mexican take out just steps away (around the corner from Friend Street).
Front desk staff very pleasant and helpful. We did not have a car however parking is an issue. Valet parking available (app $30) and there is a parking garage nearby. In the past we had one of the first floor rooms with windows near the ceiling. I specifically requested that we NOT be given that type of room again. Our request was honoured and we were very pleased with our room. Other reviewers have indicated that noise was a problem. We had no issues even though we were there the evenings of a Celtics game and a Bruins game (the strike was over).
Hotel will arrange airport transport (cost).

Room Tip: Ask for an upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HappyCanadian13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and be our guest. We appreciate very much your feedback as it provides us with lots of useful things to be proud of as well as improve on. Thank you for your great comments regarding the staff, our location and the rooms. We are pleased to hear you had a great stay and thank you again for all the kind things you mentioned. We look forward to having as our guest again in the near future. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

526 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    200
    111
    44
    31
See reviews for
143
161
24
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (117)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed March 28, 2013

Last minute decision to stay here and see a celtics game worked out great! Reasonably priced, service .....especially valet..... Was superb. Directly across from the TD garden and you have all te comforts of home ( CVS, Dunkin Donuts, 7-11) around the corner.....oh and surrounded by great pubs!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jconrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Thank you for your positive comments about your recent stay with us! We are happy to hear that you experienced great service during your stay which is our goal! We hope you come back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2013 via mobile

My room was comfy. The staff were helpful. It's in walking distance to many great sites like the Garden. But its location is also a downside. Perhaps my room was simply on a bad side, but going to bed at night is terrible! Every time there's an event at the Garden, you know it: drunken revelers outside the window (Sullivan's Tap is the view), police sirens, cars honking, etc. The hotel would be great if I could sleep at night.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Soliviat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Hello and thank you for your feedback. I do want to apologize that the outside noise kept you from getting a good night sleep. Although out of our control, please let us know next time and we will do our best to relocate you to an interior room if one is available. Also we do have ear plugs at the front for anyone needing them. We hope that you will give us another try in the future. When you plan to visit again pelase call the hotel direct and ask to speak with me personally. Thank you again and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reykjavik, Iceland
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2013

I stayed at the night for two nights in February. The hotel is simple but the rooms are quite nice and clean. The staff was very nice and helpful. The hotel is only two minutes walk from the T-station so it is very easy to get where ever you need to go. Even though the hotel is simple it fulfilled all our needs.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hallveig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Hello and thank you for your recent review and feedback. We are glad to hear that you had a nice clean room and that the staff was great! We agree our location is second to none and is great for TD Garden events, historical sites or even shopping in Quincy Market. Please come back and be our guest again in the near future. Thank you again for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
37 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2013

My daughter and I stayed in a king suite for one night. The hotel was a little hard to find for my daughter, as she had to ask directions from a police officer because the sign was not prominent or lit up. The room was very spacious and nice, large living room with sofa, two chairs, desk, etc. Small fridge and microwave also. Bathroom was average size. Bedroom was in an alcove off the living room, with its own flat screen tv on the wall. Just the bed and end tables in the bedroom, plus the wall tv. Walls seemed thin, as every time a door slammed it sounded like it was right in the room, however, it did not disturb sleep. We did not take advantage of the included breakfast in the morning. Two negatives were only one ice machine for the whole hotel, and that was in the basement. When we came back in the evening and made the trip down there, the machine was out of ice. Also, no vending machines. If you want a soda or snack, you have to buy it at an exorbitant price from the front desk. There is a Seven Eleven, and a drug store down the street, so stock up before you check in if you want those things. All in all good, would have liked to book again for a night this summer, but the price had almost tripled from a price that in my opinion was bordering on high to start! I don't think so..., not that good!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ponchogrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Greeting and thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites-Boston Garden. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your room. I would, however like to apologize for the ice machine and sound issues. These are two things that we are working to eliminate moving forward in hopes of making our hotel a better place for, you, our guests. If you would like to return in the summer please contact me directly and I will see what I can do to assist. Thank you and have a great day!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buffalo, NY
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This hotel is smack across from the Garden in a very boisterous part of town. If you are coming to a game you can't go wrong staying here. This hotel has valet service for parking and is close to Logan if you are cabbing it.

Positives:
Very close to the Garden
Lot's of night life / bar's within spitting distance
Nice staff
Free WiFi
Good rate (around $100/nt when I was there)
Clean decent rooms

Negatives:
Small lobby area (hotel is really packed into a small building)
Noise. It is hard to fault the hotel for this, but even though I say the area is a positive it also had people pouring our of a bar screaming at each other 30 feet from my window at 3am
This is a Holiday Inn EXPRESS so some of the services are limited (room service, etc.)

I would stay here again based on the location (things to do or a game at the garden) and the price.

Go Sabres!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the street side if you are noise sensitive when sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, February 14, 2013
Hello and thank you for providing us with your valuable feedback. It is feedback like yours that assists us in getting better and providing a great hotel that , you, the guest enjoys. We were glad to hear that the location was a good fit for you and that you received a clean, fresh room. Also thank you for the comment regarding the nice staff. It is a top priority for us to provide great customer service! We do however apologize that noise was an issue. Although mostly out of our control, we are looking into new options to help our guests receive a better night's sleep. Please come back and visit when your travels bring you back to Boston. Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2013

I stayed here for one night with a group of friends as a birthday celebration and it was a great experience. It was easy to find, in a neat location, tucked between several sports bars and restaurants. The place is literally directly across from the TD Garden (hence the name) and its a great spot for people watching! We checked in with no problem. Don't be turned off by the relatively simple decor and small lobby, the place still has class. The service is EXCELLENT and the staff was very friendly, plus we did valet parking which was easy and (somewhat) cheap and the valet guys are really nice. We wanted to head right over to Fanueil Hall which we were told was a 10 minute walk but it actually turned out to be just 5 minutes and a very direct route! We were pleasantly surprised by the rooms; very spacious and well kept with a nice little kitchen and walk in closet. It was plenty of room for 6 of us for one night. Plus we were on the top (5th) floor so we had vaulted ceilings which was really cool and made the room feel much grander. We had read reviews that recommended asking for a room near the back of the hotel due to noise issues, though we didn't think we'd be bothered by this so we ended up on the front corner room which was fine because we had awesome views of the Garden and the city streets. The hotel provided ear plugs which none of us used but probably could of as there was definitely city noise (cars, music, drunk people, etc) till about 2am, though not overly bothersome up on the fifth floor. In the morning we enjoyed the complimentary breakfast in the lobby which was decent, no five-star meal but better than I expected. Eggs, bacon, pancake-maker, cereal, fruit, pastries, coffee and juice, etc. The only annoying think was that they had all these bread products but their toaster was broken...lame! Overall I would recommend this hotel for groups of friends, young people, families with teens or couples.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back are (supposedly) quieter as they are farther from the busy street. 5th floor rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Hello and thank you for providing feedback on your recent stay with us. Feedback like yours is crucial in knowing how our guests visit was and what we can do to improve. We are glad to hear that you had a great experience and the location was to your liking. It was great to hear that you received "Excellent service" as we pride ourselves on making a memorable experience with guest satisfaction being our priority. I do however apologize for the toaster issue. It was replaced immediately, but we did experience some down time. We thank you again for being our guest and we hope to see you again soon. Please say Happy Birthday to the birthday person from myself and the entire staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#31 of 83 in Boston
1,409 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 83 in Boston
1,045 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlestown
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
North End
Battery Wharf Hotel, Boston Waterfront
Downtown
Ames Boston Hotel, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Address: 280 Friend St, Boston, MA 02114-1801 (Formerly The Hotel at Boston Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi and hot breakfast. Located across from North Station and the TD Garden making us the closest hotel to the Garden, home to both the Celtics and the Bruins. Boston is a walking city and the hotel is central to all the historic neighborhoods and attractions you want to visit. The hotel is in walking distance to many of Boston’s historic sites, Faneuil Hall, Paul Reveres house, Boston Harbor, Beacon Hill and the Freedom Trail. With many great restaurants and attractions also in easy reach this hotel in Boston’s North End is an ideal location for your next visit.Business travelers appreciate that the hotel is near the financial center, the Government Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilitation Center and Massachusetts Eye Ear Center. Boston is home of many of the world’s finest colleges and the hotel is located in within minutes of many of them; Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, MIT and Boston College.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston Garden has an unbeatable location with valet parking and complimentary hot breakfast, 24-hour fitness room, business center and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, IHG, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Boston Garden
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Holiday Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing