We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly front desk and awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Boston
Reviewed November 11, 2012

Had a quick in-and-out in the city, and loved this location. The parking was a bit expensive, but then again, what parking isn't in the city? There was a mix-up with a friend's reservation, and Jean up front took care of it no prob. In the morning, the next attendant was kind and gave us brekkie recommendations. Room was great!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wandersmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 14, 2012

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us. We are pleased that you had a good stay and that Jean was helpful. It was great to hear that our recommendations, the room itself and our location were all great. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (539)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

415 - 421 of 539 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2012

We just stayed there a couple of nights ago. I can't say enough about how friendly the front desk staff is. From the moment we walked in the door, throughout our stay and upon our checkout.

We rented a King Bed Suite. I was a little surprised that the kitchen area had nothing stocked. No plates, glasses, silverware, etc. Not even a bottle opener. My husband went down to the front desk and the person working was kind enough to give him his own bottle opener off of his keychain. Of course we returned it to him later that evening.

We do wish that it was made clear to us to put up the privacy sign before we went to bed that night. Beginning very early the maid service kept opening our door, rather loudly and realizing the security bar was closed. We were kind of shocked that there wasn't a knock first, and she kept at it about every 15 minutes until I hung up the sign. The bed was comfortable so its too bad. So much for sleeping in after a late night at the Celtics game, which by the way is literally a 1/2 block away.

A quick walk to the North End was pleasant and we found Mike's Pasties that we always hear the rave about. After I ate a canoli, I understand the rave :)

Back to the hotel, all in all it was a good stay. The front desk made us feel welcome and comfortable. The price was the best around by far. For just a couple dollars more, the valet parking was a huge convenience. The hotel itself could use some refreshing and updates but again the price can't be beat. Our bathtub was stained and we opted not to shower the next morning until we got home. The elevator is a little rickety and a lot of the ceiling tiles in the hallways were either missing, broken or had wires hanging out. Even with all that, I would stay here again if we have any other events at TD Garden to attend.

Room Tip: For a couple extra dollars we spent, having the suite was worth it. It was still small, but had a k...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sammy2268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for your recent stay and providing us feedback! It is feedback like yours that help us to address any issues and get better for our guests. I really appreciate the kind comments regarding the staff and will be sure to share them with the team! Also regarding the few issues that took place, they are being addressed with the staff and will be corrected. Our new elevator is 99% complete and we are doing a lot of positive things to the hotel in the next couple of months. Please come back and see us soon and thank you again for being our guest.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2012 via mobile

PERFECT location for spending time in North End eating at Mike's, Giacomo's, etc. or sightseeing on Freedom Trail incl. USS Constitution. Rest of Boston readily accessible. T stop across the street. Taxis also across street. Short cab ride or manageable walk to Boston Common. 5 min to Science Museum. Also perfect for Boston Garden. Our room had great view of Garden chaos after Celtics game. Kids liked sitting on ledge and looking out below.

Hotel obviously an older building. Perhaps apartments at one time. Some furnishings older and structure needs more TLC than a new one. That said, the room was very spacious with kitchen items and large closet. Bathroom very nicely remodeled. Many Boston hotel rooms are cramped by comparison.

Breakfast as good as any at HI Express - better than most, in fact. No shortage of food nearby for lunch and dinner. CVS drug store right nearby.

Brought a few minor housekeeping oversights to manager's attention (Amy) and she graciously comp'ed an additional night and our parking.

So, if you want North End location and lots of value with responsive staff, don't hesitate to stay here. Families with kids will appreciate space, two sinks, fridge, etc.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lovemykids2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Hello and thank you for sending feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to hear that the location was great for your needs and that the staff was responsive and helpful. I am also glad that Amy was helpful with assisting with the issues you brought to her attention. Our number one goal is to make sure that our guests are happy, comfortable and satisfied while staying with us. Please come back and visit us again soon! Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

If you have business at the Federal building or need close access to Boston Garden this is the place.

The staff is awesome, the building is terrible. The building is in major general disrepair. Water stains, dangling light fixtures, and worst of all SLAMMING door closures. We got virtually no sleep our first 3 nights here due to doors SLAMMING all hours of the night. Stay on the top floor.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MidAltitudeWalkabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded October 28, 2012

Dear MidAltitudeWalkabout,

We appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback regarding your stay with us. I am pleased our location suited you well and glad you found our staff commendable. Please accept my sincere apology for the noise challenges you encountered during your stay. I appreciate your feedback as this is our best resource for improving the quality and service we offer to our guests. I hope that you will give us the pleasure of hosting you again on your next visit.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2012

Wie Booked reward points. It was my First hotel in USA, so I must say those are not German standards. But the room was very spacious, clean and breakfast satisfying (still trying t figure out the thing was presented as omlett, must be smthg American style:-))).
The hotel is located just 5 minutes walk from the heart of the downtown, 15 minutes from uss constitution. Just few steps from next metro station, 30 min from airport. Just very strategically placed.
People were nice and helpful.
One negative - maybe not the most trustful neighborhood at first sight. At second is though really quite ok.

All in all a good start to our us trip.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank dasha_safi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for being a loyal Priority Club member. We are happy to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us and that the location was very convenient for your travels. The omelet you speak of could be the cheese omelets we provide or our fantastic pancake machine which is a big hit ! Both are great additions to the breakfast bar. Thank you for your comments regarding the friendliness of the staff. I will be sure to share with them!
Thank you again and we hope to see you next time your travels bring you to Boston.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

The good:
- staff was helpful when I needed to send/receive multiple faxes for work
- room was relatively quiet for downtown in a big city
- well-located with the Garden down the street and Boston Commons a one-mile walk away

The bad:
- printer in business center was broken
- in corner of hotel, there are entrances to multiple rooms in small space, so its close quarters and you can hear doors opening and closing
- my room was small, dark, with windows so high up that I could barely open/close the shades
- reserved a room with king bed, but the "king" was actually a queen.
- LOTS of renovations going on inside with plastic draping and painting. Basically, the hall is a mess and one of the two elevators is out of commission.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AttorneyOnTheGo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded October 26, 2012

Dear AttorneyOnTheGo,

Thank you for taking time out of your busy day to leave us a candid review. We appreciate your wonderful comment regarding our location and our staff.

However, I would like to offer a sincere apology regarding the business center and for the dark room. We will address this points. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. While we understand that your stay was not 100% satisfactory, we would hope that you would give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

After monitoring the reviews of this hotel on Tripadvisor for about four months, I was wondering if I'd made a mistake in booking this hotel. We cashed in a years worth of Priority Club points for a four night stay at this hotel for a mini vacation (first-time visitors to Boston). I was pleasantly surprised by the entire hotel experience! I really don't understand what all of the negative reviews are about! From the minute we arrived, the staff was pleasant and quite helpful. The common areas were nice enough but a little worn. Our room was updated with nice quality linens, and it was very clean. The fridge was an added bonus! I imagine this hotel gets a party crowd most of the year due to the location, so it does look a little more weathered than most urban Holiday Inn Express locations we've been to. The street isn't much to look at, but we actually enjoyed a couple of the bars next door. We stayed at this hotel based on it's location, and we weren't disappointed. It's an easy walk from all of the major tourist destinations. However, it's right next to the T station for those destinations too far to walk to. We fell in love with the North End and spent most of our time there for meals, etc. It was a very easy walk from this hotel. We were allowed to have a late check-out, and the front desk arranged for transportation back to the airport via a car service for us!!

Room Tip: Get a room in the back of the hotel. The street is really lively on the weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMJamieGleason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Thank you for your comments and recently choosing to stay with us! We understand that you have many hotel options and we appreciate that you chose to stay at our hotel. Thank you for the kind words regarding the staff as we pride ourselves on customer satisfaction! We hope you will return soon. We are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to provide a comfortable place away from home.

Thank you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Boston hotels
Kimpton Onyx Hotel
#30 of 84 in Boston
1,437 reviews
The Boxer Boston
#22 of 84 in Boston
1,094 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Charlestown
Residence Inn by Marriott Boston Harbor on Tudor Wharf
Dorchester / Roxbury / Mattapan
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Seaport District / South Boston Waterfront
Residence Inn Boston Downtown/Seaport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden

Address: 280 Friend St, Boston, MA 02114-1801 (Formerly The Hotel at Boston Garden)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Boston
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Family Hotel in Boston
Price Range: $154 - $485 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden 3*
Number of rooms: 72
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Free Wifi and hot breakfast. Located across from North Station and the TD Garden making us the closest hotel to the Garden, home to both the Celtics and the Bruins. Boston is a walking city and the hotel is central to all the historic neighborhoods and attractions you want to visit. The hotel is in walking distance to many of Boston’s historic sites, Faneuil Hall, Paul Reveres house, Boston Harbor, Beacon Hill and the Freedom Trail. With many great restaurants and attractions also in easy reach this hotel in Boston’s North End is an ideal location for your next visit.Business travelers appreciate that the hotel is near the financial center, the Government Center, Massachusetts General Hospital, Spaulding Rehabilitation Center and Massachusetts Eye Ear Center. Boston is home of many of the world’s finest colleges and the hotel is located in within minutes of many of them; Harvard, Yale, Cambridge, MIT and Boston College.Holiday Inn Express & Suites Boston Garden has an unbeatable location with valet parking and complimentary hot breakfast, 24-hour fitness room, business center and WiFi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, IHG, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Boston Garden reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Boston Garden
Holiday Inn Express Boston
Holiday Inn Boston

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing